We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hipstel

Hotel website
Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hipstel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hipstel
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    269
    163
    69
    38
    23
See reviews for
10
34
194
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (562)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (146)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Campagnano di Roma, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hostel was clean, atmosphere was great the staff were extremely helpful. I would recommend it for people who want to visit Barcelona for a reasonable price. Great staff, nice and clean, fantastic location for the central areas. Would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Margarita B Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was alright as far as they go, but there were a few key things we were disappointed with: first of all, the Wi-Fi is terrible. They use social Wi-Fi which requires you to check in every time you use your phone, and it's also incredibly slow- you can't use it for anything other than basic email checking. Forget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

FALSE ADVERTISING This hostel listed a kitchen under ammenities and while there is a great kitchen there's also a sign telling you you're not allowed to cook in it. What. Also terrible wifi that makes you sign in with Facebook. Apart from that great showers/washrooms, beautiful common area, power plugs by all beds, friendly reception. Would recommend overall but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I remember first arriving thinking it was nice and cool. Very open. Then I got to my dorm room on the second floor. It was a closet. So dark, so cramped, no air, window blocked, couldn't even use the ladder to the bunk bed cause it was all so badly planned. Broken fluorescent lights in the ceiling.. I stayed less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Fred B, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to the hipstel for 5 nights last week and had a brilliant time. The staff are arguably the best part, but closely followed by the beautiful terrace and the great social life held by the hostel. The staff are almost like backpackers themselves and they socialise in their time not working with the other people at the hostel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Fred B Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In an old building near the metro and 10min walk from plaza de cataluña, where the buses from/to airport stops. The rooms and comum areas are realy confortable and nifty! Din´t like the shared bathrrons and showers, it was not separated man/woman, not confortable to have a shower and get dressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Priscila-Marcondes, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came for two nights at the Hipstel hostel after a big festival in barcelona. We had an amazing stay at the hostel, the staff greeted us very nicely, very clean place free coffee and it's a big plus. Travelers are also very friendly and nice and generally the hostel has a very homely atmosphere. The staff always helped us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear 283guyk, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is amazing . I stayed in Hipstel last october and that vacation was my best one in my life . Stuff were very friendly and helpfull. Location is perfect u can go everywhere by walking. Also the hostel is really clean . Looking forward to book a new holiday there :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Gokce A, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We came here with no expectations and it was incredible. Surprises everywhere. Beer pong every Saturday. Cheap dinner for 5 euros excellent dishes. Awesome people and staff. The best of all is that it is coated perfectly near every important site of barcelona

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Alejandro M Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The main problem was the renovation been carried out at the moment. Noise, non-functional bathrooms, open ceilings, etc. I also have hit my head on the entrance door [which becomes a small hole after some time in the afternoon], and fell down in the stairs when I was coming from the 1st floor [I suggested putting anti-slippery bands]. Not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Eixample

Neighborhood Profile
Eixample
Passing through the glorious Plaça Catalunya, you enter the newer city district of Eixample, literally translated as “extension,” which immediately becomes recognizable by its more spacious streets and elegant atmosphere. The main artery of this sizable district, Passeig de Gracia, is lined with high-end international designer stores. Not to be outdone, the glitz and glamour of this zone is perhaps best exemplified by the comfortable and lavish five-star hotels that flank the divine and modernistic buildings from some of the world’s most recognized architects such as Gaudi and Montaner.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay