We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 686 Barcelona accommodations

Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   La Rambla, 133 - 3rd fl, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€50 (EUR)
Save Saved
You added Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal to your Saves list
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58%
Ranked #342 of 686 Specialty lodging in Barcelona
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
kingpenman1 East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (49)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
15
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with two friends for Barcelona v Celtic in October 2012. Place isn't the easiest to find, right at the top fo Las Ramblas next to the Burger King. Brilliant location for such a low price. The place is very clean for such a inexpensive hostel. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very comfortable stay. The metro station is just a stones throw away and is one of the main stations in Barcelona. Hence very easy to commute across the city. As the accommodation is right on the La Ramblas street, it is very enjoyable to walk around the area with no difficulty to find places to eat or lounge. The rooms... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Clean room with a sink, liquid soap, wardrobe with hangers, fan, heater, hairdryer and a small amount of shelf space. There were two beds in our room with two pillows each and extra blankets in the wardrobe with space under the beds for suitcases. There was also a desk, chair and access to free wifi with good connection. Communal fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flen, Sweden
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A hostel with good location just at the upper end of Las Ramblas - so close to almost everything. It's a lot of stairs to the rooms but it's quite cheap and rather okey rooms with showers in the corridor. When I was here I got a room for myself with three beds for a single room price - so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal, responded to this review

Hi! First of all, thanks for your feedback about our accommodation! We are glad you liked our guesthouse. Barcelona City Ramblas is a simple but clean lodging with everything you need to rest after a day visiting and enjoying Barcelona. Besides, you were lucky to have three beds for you in a room facing Ramblas street! ;-) We are looking... More

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Awful smell of sewer in the stairway. Not in the room though. All night humming noise from some factory(?) in the patio. Balcony shared with neighbour, so he/she can walk into your room at night if u sleep with balcony door open.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your review. The comments of our guests help us to improve our services. We apologize if you had a bad experience in Barcelona City Ramblas. We do know the reason of the smell of the stairway… In spite is a thing is out of our hands, anybody reported it. Did you told it to... More

Hobart
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic location, rooms clean with all the essentials. Communal bathrooms kept nice and clean. Suprisingly quiet, although we didnt have a room facing the rambles. Five flights of rather steep stairs to negotiate with heavy bags after 23 hours of flying was a bit of a challenge but would not deter us from staying here again, just be prepared for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for investing time to write your review of our accommodation, we find it very realistic and it helps people that wants to book in Barcelona City Ramblas to get an idea of what we offer and what they can expect. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodation and your trip to Barcelona. And yes, we know how hard... More

Barcelona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

No privacy, lot of noice in the corridor the all night, hole in the blankets, duty, bath odeurs in the room. no fresh air, bath bed (the legs from the bed was brook) and very expensief for very little. Other peoples that with talk with pay 35 euro for a night for to persons!! Why we pay 75?? the hotel... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barcelona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you expect a good quality hotel for a very low price, keep looking. If your looking for a perfect location for a citytrip and rather spend your money on drinks/food en other nice things then on a hotel, this is the place to go. Its simple, rather clean and you have to be self supporting. It can be rather... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal, responded to this review

Hi! Firstly, thank you for taking time to writing about our guesthouse. These feedbacks are useful for everybody. We think you understood very well the concept of Barcelona City Ramblas. Our guesthouse is a simple accommodation for people looking for an unpretentious place to sleep. A place offering good value for money, specially considering its superb location. We are sorry... More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

excellent location (la ramblas);very safe neighborhood;one of the better locations to be if you like lot of people activities:strolling,eating(quite reasonable),food markets in a very secure environment;the hostel is near the water (25 minutes walk)subway 1 minute away; the room was adequate ,a little warm, however a portable fan was quite helpful;limited utensils available ;communal microvave and fridge available;electric kettle in... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to writing your opinion about Barcelona City Ramblas on this webpage. It seems you loved Las Ramblas. It is one of the favorite places of the tourists! Thanks appreciating our value for money and our unbeatable position in the city. In our official website people can read all utensils available they can use... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal

Address: La Rambla, 133 - 3rd fl, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal Catalonia

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Other (46)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Barcelona with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Barcelona City Ramblas Guest House!Barcelona City Ramblas, also called GuestHouse Canaletas, is a low cost accommodation in the most famous street of Barcelona: Las Ramblas, just in the most centrally located point, in Plaza Catalunya. It is a simple guesthouse. We offer you a good bed, free wifi, shared bathroom... If you spend little time in your accommodation and you want to enjoy the city, you are in the right place.¡Bienvenidos a Barcelona City Ramblas! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?