We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Gala

#68 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal Gala
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Very nice hostal with the advantage of the location which it is right in the middle of everything in Madrid between Plaza del Sol and La Gran Via. The rooms are small and you are able to hear through the walls but the staff is very friendly and helpful, Juan and the only girl (forgot her name ,sorry), very polite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ravioso
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Ravioso: Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our establishment with all the other travelers. It is very important for us to know also our negative points to keep on improving constantly. Your compliments of our staff and location are very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that all in all you had a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

This was my first time in Madrid. The staff was very helpfull specially Juan and Jana they were always willing to recomend places. The hostel was very cute , modern and clean. The location was perfect. I definetly recomend this hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Mildred G
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Mildred G: First of all, thank you so much for this awesome review. It´s means a lot for us, thanks from everyone who works here. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. It is glad to read they provided to you an efficient service to help you. I always feel this is the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

The hotel is located right next to a metro stop and was very easy to get to from the train station. Within walking distance of great tapas restaurants, bars and nightlife, as well as shopping. Also only about a 15 minute walk to the Royal Palace. The room was very small but did the trick as we didn't spend too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loumacleod
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Loumacleod, Thank you for your reviewing our Hostel. We are glad that you found our staff helpful. We hope to see you again if you ever come back to Madrid. Best regards, Xurxo Hostal Gala More 

Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Stayed at this hostel for 1 night during a 24 hour trip in Madrid. Travelling with a group of six other friends, as we arrived in Madrid one of my friends noticed she had lost her passport on our previous flight and as we were travelling back home the next day this caused a lot of panic. The front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank BettinaMacelli
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Bettina, Thank you for praising us! Our staff always tries to be as helpful as possible to travellers in distress. We wish you good luck on your next trip. Regards, Yana More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there late september 2015 for 2 nigths. We were greated very nicely by the staff and we enjoyed the location near all the fuzzy nightlife of Madrid. Room are a little small but everything you need is there. Let's be honest anyway, we didnt stay much in our room since there is so much to do and see... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrankandRose_MTL
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Frank or Rose, Thank you for your opinion. It means a lot to us. We do have larger rooms, although that room type must of been full at the time of you booking. Although it does not seem to be much of an issue since the area that we are located at, as you said, truly makes one spend... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were arriving into Madrid late and we were very pleasantly surprised. We arrived about 9.30pm and the Santa Domingo metro stop is right beside the hotel. We know the area quite well and saw the hotel straight away but had a bit of difficulty finding the door which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 140Frequenttraveller
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear 104Frequenttraveler, Thank you for your honest opinion. Being compared to a four star hotel is quite a praise. We try to do so in every way. Unfortunately we do not have anywhere to place a rooftop pool, but we would if we could! Best regards, Yana More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two days & had a great time. The best part is the location. We walked to to all the attractions except Real Madrid stadium. It has a tube station nearby & buses pass all the time. Lot of eating places around & open till late. It was really well maintained, both the room & the lobby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mayur S
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Mayur S, Your comments mean a lot to us. specially those on our personnel. We are glad that you were satisfied by the cleanliness and service. We do try! Best regards, Yana More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

This was probably one of the most enjoyable rooms we stayed in because not only was it fresh and modern with a classic twist, but the windows and patio overlooking the square gave us a nice view with lots of natural light. And it was surprisingly very quiet (except Friday night when there was a lot of people on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tangayi
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad that you had a good stay at Hostal Gala. Hopefully, you´ll also encounter excellent weather when you come back. Best regards, Yana More 

Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

But.. The rooms looks nothing like in the pictures. It was extremely small. The friendly and helpful staff and the central location definitely compensate for it. Note that the hostel takes up only a part of the huge building, so you need to buzz them on the intercom and find out how to get in. Have fun!

Helpful?
Thank shan-shan100
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Shan-shan100. Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about our establishment with all the other travelers. It is very important for us to know also our negative points to keep on improving constantly. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. Your compliments of our staff and good location... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

I am now at the hotel with my wife and room is so clean and the service was fantastic, the lady was giving us the details of the service, map Madrid and wifi password before asking. The location is very close to Santio Domingo (Metro station), even you can go walking for shopping, But most of rooms are Small but100%... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sayed Hashem A
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Sayed Hashem A, In first place thank you for sharing your experience at Hostal Gala. Is the first time that one of our clients sends an opinion from the hostal and at the same day that they arrive. We interpret it like a very good signal and a very good first impression! We are happy to know that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

536 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (376)
Viewed
Amsterdam Apartment (88)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Sydney Apartment (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#89 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#95 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 2,865 reviews
Centro
Oriente Hostal
Oriente Hostal
#45 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#39 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#31 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Arguelles
Sercotel Suites Viena
Sercotel Suites Viena
#26 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centro

Neighborhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay