We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 651 Barcelona accommodations

Hostal Mont-Thabor

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostal Mont-Thabor to your Saves list
Hostal Mont-Thabor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    18
    11
    18
See reviews for
5
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
france
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

dirty hotel, not comfotable, very noisy, service quality very bad, personal very ghastly.. shun him !I would never suggest this Hotel to a friend, cause it's so dirty (blotches on the bed-linen, mattres and towels), the building and also the furnishing are very old, in the room you can hear everybody who speaks outside. For all this, the price is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of taking my girlfriend to Barcelona last week and staying at this wonderful hostel/hotel. Everything started so well when I turned up to the hostel to find that they had upgraded us to a balcony room as it was girlfriends first visit. We experienced great hospitality and generosity throughout our stay and even received some lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't believe the pretty web pictures and reviews - this place is terrible!!! Rather difficult to find as entrance is through a Souvenier store and the name P Hostal is prominant, not Mont Thabor (perhaps P Hostal went bancrupt). You have to lug your heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs only to find a tiny reception desk, manned by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I and our team is extremely that you did not have a pleasant experience. But i would like to comment on some things you mentioned : - All "Hostels" in city center of Barcelona have a similar entrance due to lack of space. I wish it was better too. - The name of the hostel is "Hostal Mont Thabor", it... More

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hostal Mont-Thabor is very different from the photos that we saw online - the room was dirty, the sheets were full of hairs, the towels were full of blood stains - the reception was really dirty with members of the hostal staff eating and cutting fruit directly to the floor. Despite this description, what was really terrible was that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hostal_Mont_Thabor, Manager at Hostal Mont-Thabor, responded to this review

I apologize that you did not have a good experience with your stay here. But the only thing i would like to comment is that even if you had informed us that you wanted to cancel the second night at the time of check-in, we would have refunded your money for the second night. But you informed us about the... More

Dortmund, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was in March in Mont Thabor. I lost many times the way to the hostel,because The entrance is hided by a souvenir shop. The stuff is okay. They didnt gave us any raccomandations about the city ,... like where to eat & co. The room that we had was very small , but cosy with a small sweet balkony... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Firstly, this hotel is in a fantastic location! It's right in the centre of Barcelona, in the centre of La Rambla, the main street of Barcelona. It's within walking distance to all parts of the city, and for attractions outside the city the Metro is a few steps from the door. We stayed in two different "superior double rooms" during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The neon light in the room was awful, but there was a nice balkony, where we could place 2 chairs. Busstop outside the door, and close to a metro station

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have just came back from my weekend Barcelona trip and do not recommend that Hostal, because: 1. When we checked-in, the man who worked there asked us dubbel price. He tried to convince me that I had not paied anything (if you book a hostal, then it takes half the price automatically off from your bank account). I did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here July 2011 for 4 nights. We had our own room with double bed, balcony, sink, and used the shower and toilet in the bathroom down the hall. The room was very basic, but we were pleased and had no complaints except for the hardness of the mattress...but im used to that with having traveled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
India/ New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Our stay in barcelona was fantastic! the location of the hostal is right on la rambla, countless number of restaurants, bars, pubs, lounges, clubs etc... its a perfect place to stay in perfect price. it is close to the downtown shopping area and barceloneta - the beach too. la rambla is the most lively street i have ever seen!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Hostal Mont-Thabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mont-Thabor

Also Known As:
Hostal Mont-Thabor Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Mont-Thabor Hotel
Hostal Mont-Thabor Barcelona, Catalonia
Address: Ramblas-86, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 651 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Mont-Thabor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hostal Mont-Thabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Mont-Thabor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.