We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rock Hotel Gibraltar

3 Europa Road, Gibraltar
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    393
    455
    221
    99
    56
See reviews for
168
660
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1224)
  • Mar-May only
    (367)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (331)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (317)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rock Hotel Gibraltar
See the most recent reviews
Chatham kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Rock hotel. What a great hotel this is our 3rd stay and yes it looks a bit tired here and there especially on the balconies, but the beds and linen is spotless and rooms kept clean. The apes are around but there are notices to tell you not to feed them,and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
srevad, Public Relations Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear Maureen319, Thank you for your posting. As you would have read elsewhere, we are very close to embarking upon a large investment programme, which will seriously allow us to lose the 'tired' status. However, we do feel that we still have a great many positive qualities, none the least our staff, location and unique history. We are sure that... More 

Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I proposed to my fiancee at The Rock Hotel so it seemed fitting to spend our wedding night in one of their luxury penthouse suites. The hotel is full of period charm and character. Everything the staff did for us was amazing. The whole stay was memorable, including the obligatory Ape Invasion of the terrace... to anyone who is concerned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear steveburns, Having proposed to your bride at the Rock and having experienced your wedding night with us, we can only hope that we might be your choice for an anniversary or dare we say, a christening. Thank you so much for your kind words. More 

Kendal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week staying at the Rock. We had a really good time. The hotel staff were all very friendly and looked after our needs in a professional manor. The hotel itself is a delight, with its 1930's colonial style. In one or two places it could do with a lick of paint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear DavvoKendal, Thank you for your very positive feedback, which is most welcome. You may be interested to know that refurbishment plans are now on the move and I am sure that we will embark upon these in the sympathetic manner you advocate. Regarding the fondue, as this was my personal concept for the bar I am especially pleased to... More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

After reading previous reviews we were expecting the worst. Overall it was not a bad hotel, but there is room for improvement. Check in was ok, average time and relatively friendly. We had room 207 and it was big and clean. we discovered some faults with the room, but these were quickly repaired. we had a balcony and the view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear Airman21, Thank you for your review. I was happy to read that in the main you enjoyed the Rock, but naturally disappointed that our bar staff, usually the subject of some praise, did not perform. I have spoken to the bar manager and he too is apologetic. I hope that this will not deter you from a future visit... More 

Southport UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Although we have been to Gibraltar many times, we have never stayed at the Rock and were very much looking forward to it. We were not disappointed - room was fine and beds comfortable. We ate in the Wisteria Bar and I had the largest fish and chips I have ever seen - beautifully cooked. Breakfast was also good followed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear KathySouthportUK, Thank you for taking the time to say such positive things about your first visit to the Rock - I certainly hope it will not be the last.! I am especially pleased that you thought our staff friendly and your comments will be shared with them all. Thank you once more. More 

Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Having visited the Rock hotel on numerous occasions since getting married in Gib in 1996 we find the comments made about bed bugs unhelpful and discouraging. Everyone knows that, like other infestations, they thrive in clean environments and not dirty ones - enough said. These comments distract from the other great things about the hotel, agreed it does need some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Markham, Thank you for this very supportive posting. This is a problem that many of us hoteliers are facing and whilst it may exist, levels are being managed and of course reports should be considered relative the our many thousands of sleepers. I am grateful for your input and your view that comments 'should not distract... More 

Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is my 2nd visit to The Rock. I have to go to Gib as my daughter lives there. In general, Gib seems to be about 50 years behind the times - you have to accept this. We did not get a balcony this time which was a bit disappointing, but the room was excellent (for Gibraltar). Some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear MissTabitha, Thank you for your favourable comments and I hope that this, your second visit, may lead to a third. I apologise that the pool was closed and feel that explanation would be useful. We have learned over many years that early October is the optimum time to close and to re-open in April.- the weather does change but... More 

ballater
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

On arrival after a 3hour flight delay and a 1hour delay due to no show of transport from Gib airport(not hotels fault) we arrived at 23.30hrs.The male receptionist quickly checked us in albeit to a room on first floor.At time of booking our agent contacted hotel asking for a higher floor as the lower floors can be prone to noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear theo15, I am happy to concede that the management team are not perfect - we are human after all. Naturally, I read your critique with concern and all the points you raise will be drilled down upon with the departmental heads concerned. I think other reviews will hopefully endorse the fact that your experienece was not typical but quite... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having just read the last review i must too concur with their findings. I with my future husband have just returned there. We stayed for two weeks and got married whilst there. We stayed at The Rock along with 22 of our wedding guests. In general the staff were adaquate although the rooms poor standard with dirty walls, cracks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
romford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I have just returned from a stay at the Rock Hotel with my wife and she is seriously ill from bed bug bites. If you value your health don't stay here. The hotel is dirty and the rooms in a very poor state of repair. In the open air Barbary bar rats could be clearly seen running above the seating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
srevad, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this review

Dear Elleen1, I think that like many hotels around the world we acknowledge and combat this problem. However, whlist not wishing to be confrontational I do take some issue with your premise that we are 'a serious health hazard'. We have a pest control contract with professionals as do all hotels and we are inspected regularly on an ad hoc... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Pool area(21)
  • Very good(19)
  • Reception staff(14)
  • Balcony door(9)
  • Wisteria Terrace(8)
  • Cable car(7)
  • Room service(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

511 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (507)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
View from room (84)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibraltar
0.6 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
2.4 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
AC Hotel La Linea by Marriott
#1 of 7 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay