We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Petit Palace Arenal

Hotel website
Calle Arenal 16 | Puerta del Sol And Mayor Square, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech Petit Palace Arenal)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palace Arenal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Petit Palace Arenal
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    151
    85
    30
    24
See reviews for
92
111
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (358)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (126)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is just perfect! Lot of attractions are close by and the train station is just 5 minutes away. Staff are helpful. We stayed in the family room which was quite nice and 2 facilities were a television and a safe. Elevator is a bit slow, prefer the stairs. In overall, it's a great place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as had problems with another hotel, so straight off we were impressed they were accommodating to get us in our room ASAP! Fabulous location, near the shops and cafes and restaurants! Little walk from some of the sights but nothing that is too far! Would definitely stay there again when we come back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Abii, First of al we want to thank you for the time spent on submitting your reviews. We are always willing to help the most we can and this is what we did with your stay. We are really glad to know that it was positive because this is always our goal! Looking forward to see you again in... More 

Little Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great. Staff is friendly and helpful. Check in process is a long one. Too long for me. Elevator is a lame duck. Ask for a room on the first floor and just walk the stairs. All around it was a good deal for 116 a night including taxes - really I wouldn't pay much more than that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Micks, Thank you for your great review. All reviews let us improve everyday. There are trainee staff at reception and sometimes check in can take more time. We always try to keep on eye to them in order to make it faster. I apologize if your was slower tan usual. I am glad to know that your stay was... More 

Sligo, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the heart of the city centre, extremely pleasant and polite staff, room on the small side but while I was in it I slept so it made no difference. Room was clean and the shower was one of those monsoon type showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Fergal, First of all let me thank you for the time taken on submitting your reviews. It is a pleasure to read that your stay with us was positive. This is why we work hard everyday, to make our guests feel even better tan at home. Looking forward to see you in future Kind regards Eduardo Gómez Jefe de... More 

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since the check-in nothing was as expected... The room was stinking.... the bed weren't well prepared.. they had just linked to single beds with its single linen.... The control of air conditioning doesn't work, hand's free control of TV doesn't work... the internet doesn't work... you shouldn't count on it. The only good point is the location... where you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Alisson, First of all let me thank you for the time taken in submitting your reviews. All them let us improve day by day. Regarding the room, you had one twin. All our twin rooms have two beds. These two beds are one next to the other, without anything between them. It doesn´t mean that we sell this kind... More 

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel mostly because of it's location, which is between Opera and Sol and suited my visit very well. Small hotel, with rooms to match. Although I have to say, we had a room at the back of the hotel and although small, it was very peaceful, if overpriced in my opinion for it's size. The Wifi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all I want to thank you for the time taken on submitting your reviews. We are glad to know that your stay was positive. The room rate changes depending the season, and from April to June is high season in Madrid. This is reason why rates could be more expensive tan usual. Looking forward to see... More 

San Luis Obispo, California
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I of course read many positive reviews on TripAdvisor before deciding on this hotel. The location was my top reason. We were traveling through Spain for 3 weeks as a family with 2 young children. This was our last stop and we were booked for 5 nights. After no sleep the first night because of the loud party scene right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alfredo T, Gerente at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Faith, First of all we want to thank you for the time taken on submitting your review. All of them let us improve every day and we even have the chance to explain what it happened. As you say, the first night you couldn´t sleep because of the street noise. Sometimes this street is crowed at nights for local... More 

Zurich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel which is located at the calle areanal in the middle of chaotic- charming-living Madrid, just a few minutes from puerta del sol place and the metro station. The room was clean and spacious. Has a save that works with your own magnetic card like your ID or credit card (not the room key!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Tschaika, First of all let me thank you for the time taken on submitting your reviews. I am glad to know that your stay, and the way the reception treats, was absolutely positive. We always work hard to make everybody feel comfortable with us. As you say, we offer a free guided tour that every guest can enjoy. Looking... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic location near Puerta del Sol. Close to everything. Fantastic breakfast spread. Very friendly and helpful front desk reception staff. Wish the rooms were a bit more spacious though. Great value for money hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great review! I am pleased to know your stay with us was absolutely positive. We always work hard to make our guests feel even better than at home and it seems that we achieve it this time. Looking forward to see you again Kind regards Eduardo Gómez Jefe de recepción More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Checked in. My first room was large but a smoker had clearly just checked out. I asked to be moved and they moved me without any trouble. The second room was much smaller and smelled of mildew. Both rooms had windows out to a 10m2 void. Breakfast was simple but ok. Coffee was good and lmitless. WiFi was patchy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eduardo G, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arenal, responded to this review

Dear Olaf, First of all let me thank you for the time taken on submitting your reviews. We would have liked you to have a better stay with us. We first give you a external Street, because normally this kind off rooms are more required by our guests. We apologize if the previus guest had smoked, because there is just... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Family Room (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Centro

Neighborhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay