We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rafaelhoteles Atocha

Mendez Alvaro 30, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    169
    123
    47
    8
See reviews for
54
142
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (407)
  • Mar-May only
    (144)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Hotel is ok as long as you are needing to stay near the station. Otherwise it's a bit off the beaten track. Rooms were clean and staff ok but nothing special and not particularly good value especially when the hotels Web rates are significantly higher than the consolidator sites

Was this review helpful? Yes
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After a long flight from Melbourne it was a relief to be promptly shown to our room before the official arrival time of 3pm in Spain. The room was quite large, very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Although our room overlooked the station yards, the double-glazed windows ensured a quiet sleep. The reception staff were very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RH_Atocha, General Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear Nordeuk, We would like to thank you all your comments for your recent stay at the hotel. All reviews we receive help us to improve our services and our guest’s experiences, so thank you again for the time you spent to send to us. If you come back to Madrid, don't hesitate in contact us for anything you need.... More 

Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, it does have some problems with sound-proofing within the hotel. Not sure if it's the walls or the ventilation system. Nevertheless, it's really sound-proof as regards the outside noise. My room was facing the Atocha train station and the street but I had no problem sleeping. The breakfast is a great variety and tasty! The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RH_Atocha, General Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear Jurgi R, We would like to thank you for your comments and the time you spent to send it to us. We apologize for the noise problem. We are actually working to give the best solution to a not sound-proof in some of our rooms in order to offer a better experience to all our guests. Thank you again... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here after using a Hotwire deal that saved me 70% but I had to make the booking without knowing the name of the hotel, so I did not explicitly choose to stay here. The location was relatively convenient, near Atocha, but that was about the only good thing about our stay. Reception had the rudest staff I've ever... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RH_Atocha, General Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear Brittany_Still, I would like to thank you for all your comments about the hotel. I apologize for all the inconveniences and I want you to know that from the Direction we are going to take appropriate actions so it will not happen again. I am very sorry if we didn't give you the best explanation about the AC because... More 

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

First impressions were of a modern, clean and well run hotel. Unfortunately the football ticket that I'd had posted there for me had gone missing, however the hotel manager offered me a full refund. The room was comfortable but the walls are paper thin so you can hear every noise - very annoying!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trollhattan, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Very good room but it is not sound-proof. Service are very good but the reception speak English poor. Breakfast is exellent.............................................................................................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RH_Atocha, Director General at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear Client, We want to thank you the time you have taken to send us your comments about the hotel. We are actually working to give the best solution to a not sound-proof in some of our rooms in order to offer a better experience to all our guests. We want to thank you again for all your comments that... More 

manu9000
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We have stayed 3 nights at this hotel over the Easter period and the value for money is excellent. The rooms and bathrooms are roomy and more than adequate even though they could be updated a bit. Breakfast was very good and the bar staff very helpful even though the bar setup is not very inviting. The location is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RH_Atocha, General Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear Client, We would like to thanK you the time you have taken to leave your comments at Tripadvisor. We feel especially grateful for your nice compliments regarding our staff. We try to improve our quality service day by day and it is nice to see that our guests appreciate our efforts. Thank you very much indeed on behalf of... More 

Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

While the room was quite nice in terms of size and amenities, this hotel was very active. As others have mentioned, the walls are very thin - we could hear a phone vibrating in the room next door. We faced the courtyard (very pretty) but each night there were groups out there well into the night and it was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I thought the hotel was nice. However a major negative was the noise of housekeeping which began at 8.30 am outside my door. I was woken up both mornings by doors slamming and hoovering. Not pleasant when you're on holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
RH_Atocha, General Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for your comments and the time you have spent writting it, this makes us improve our every day services.We would like to apologize for all the inconvenience about the noise of our cleaning staff during the morning. We have taken note about it and be assured that we have taken appropriate actions to ensure that does not... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Hotel rooms are ok quite roomy, however the services like Internet-breakfast and service leave a lot to be desire. Stayed 3 nights and every day had to get room key reset despite being here for 3 days, Internet r emotion is poor and very slow and also has to be renews every day. Support from front staff is not friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
RH_Atocha, General Manager at Rafaelhoteles Atocha, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We try to improve every day our quality and standards in order to satisfy all our guests. Is not common the fact that key needs to be reset daily and even internet passwords are valid for a whole week, I do apologize for this inconveniencies and not being able to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
2:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay