We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 458 Madrid hotels

Hostal Ballesta

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballesta, 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trypadvisor offer
Save Saved
You added Hostal Ballesta to your Saves list
Hostal Ballesta
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #77 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Robyn d Sydney
  • Overview
  • Reviews (286)
  • Photos (183)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    152
    30
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
143
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3nights arriving by taxi,the room was quite except for shower water noise from some where.The location is central to Tappas bars,and very good retail shopping in the clothing line. The nocturnal activity is worthy of note but very safe.Really enjoyed the visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear customers; Thank you for visiting our hostel and both positive and negative reviews, which help us to improve day by day. If we hope to return to Madrid to visit us again. Thank you and accept my best regards. Mercedes Larroca More

Valencia, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ended up in Hostal Ballesta after not wanting to stay at Hostal Pizarro (see my other review) and was very pleasantly surprised by the sterling attention received from receptionist Ana. She did go out of her way to find us a room at nearly 10pm on a Friday and made the whole process and stay easy and confortable. We're not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear guest, Hostal Ballesta team wants to thank you choose us for your stay in Madrid and their positive reviews. We hope that if we choose Madrid again again. Thanks and Yours faithfully. Mercedes More

Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days. Room was clean,small but had all basic facilities. Service was good. Front office staff was helpful.They arranged a taxi for us every time we requested. The location of this hostel is excellent. Very near to market,restaurants and metro at a walking distance

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear customers, we greatly appreciate their positive reviews; we are glad to have been subject to his stay in Madrid and enjoy that. We hope that if we choose to return to Madrid again. Thank you and accept my best regards. Mercedes More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Very noisy cleaning staff and guests so they woke me up every morning. Small room but clean and had everthing I needed. Window's view was very bad and all I could see was a wall of some buildingin 2 meters of me. Staff on reception is kind and good and helpful. Room service is not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear customers, thank your both positive and negative reviews because it makes us learn and improve every day. Sorry for the inconvenience caused by noise. Thanks and Yours faithfully. Mercedes Larroca More

Maidstone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It's definitely the location which sells this small 'hotel' ... it's located just a 2 minute walk from Gran Via, very central to all the main Plaza's, nearest Metro about a 5 minute walk. The hostal itself is definitely only 2 star, although it really wouldn't take much to offer that bit more ... tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Hostal entire team wants to thank his opinion greatly; for us it is a pleasure to read comments like yours because our hard work in this way is rewarded. Hope to see you again. Greetings. Mercedes Larroca More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went at the end of April 2014 for four days. Was horrified when I arrived because two prostitutes were shouting at each other. I soon got used to the very varied area and it was helped by being opposite a large police station! This is an artistic area with old traditional bars as well as trendy ones. I lived in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thanks a lot of, your opinion is very important to us. We hope that if you return to again choose Madrid Hostal Ballesta. Best Regards. Mercedes More

Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here with lads on our football trip. Therefore no luxury required. Cheap, basic, clean ish, fairly loud due to nightclub right opposite. Many prostitutes were looking for jobs right outside of the hotel - they didn't seem to bother people walking by. The hotel worked fine for us. But not fine if you bring The Wife or your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear customer, we thank you chose us for your stay in Madrid and their opinions. We hope that if you return to the capital we choose again. Thanks and Yours faithfully. Mercedes More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over three nights, starting from Friday. The hotel itself is nice and is clean and the staff are very helpful. However, we did have problems with noise. On Friday and Saturday night, the night club across the road was very noisy for basically the whole night. Our room was located on the street side and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear guests, first apologize for the lack of sleep in the days that were housed, usually the street is fairly quiet, but it is true that there may be some end den noisier week, although not usual, feel greatly that we have state all comfortable with us. Thank you and accept my best regards. Mercedes More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I'm from egypt , we were two groups 1st group was me and my family(my husband and 2 kids one of them is 2 months old) and the other group was two of our friends,we stayed in this hostal for 10 days the location is veryyyyy close to everything just few meters away the cleanliness is perfect with regular room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear customers, we thank Trypadvisor their opinions, both negative and positive, it helps us to improve day by day. Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and hopefully next time you visit us. Thanks and regards. Mercedes Larroca More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

2nd time in Barcelona and 2nd stay at Hotel Ballesta! You simply can’t beat the price of $50 a night for clean and basic hotel. If you want a fantastic view of Madrid, pampered products, and a pricey restaurant in the hotel stay somewhere else. But if you are budget friendly and are looking for a hotel that is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballesta2013, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Ballesta, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you very much for your opinions and thank you for staying with us repeat. We are glad you come to Madrid you choose Hostal Ballesta. Hope to see you soon. Thanks and regards. Mercedes Larroca More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hostal Ballesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Ballesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ballesta

Address: Ballesta, 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ballesta 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hostal Ballesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ballesta Madrid
Hostal Ballesta Hotel Madrid

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style
#72 Romantic Hotel in Madrid #91 Family Hotel in Madrid
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ballesta Hostel is an economic and modern hostel, situated right in Madrid´s city centre just a few metres away from La Gran Via (Madrid´s high street). Its unbeatable location gives guests a great variety of possibilities for public transport connections, whatever their plans are, business or pleasure.The Ballesta is recommended among Madrid´s downtown hostels, due to its proximity to Gran Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Old Town, Royal Palace and the Prado museum, as well as offering a wide variety of venues for entertainment, eating out and shopping. Putting all Madrid’s hotspots on our guests’ doorstep!It has recently been refurbished and is modern and economical with all the services needed to offer a pleasant stay for our guests, making it one of the best options for accommodation in Madrid’s city centre.With 35 rooms, singles, doubles and triples with private bathroom, lcd television, telephone, heating, air conditioning, free Wifi….the Ballesta hostel is a great choice, offering superb quality at an incredibly low cost. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer