We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 686 Barcelona accommodations

Hostal Mont-Thabor

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostal Mont-Thabor to your Saves list
Hostal Mont-Thabor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (3)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    9
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Podgorica, Montenegro
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the hostel for three nights, but didn't spend much time in our room. However, it was just what we needed and paid for. The location is perfect to explore city by foot and view from the terrace is very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farum, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This simple hotel would be a disaster if it wasn't for it's excellent location right on La Rambla. Rooms and other facilities are in very poor conditions. All noise unfiltered between rooms, luckily I could wear my ear protection (normally used to avoid ear damage when I visit factories). Noise from neighborhood and other rooms could in fact compete in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antibes, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the price and of the location. The location was indeed really nice, on the Rambla, it was really nice to visit Barcelona. But the room was really not what we expected. It was not in a really good shape, it was clean but damaged and all the furniture was old and of poor quality.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
france
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

dirty hotel, not comfotable, very noisy, service quality very bad, personal very ghastly.. shun him !I would never suggest this Hotel to a friend, cause it's so dirty (blotches on the bed-linen, mattres and towels), the building and also the furnishing are very old, in the room you can hear everybody who speaks outside. For all this, the price is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking my girlfriend to Barcelona last week and staying at this wonderful hostel/hotel. Everything started so well when I turned up to the hostel to find that they had upgraded us to a balcony room as it was girlfriends first visit. We experienced great hospitality and generosity throughout our stay and even received some lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't believe the pretty web pictures and reviews - this place is terrible!!! Rather difficult to find as entrance is through a Souvenier store and the name P Hostal is prominant, not Mont Thabor (perhaps P Hostal went bancrupt). You have to lug your heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs only to find a tiny reception desk, manned by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I and our team is extremely that you did not have a pleasant experience. But i would like to comment on some things you mentioned : - All "Hostels" in city center of Barcelona have a similar entrance due to lack of space. I wish it was better too. - The name of the hostel is "Hostal Mont Thabor", it... More

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hostal Mont-Thabor is very different from the photos that we saw online - the room was dirty, the sheets were full of hairs, the towels were full of blood stains - the reception was really dirty with members of the hostal staff eating and cutting fruit directly to the floor. Despite this description, what was really terrible was that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not have a good experience with your stay here. But the only thing i would like to comment is that even if you had informed us that you wanted to cancel the second night at the time of check-in, we would have refunded your money for the second night. But you informed us about the... More

Dortmund, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was in March in Mont Thabor. I lost many times the way to the hostel,because The entrance is hided by a souvenir shop. The stuff is okay. They didnt gave us any raccomandations about the city ,... like where to eat & co. The room that we had was very small , but cosy with a small sweet balkony... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Firstly, this hotel is in a fantastic location! It's right in the centre of Barcelona, in the centre of La Rambla, the main street of Barcelona. It's within walking distance to all parts of the city, and for attractions outside the city the Metro is a few steps from the door. We stayed in two different "superior double rooms" during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hostal Mont-Thabor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Mont-Thabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mont-Thabor

Address: Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Mont-Thabor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hostal Mont-Thabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mont-Thabor Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Mont-Thabor Barcelona, Catalonia

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Barcelona with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Mont-Thabor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer