We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 706 Barcelona accommodations

Hostal Mont-Thabor

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
Hotel amenities
Hostal Mont-Thabor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Mont-Thabor to your Saves list
Ranked #363 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Dani C
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
7
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

*We stayed there a couple of nights. This place has the best location in Barcelona, guaranteed. Its basically in the center of the center. 10/10 *The exterior: could be repaired, but the people told me that its a catalogued building and nothing can be modified in the facade. 6/10 *The interior: was also not bad. Furniture was more or less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The location couldn't be better. The entrance of the hostel is definitely not a plus. Our room was clean, cosy and had a balcony facing the back street of ramblas. Hostel is comparatively cheap according to the location. The staff was extremely helpful with everything. In short, I loved the place and I would most probably repeat staying there. Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Podgorica, Montenegro
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in the hostel for three nights, but didn't spend much time in our room. However, it was just what we needed and paid for. The location is perfect to explore city by foot and view from the terrace is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farum, Denmark
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This simple hotel would be a disaster if it wasn't for it's excellent location right on La Rambla. Rooms and other facilities are in very poor conditions. All noise unfiltered between rooms, luckily I could wear my ear protection (normally used to avoid ear damage when I visit factories). Noise from neighborhood and other rooms could in fact compete in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antibes, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the price and of the location. The location was indeed really nice, on the Rambla, it was really nice to visit Barcelona. But the room was really not what we expected. It was not in a really good shape, it was clean but damaged and all the furniture was old and of poor quality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
france
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

dirty hotel, not comfotable, very noisy, service quality very bad, personal very ghastly.. shun him !I would never suggest this Hotel to a friend, cause it's so dirty (blotches on the bed-linen, mattres and towels), the building and also the furnishing are very old, in the room you can hear everybody who speaks outside. For all this, the price is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking my girlfriend to Barcelona last week and staying at this wonderful hostel/hotel. Everything started so well when I turned up to the hostel to find that they had upgraded us to a balcony room as it was girlfriends first visit. We experienced great hospitality and generosity throughout our stay and even received some lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't believe the pretty web pictures and reviews - this place is terrible!!! Rather difficult to find as entrance is through a Souvenier store and the name P Hostal is prominant, not Mont Thabor (perhaps P Hostal went bancrupt). You have to lug your heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs only to find a tiny reception desk, manned by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I and our team is extremely that you did not have a pleasant experience. But i would like to comment on some things you mentioned : - All "Hostels" in city center of Barcelona have a similar entrance due to lack of space. I wish it was better too. - The name of the hostel is "Hostal Mont Thabor", it... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hostal Mont-Thabor is very different from the photos that we saw online - the room was dirty, the sheets were full of hairs, the towels were full of blood stains - the reception was really dirty with members of the hostal staff eating and cutting fruit directly to the floor. Despite this description, what was really terrible was that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not have a good experience with your stay here. But the only thing i would like to comment is that even if you had informed us that you wanted to cancel the second night at the time of check-in, we would have refunded your money for the second night. But you informed us about the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Mont-Thabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mont-Thabor

Address: Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Mont-Thabor 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Mont-Thabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mont-Thabor Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Mont-Thabor Barcelona, Catalonia

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in La Rambla

Neighborhood Profile
La Rambla
Barcelona's most famous street was once a dry riverbed. Now, La Rambla is a 1200-meter boulevard, and a major draw for visitors. During the day, La Rambla fills with pedestrians, some of which stroll past impressive human statues and artists while others take a break to people-watch while enjoying a drink at one of the many terraces. Housed here is the iconic Boqueria Market that offers one of the most varied and appetizing selections of local produce and specialty meats and treats. While it’s important for tourists to keep an eye on their belongings at all times, this area is most safely explored in the daytime and is a must see for everyone who visits.