We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
C/ Tellinaires 35 | Gava, 08850 Barcelona, Spain
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #305 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
BTay-Traveler Dallas, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    99
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
70
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the AC Hotel Gava Mar at the end of a 3 week vacation to France and Spain. The hotel is in a fairly residential area; however, there are quite a few good restaurants within easy walking distance if you don't have a car. The hotel is about 7 miles from the airport and costs about 20 Euros... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Department at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear BTay-Traveler, I take this opportunity to thank you for completing our questionnaire and for chosen our Hotel during you stay in Barcelona. I regret for the inconveniences about our low Restaurant service and WIFI connection. We are working to give a better WIFI connection and I transfer your comment to the Restaurant Manager. Thank you for your attention. Kind... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very handy as only a 10-15 min cab ride from the airport at a cost of circa €20. It's at least 30 mins from Barcelona city center depending on the time of day / traffic. As I was going back at night - it cost €40 to get back to the hotel late at night (presumably there is a premium... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Dept. at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Inez0972, We really appreciate your recommendations and your nice comments regarding our facilities, location services and staff. Is encouraging to know that we have, at least met your expectations, and why not surprised you! We will transfer your comments of WiFi to the appropriate department at the AC Hotels by Marriott. We would be pleased to welcome you back... More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

You can park outside on the road if you want to take a risk we parked in the hotel no lift to ground floor so we humped our luggage up and not very user friendly to drop off /pick up your luggage at the extra cost. Hotel is modern and soulless reception ok but wanted to sell us extra shut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACHotelGavaMar, Dept. Quality at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Doreen W, First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our AC Hotel Gavà Mar for your last stay. We appreciate your opinion and we regret if you didn’t enjoyed of our property during your recent stay. We are disappointed to know that our stylish and modern hotel, our parking service, the main access to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

While this is close to the airport, it is a minimum 20 euro cab ride and the hotel does not offer an airport shuttle, which is disappointing to have to spend that amount of money for a 10 minute ride. We have Marriott status and had to ask for free access to the internet. Unfortunately, the internet did not end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ACHotelGavaMar, Guest Relations Manager at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Elyse R, I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments during your stay. In reference to the shuttle service we are sorry but we don't have this kind of service. We know that the airport it's so close to the hotel but the charge it's between 20€-25€ per taxi because the taxis has an extra charge... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I won't say that the hotel is terrible but I experienced few issues which turned my experience to a negative (hotel should understand that small things are important and matters). The service is terrible. The staff are inattentive and sometimes even rude e.g. upon check in the lady at the reception was picking up the phone and talking instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Dept at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Evgeniya, At the AC Hotel Gavà Mar, we strive to improve our level of service with every guest. Our guests are the most precious value. We regret for not having had an additional support to attend phone calls upon you arrival and give you an exclusive attention. We do apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you. We... More 

colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

On our way home and this was a very nice stop before flying out in the morning. Free parking on the street. Nice rooms with great beds. The king bedroom was very spacious Reception at front desk very good as well. Would certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Dept at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear ladymn, It is great to know that our nice and comfortable rooms have turned your stay into a pleasant surprise . We would like to welcome you back very soon, and invite you to enjoy our beautiful location and facilities! Regards, Quality Dept More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Do not expect to get the wifi woeking normally. Second time staying there and again most of customers have difficulties to have proper internet connection. Not good when on business trip....at least not at mariott standard...

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Dept at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear David, Thanks for your comments. During your recent stay we did experienced a technical problem with the internet connection. This issue was properly reported to the technical assistance service and solved. We regret the inconvenience this might have caused you. We hope you could visit us again in a very near future. Regards, Quality Dept. More 

Bailly, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Nice staff at check in. Good room service. This said, by the time I am ready to hit bed, I come to find sand and hairs in the the bed's sheet! The room is in a similar shape with dust and sand. I reported this issue to the front desk staff the next morning who promised that the manager will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Dept. at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bourgignon, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the AC Hotel Gavà Mar. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort... More 

Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

I love love love this hotel! So much so that I returned here at the end of my month-long visit to Barcelona. Try to get one of the second floor ocean view rooms! The sea is right outside, and within hours of being here my body is already synced up with the tides. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Although its attiring architecture, pool and location in a stylish upscale neighborhood on the seashore, service is veeeery poor, with an unpleasant attitude. Only one person at the frontdesk, one at the bar. Rin the bell to be assisted.wifi under payment in a business hotel? No spa facilities (two minutes walking luxurious health club with no agreement) for a vacation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ACHotelGavaMar, Quality Dept at AC Hotel Gava Mar by Marriott, responded to this review

Dear Joandeu, We would like to thank you for having taken a few minutes to mention the AC Hotel Gavà Mar. We appreciate that your family had enjoyed our great location and facilities and we take note and we thank you for all your comments, it help us to improve every day. We take this opportunity to inform you that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay