We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barna Hostal

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Rambla de Catalunya 102 - 1o, 2o, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Barna Hostal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #145 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
MartinBradley Kuala Lumpur
Add Photo

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    17
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The whole arrangement was well thought out. We arrived late. We had the codes to the doors, the room key was in a coded locked box. It could not have been more simple. The room, despite no aircon, was more than functional, and the design, comfortably antique. We had two night's stsy with no complaints. Thank you Barna Hostal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomás A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barna Hostal, responded to this review

Dear Martin, we are very glad to hear from you. Thanks to you for your recomendations and comments shared with the community of Tripadvisor. Best regards from Barna Hostal. More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Avoid! You can find much nicer places in Barcelona for the same money. I booked the room with private bathroom for 3 nights, but ended up leaving after the first night. The pictures of this room on the hostal's website are very misleading as they feature a bright room with a big window overlooking the street. In fact, the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tomás A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barna Hostal, responded to this review

Hello Bob, We are really very sorry to hear your complaints. Furthermore when the staff who is described as friendly by you, have cleaned your room. We are sure that if she let him go to you without paying the remaining nights is because we did not want to have a customer like you. First of all, politeness. As for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Check in was very easy and quick. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious, nice and clean. The hostel is located in a stylish old building in Eixample and very close to La Pedrera and the city center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barna Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your comments and your help sharing your experience at Barna Hostal. We are very glad for your confidence in our establisment, and hope see you soon. Best regards. More 

Suceava, Romania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

a good hostel in the heart of Barcelona,right on the street Rambla de Catalunya, very closed to a metro station. good size room, clean, bath, tv and wifi. friendly staff and good price. a great location to spend a few days to visit Barcelona.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barna Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your words and for your confidence in our establishment. We are very glad that your stay at Barna Hostal was good. Best regards. More 

Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

FOR YOUR OWN SAKE, JUST STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE, SERIOUSLY. I'll try to cover as much as I can about the dreadful experience I had with this place ( I have no idea why it's advertised as a B&B here cause it has no breakfast included in any way). First of all we were supposed to stay here 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barna Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with all of us. We want to say that every customers which come to the HOSTEL receive an e-mail at the moment of the reservation explaining correctly that: 1.- There is reception until 5:00pm. 2.- The way to get the access in the hostel very well explained with the codes, and, just in case you... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice hostel, the receptionist was great, the location is the best next to the main square of Barcelona. Although we booked a room for 2 with shared bathroom, the bathroom was clean all the time and the room was perfect at the check in time. Our room was really cute indeed! However, the security was a problem for us, as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ADAGIO H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barna Hostal, responded to this review

Thanks very much for sharing your experience with all of us. About the security, we cannot insure what could happen to the customer in the street, is a big city like another one, but we are in a very secure area placed next to the center. The recepcionist will be glad to see you again in our establishment. Best regards. More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed only for one night at this hostel, but everything was perfect. Nice room with lovely little balcony, the location is in the centre a few minutes away from a Gaudi building. The staff were friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were clean. I would definitely stay again in this hotel for a future stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed for four nights at this hostel. It was incredibly cheap considering the location in the centre of town on a beautiful street a few minutes away from a Gaudi building. The staff were friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean, our beds were made and we were given fresh towels everyday. The room had a great ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

When we entered the hostal door on the 1st floor at 00.30 past midnight , the floor was smelling like a fresh cleaned room.Our room was very nice and cozy . We stayed 4 nights and we had never slept in a hostal before. It was very quite on the inside but a bit noisy from the outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Rathe cheap for such location. But in the mornings and evening there wasn't hot water. Also there was almost no heating, so in january the room was rather cold. I advise you to book room number 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. They rather pretty, light and with balcons. The room 7 is also ok but without balkon. All these rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Eixample

Neighborhood Profile
Eixample
Passing through the glorious Plaça Catalunya, you enter the newer city district of Eixample, literally translated as “extension,” which immediately becomes recognizable by its more spacious streets and elegant atmosphere. The main artery of this sizable district, Passeig de Gracia, is lined with high-end international designer stores. Not to be outdone, the glitz and glamour of this zone is perhaps best exemplified by the comfortable and lavish five-star hotels that flank the divine and modernistic buildings from some of the world’s most recognized architects such as Gaudi and Montaner.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay