We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Mont-Thabor

Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostal Mont-Thabor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    18
    15
    14
    18
See reviews for
8
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The hotel was in the perfect location of las ramblas. The outside is graffiti so it looks a little fishy but the front desk guy, "mr.okay" was a cool dude. We told him the room was very hot so he gave us an extra fan. Can't beat the price and location if you just need a place to sleep. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

*We stayed there a couple of nights. This place has the best location in Barcelona, guaranteed. Its basically in the center of the center. 10/10 *The exterior: could be repaired, but the people told me that its a catalogued building and nothing can be modified in the facade. 6/10 *The interior: was also not bad. Furniture was more or less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The location couldn't be better. The entrance of the hostel is definitely not a plus. Our room was clean, cosy and had a balcony facing the back street of ramblas. Hostel is comparatively cheap according to the location. The staff was extremely helpful with everything. In short, I loved the place and I would most probably repeat staying there. Highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in the hostel for three nights, but didn't spend much time in our room. However, it was just what we needed and paid for. The location is perfect to explore city by foot and view from the terrace is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farum, Denmark
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This simple hotel would be a disaster if it wasn't for it's excellent location right on La Rambla. Rooms and other facilities are in very poor conditions. All noise unfiltered between rooms, luckily I could wear my ear protection (normally used to avoid ear damage when I visit factories). Noise from neighborhood and other rooms could in fact compete in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Antibes, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the price and of the location. The location was indeed really nice, on the Rambla, it was really nice to visit Barcelona. But the room was really not what we expected. It was not in a really good shape, it was clean but damaged and all the furniture was old and of poor quality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
france
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

dirty hotel, not comfotable, very noisy, service quality very bad, personal very ghastly.. shun him !I would never suggest this Hotel to a friend, cause it's so dirty (blotches on the bed-linen, mattres and towels), the building and also the furnishing are very old, in the room you can hear everybody who speaks outside. For all this, the price is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking my girlfriend to Barcelona last week and staying at this wonderful hostel/hotel. Everything started so well when I turned up to the hostel to find that they had upgraded us to a balcony room as it was girlfriends first visit. We experienced great hospitality and generosity throughout our stay and even received some lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't believe the pretty web pictures and reviews - this place is terrible!!! Rather difficult to find as entrance is through a Souvenier store and the name P Hostal is prominant, not Mont Thabor (perhaps P Hostal went bancrupt). You have to lug your heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs only to find a tiny reception desk, manned by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I and our team is extremely that you did not have a pleasant experience. But i would like to comment on some things you mentioned : - All "Hostels" in city center of Barcelona have a similar entrance due to lack of space. I wish it was better too. - The name of the hostel is "Hostal Mont Thabor", it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#162 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#192 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
La Rambla
Ramblas Liceu
Ramblas Liceu
#425 of 510 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
La Rambla
Hostal Las Flores
Hostal Las Flores
#146 of 702 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
La Rambla
Hostal Boqueria
Hostal Boqueria
#217 of 702 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in La Rambla

Neighborhood Profile
La Rambla
Barcelona's most famous street was once a dry riverbed. Now, La Rambla is a 1200-meter boulevard, and a major draw for visitors. During the day, La Rambla fills with pedestrians, some of which stroll past impressive human statues and artists while others take a break to people-watch while enjoying a drink at one of the many terraces. Housed here is the iconic Boqueria Market that offers one of the most varied and appetizing selections of local produce and specialty meats and treats. While it’s important for tourists to keep an eye on their belongings at all times, this area is most safely explored in the daytime and is a must see for everyone who visits.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay