We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 515 Barcelona hotels

Medinaceli

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza duc de Medinaceli 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
Hotel amenities
Medinaceli
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Medinaceli to your Saves list
55%
Ranked #362 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
SBMedico Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    101
    76
    23
    18
See reviews for
30
118
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

this hotel has to be one of the best in Barcelona. The location is good, near La Rambla and opposite the beach. Transport is easy. The Hop on Hop off tourist buses are just 200 meters away. The Hotel manager was very accommodating and helped us with checking our flights online. Value for money. I was pleasantly surprised. Top service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Upon arriving, the front desk was buzzing with check-outs, local recommendations and providing guests with directions! We were graciously greeted and assisted with checking in early, storing our luggage and providing directions to the beach while we waited for an available room. All interactions with the front desk staff were positive. This hotel takes customer service to a new level.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very well situated. Right by La Ramblas and a few mins walk from the beach. Room was decent and clean. Tub did not look to be a quality of a hotel with a four star rating. It was quiet though. Only thing we had trouble with was check-in and took forever to checkout because they couldn't confirm whether... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, We thank you for expressing your opinion in this medium. It is a pleasure to hear opinions like yours. We regret the problem they had in reception with credit card, luckily he was happily solved... We hope to see you in the future in our hotel. Best regards Elia Buen More

aberdeen scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very well located in a quiet square near the bottom of the Ramblas and close to boats and sea. Using an old building (Palace of the Medinaceli family) the interior has been rebuilt with public areas of a fine modern design. Our room was light and airy with a spacious bathroom....both well used but need of some refurbishment...............particularly curtains and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for giving us your opinion. We take note of all your comments to improve. Expect them soon another time in our hotel. Best regards Elia Buen More

Fehring, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of the city. The major sights, La Rambla, the beach - everything is easily accessible on foot. The rooms are ok but the breakfast is for Austrian 4-star standards pretty poor. So I would advise to book room only and have breakfast in one of the numeros cafes in the surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you very much for expressing your opinion in this medium. We are very pleased that the hotel out of your liking, the situation is truly perfect to discover the city. We take note of your guest for breakfast in order to improve. Best regards Elia Buen More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a nice surprise. Its location, right near the harbour area, is fantastic. But there's more. The room was excellent. Modern, tidy, comfortable. Breakfast included in the deal as well. The hotel is also close to numerous eateries. Overall a great find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you very much for expressing your opinion in this medium. We are very pleased that the hotel out of your liking, the situation is truly perfect to discover the city. We are delighted to welcome opinions like yours. I will inform my colleagues of reception. Best regards Elia Buen More

newcastle on tyne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just come back from spending 4 nights in this hotel. The bedrooms are adequate & clean, but a bit jaded, shower stank of dirty drains, had to keep door shut. As opposed to the public areas such as reception & especially the stunning spiral staircase feature. Lack of tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms & as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you very much for expressing your opinion in this medium. We take note of your comments. We know the problem that there are close to the hotel, is in the process of settled. We take note of all your comments to improve. Best regards Elia Buen More

Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Located in a perfect place no need for taxi as it is 5 minutes on walk to La Ramplas and Barcelona's Ramplas de mar. Also 15 minutes from the airport. Quite small hotel with 78 rooms and staff willing to help but some of them with poor English. Breakfast was quite poor for a 4 star hotel but having in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for your tinmpo for expressing your opinion in this medium. We are very happy because the hotel was to your liking. We take note of your negative comments in order to improve. Best regards Elia Buen More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 4 nights in September 2014 after getting a very good late deal of around £60 per night. We we're looking for somewhere affordable and comfortable that we could dip in and out of in between visits to the beach and nights out, and that is exactly what we got. The hotel is situated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Medinaceli, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you very much for expressing your opinion in this medium. We take note of all your comments in order to improve. Any suggestion is welcome to improve and continue to offer good value for money. We hope to see you again in our hotel very soon. Best regards Elia Buen More

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed 6 nights there. As we just wanted to enjoy the Barcelonata Beach for these 6 days, we preferred this hotel as it was very close to the beach,you just need to walk for 15 minutes. The hotel room was ok but most of the rooms were not getting sunlight so we had to turn on the light even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Medinaceli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medinaceli

Address: Plaza duc de Medinaceli 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Medinaceli 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Medinaceli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona
Medinaceli Barcelona, Catalonia

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay