We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Gala

#59 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Costanilla de los Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostal Gala
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    142
    30
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
119
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (360)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Hsinchu, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

nice location, nice staff, nice room, nice wifi the room also provide washing machine, has elevator,do not worry your heavy luggage the room would be cleaned everyday if you want the kitchen has complete equipment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Elppa2015. Your compliments of the Hostal Gala are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. Your compliments of our staff, location, wifi and good rooms are very much appreciated. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, for your recommendations and... More 

houston,tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you're on a budget and looking for a place to stay in the middle of everything this is the spot.I stayed in hostal gala for 3 nights with my mother before we headed out to Granada.Its cute,comftorable and has the best water pressure in the shower.When you've been in an 11 hour flight like we were that really matters.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear blue_haze77. First of all, thank you so much for this awesome review. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff It is glad to read they provided to you an efficient service to help you. I always feel this is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel. Your compliments of our good... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We stayed there for three nights. The location is central, closed to key attractions and metro stations. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room is reasonable size but poorly insulated. We can hear every single sound coming from other rooms. The shower unit is worn out. The shower door cannot be closed properly. Consequently water flooded the floor every time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear S.C. We apologize for the bad stay that you had with us. If the first day you have said us for your allergy we wouldn´t push the air freshener in your room, but you didn´t say anything until your leaving. We are not agree with your main comment " Dusty, Dirty and Smelly", because we guess that our cleaning... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We had a two room appartment with nice fully equipped kitchen and washing machine. Private bathroom with bathtub. Good wifi and air conditioning. Good value for the money. Just perfect for 5 persons. Nice and helpfull staff. Location was awesome. Supermarket, department store, many restaurants, parks and Gran Via within short walking distance. Nice playground for the kids next door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Heidi M, First of all, thank you so much for this nice review. Your compliments of our staff, location and good apartment are very much appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. It will be a pleasure to host you again in... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It´s more B&B than a hostel. No common areas and kitchen inside but the rooms are nice, clean with private bathrooms and central heating. I was in Madrid for work so the place was perfect for me. Quiet and very central. Good base for visiting the old town. You have to pay for breakfast (4€ for a coffee, juice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Goodnight, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our establishment with all the other travelers. It is very important for us to know also our negative points to keep on improving constantly. We are glad to hear that all in all you had a good here, and hope to see you again in hostal Gala.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

The entrance to the Hostel is a bit underwhelming but once you enter the bright, clean, airy, room - all is well. The staff is helpful, competent and friendly and they provide anything you need. The Hostel is perfectly located with 2 Metro stations near and walking distance to great neighborhoods. Madrid is a great jumping off point to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear BramellJ. First of all, thank you so much for this nice review. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. It is glad to read they provided to you an efficient service to help you. Your compliments of our clean rooms and good location are very much appreciated too. It will be a pleasure... More 

Flint, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Although my taxi driver from the airport couldn't find the address in his directory, it's actually easy to locate - just ask for Plaza Santo Domingo and it's on the corner. Two flights of stairs to negotiate, but not too much of a problem and a nice secure environment. Room was OK, but lacking in power points and could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear GilesP. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about our establishment with all the other travelers. It is very important for us to know also our negative points to keep on improving constantly. We are glad to hear that all in all you had a good here. Your compliments of our staff, location and good beds... More 

Frasnes-Lez-Anvaing, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Very friendly, clean, well decorated... Staff helpfull with advices, rates (flamenco evening)... Of course, the streets are noisy, but you are close to Gran Via, in madrid, right? The bedroom was small but smartly agenced. The best quality/price address.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Dominique, One more time, we want to thank you for taking a few minutes to share with other travelers your experience in our establisment. It was a real pleasure to have had you as our guest, and such a good opinion deserve our best efforts to continue improving and offering good experiences to all the persons who love to... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

The location of the hostal is excellent! it is close to many restaurants and markets, so you can grab a bite quickly if you're hungry The facilities of the hostal was superb! clean and comfy beds, good bathrooms, wifi works really well and they clean your room every day! :) The staffs were also really nice, attentive and helpful to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Andre. Muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios con el resto de los viajeros. Nos esforzamos mucho para que los... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I stayed here in one of the small double rooms and could not fault the place. More of a boutique hotel than a hostel. The reception staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the location is perfect and close to everything, the rooms are impeccably clean, there are many restaurants in the area, and best of all there was a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HostalGala M, Director de Recepción at Hostal Gala, responded to this review

Dear Alexandria J, In first place we thank you for taking a few minutes to share your opinion about your stay at Hostal Gala. We are very happy to know that your expectations were not disappointed. We have a perfect location so we make efforts to stay high our other qualities: staff, cleanliness and good rest, it is great that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (376)
Viewed
Amsterdam Apartment (88)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Sydney Apartment (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Triple Room (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Centro

Neighborhood Profile
Centro
Expansive plazas, local and foreign crowds, street performers, colorful lights, window shopping, restaurant signs promising the best paella, ham, and churros con chocolate- this is downtown Madrid, a collection of plazas interconnected by a network of side streets. Some of these side streets are wide pedestrian shopping routes, and some are hidden, so it's possible to duck in and out of the bustle as desired. The iconic Puerta del Sol is the giant crossroads of the city and a must-see attraction at any time of the day. The nearby Plaza Mayor, completely enclosed by historic red buildings, is an ideal place to grab a bite to eat outside, amidst scores of tables and people out for a stroll. Plaza Isabel II (also known as “Opera”) is smaller and a good meeting spot, and the stately Plaza del Oriente is the front yard of the Royal Palace. Centro can be touristy (pickpockets are unfortuately not unheard-of here), crowded, and sometimes gimmicky, but it is also the place to experience classic Madrid.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities