We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catalonia Avinyo

Avinyo 16, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Catalonia Avinyo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    136
    251
    89
    25
    19
See reviews for
64
240
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (520)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the triple room Mon-Thurs the last week of July. It is a great hotel at a great price. Staff incredibly friendly and the beds are really comfy! Pool not as big as expected, and could do with a mirror in the bedroom. Overall a great stay and brilliant for a 4 day city break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments and praise for the hotel and especially the staff compliments. We are glad that all our efforts are appreciated by our guests. It is our greatest satisfaction. We hope to recirte if you return to Barcelona. Best regards More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent all round. Very central to everything but far enough away for a peaceful sleep. Soundproofed, air conditioned, quiet room with a large very comfortable bed, good shower room. Rooftop pool and jacuzzi area was just right. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast has a very impressive spread to choose from but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, First thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Thank you say that the hotel is excellent. We appreciate especially your comments about the hotel staff. We hope to see you again soon if you return to Barcelona. Best regards, More 

Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and have nothing but great things to say about it. It is located in the barri gotic and is not easily assessable via car. Our cab from the airport did drop us off in front, but all other cabs would not go there. It is a 5 minute walk away from las... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, First thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your stay has been pleasant in our hotel and that you enjoyed the city and the places there are around our hotel. Thanks for your comments about the friendliness of the staff. We hope that all these aspects make you back to our hotel in... More 

Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked the location, breakfast and decor, but I disliked the size of the room (very tiny) and the view - into the interior patio BUT I asked about silent room so thats may be the reason I got this type of room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, . Thanks for your comments about our hotel. If you return to our hotel in the future, please request information about other types of rooms available that we have. We see you again. Best regards More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff are very welcoming and professional. The cleaning of the rooms was highly satisfactory. The rooms are small, but efficiently utilized. The roof terrace is a nice option to have, but the pool I would consider a kids pool at best (works for cooling down, but not for a swim).

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, . Thanks for your comments about our hotel. Thank you for your good comments about the staff. We hope to see you again in the future if you return to Barcelona. Best regards More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The title sums it up. But the location is superb. Also the gym is rather poorly equipped. But staff could not be more helpful. Paid about 120 Euros per night, which seems fair all-in-all - again, nostly because of the location and the friendly folks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate feedback about our hotel staff will especially. We want to provide good service and are happy to know that our guests appreciate our attention and service. Please come back again if you return to Barcelona. Regards More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ended paying extra 50£ because of their mistakes in booking and broken promises. I good location but that's about it. Very small rooms and you can literally hear footsteeps of neighbers all the time and obviously all other activites they do as well so don't expect any sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel. All opniniones help us to improve our service. We regret that your stay was not enjoyable. Usually our guests remain happy after staying with us.We would like to have another chance to change the impression you had during the previous stay. Best regards More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Great location! Loved exploring all the alleyways in the Gothic quarter. Very clean hotel. Polite and helpful staff. Be aware! There are rooms without windows and/or balconies, we opted to pay extra for air! The breakfast buffet has a bit of everything for everyone. The pool on the roof is adequate, not heated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are glad that your stay was satisfactory in our hotel. That is our intention that our customers will enjoy their holidays in Barcelona. Best regards More 

Nice
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

I went back to the Catalonia Avinyo Hotel recently, just for one night during a business trip. Again I chose this hotel because of its location in the "Bari Gotico" which I really like. This time I managed to get a room with a balcony. The room was small (as most rooms in this hotel) but it was nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing again our hotel Catalonia Avinyo for your stay in Barcelona. We will be waiting for you if you decide back to Barcelona. Best regards More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We spent here three nights and slept better than in any other hotel before: excellant beds, worring air-condition, quiet room. No view, but the great location, swimming pool on the roof and friendly staff made this our favourite hotel in Barcelona!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CataloniaAvinyo, Director General at Catalonia Avinyo, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor website. We are glad that our hotel is your favorite in Barcelona. We would like to see you again if you decide to return to Barcelona. Best regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

570 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (402)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Room 306 (46)
Viewed
Double Room 307 (43)
Viewed
Double Room 310 (53)
Viewed
Double Room 313 (45)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
Superior Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Triple Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#96 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#120 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#105 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#192 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#74 of 510 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
El Raval
Hesperia Ramblas
Hesperia Ramblas
#131 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighborhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighborhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay