We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Madrid

#19 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Paseo de la Castellana, 49, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Madrid
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Madrid
Add Photo Write a Review

1,053 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    593
    310
    107
    27
    16
See reviews for
137
401
66
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1053)
  • Mar-May only
    (343)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (273)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (235)
All months
Escazu, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Got a 'double upgrade' as an ambassador. Room was the same one they told me I was getting when I booked. Walls were thin, bathroom old. Bed v good. Extra rollaway bed was not good though. Fitness center treadmills we're old and did not work properly. Bed 5 Bathroom 3 Restaurants and bars 4 Service 4

Was this review helpful? Yes
ICMadrid, Director de Recepción at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Andrew1971Scott, We are really sorry to hear that your room was not as your entire satisfaction. Please if you are considering us for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact me directly to make sure your room is in a perfect condition. With kind regards, Juan Carlos Caballero juancarlos.caballero@ihg.com More 

london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just experienced the most wonderful stay at the Intercontinental Madrid. I would rate it as one of the top hotels in the world and we have stayed at some of the best. We had a club room with balcony over the courtyard garden, and yes it was sometimes noisy at night, but who cares this is Madrid! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Sha1955, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay. Your ideas and opinion about our Brunch will make us to do think about it. Thank for your kind words about our staff and specially about Alfredo Garcia, we will pass on to him. We really hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent service. First rate! The employees really made my experience. They went out of their way to take care of me. I can not wait to go back. The Intercontinental Madrid is an exceptional hotel. They take great pride in their property.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Matthew W, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

Piraeus, Greece
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A really good experience staying on the hotel. Very Helpful and friendly staff Excellent breakfast. We have booked a deluxe room, which was spacious, clean and nice. Very close to a Metro station and always taxis outside of the hotel. Very bad was that you have to pay for the wi-fi (sorry Management, but this is 2015, not 1995 anymore)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear CStefanou, Thank you very much fo sharing your experience thru trip advisor. We have Wifi for free for all IHG Rewards members, perhaps you could join us! With kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went for a quick trip and had a great time. The hotel was really nice, especially the bedding and bathroom. Two sinks, a luxurious bathtub, a large shower and water closet with bidet made it feel super fancy. Service was accommodating and the hotel bar was quiet and lovely and offered great snacks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Dollyria, Thank you very much for sharing your great experience in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

Northumberland - UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We made our maiden visit to this wonderful, old school, Madrid hotel, for a family wedding. Most of the wedding party and guests were staying here too. From the moment we arrived, we were cared for as valued guests. It was a very late flight in from Heathrow and we were perfectly greeted upon our arrival and shown to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear UKChaz, Thank you very much for your nice comments about your last stay and specially about our staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Manrique Rodríguez More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental Madrid for business after having to switch out from two previous hotels in the city, and this one made up for all of the mistakes the others made. Upon arriving at the reception desk, i was sent up to Club Intercontinental and was immediately greeting with a warm smile and lovely hors d'oeuvres! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Theo A, It is wonderful to read about your experience in Madrid. We very pleased to know you have a so nice impression about our hotel, Madrid city and "madrileños". Hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

Athens, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This property adds to the prestige carried by the InterContinental collection. The location was great for exploring to city but also made it easy to tune out some of the downtown noise. The breakfast was impressive. The bar staff was very attentive at night. Would absolutely stay here again upon my return to Madrid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Averma3, We would like to thank you for your nice comment regarding our hotel, services and specially our Bar staff members. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent hotel and very friendly staff. Very clean and large rooms. Nice choice of food in breakfast buffet. Perfect location for our city break. After day out in city we enjoyed the totally relexing massages in hotel. Will surely recommend to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Averma3, Thank you very much for sharing your nice experience in our Hotel. Very pleased to know you enjoyed our services and location. We are really closed to important areas of Madrid, Museums, shopping areas... Hope to welcome you back very soon. With kind regards, Manrique Rodriguez More 

Winnipeg, Manitoba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We had excellent service and very comfortable room! Close to metro and shopping. Very classy upscale hotel Breakfast was everything you could possibly desire and fresh everyday. We would stay here again in a minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ICMadrid, Director General at InterContinental Madrid, responded to this review

Dear Barbara S, Thank you for sharing you experience. Nice food and shopping areas are lovely in Madrid! Hope to welcome you back very soon. Manrique Rodriguez General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (336)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (120)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (57)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (718)
Viewed
Amenities (101)
Viewed
Classic Suite (62)
Viewed
Club Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (52)
Viewed
Premium Suite (63)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (91)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
Royal Suite (167)
Viewed
Standard Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (122)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Chamberi

Neighborhood Profile
Chamberi
Multi-story residential buildings decorated with ornate balconies line the traditional, quiet, and pretty streets of Chamberí. Humble storefronts and neighborhood taverns are scattered across the lower levels down every block, and here and there, there's a cluster of tables on the sidewalk. It isn't ever crowded, but people are always out, poking into the tiny bakeries, hardware stores, and tobacco shops, or ducking into a bright, unadorned cerveceria to have a coffee or beer by the bar, flip through the paper, and check the sports score. The round Plaza Olavide, where the fairly regular network of streets breaks form, is among the most green and lively spots. Restaurants line its circumference and sought-after outdoor tables fill the center of the plaza, where people relax to the sounds of kids playing and street musicians' tunes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay