We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hipstel

Hotel website
Valencia 266 | Carrer de Valencia, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hipstel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hipstel
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    159
    66
    38
    23
See reviews for
10
34
189
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (550)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (135)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came here with no expectations and it was incredible. Surprises everywhere. Beer pong every Saturday. Cheap dinner for 5 euros excellent dishes. Awesome people and staff. The best of all is that it is coated perfectly near every important site of barcelona

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The main problem was the renovation been carried out at the moment. Noise, non-functional bathrooms, open ceilings, etc. I also have hit my head on the entrance door [which becomes a small hole after some time in the afternoon], and fell down in the stairs when I was coming from the 1st floor [I suggested putting anti-slippery bands]. Not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three nights of simplicity. Doom-styled living in the heart of Barcelona. Walk-able distance from the beaches and popular tourist attractions. Young people work here so it was a little hectic at check-in but the atmosphere was chill from the moment I walked in. Wi-Fi is good, primarily works in the common areas which aren't that big but the couches are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria M Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at Hipstel for 2 nights and receptions were really friendly and kind! Located in he center of Barcelona and easy access to many monuments:))) Rooms are clean and stayers were mostly travelers from foreign countries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Ryanryushu, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So the place has good marketing, "travellers with style", fancy website and everything, but the service is not so special, you can find the same or better for 10 euros less a night. The WIFI only works next to the reception, and its very slow. The breakfest is 3 euros, (in most hostels its 1 or 1.5), and nothing special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic hostal. Good facilities. I went to Barcelona for business and I met at the Hipstel nice people from all around the world. The environment is super international. I love to meet people from other countries and to speak with them about everything and the Hipstel offers you that opportunity without any doubt. The roommates are fantastic and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear davidss208 Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to... More 

Nordhausen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The Hipstel is one of the best hostels I've ever been to - and I've travelled a lot around the world... It has an awesome atmosphere and it feels like coming home! I really like ur style of making it cosy and welcoming. :) See u again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Maris47, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back to... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I booked this hostel all excited. It looked hip, great location close to beach. I am a youngish single lady travelling with my baby. Most places are cool with that. We have stayed in hostels worldwide. I booked us a quadruple dorm room..I was promptly sent an email telling me I wouldn't be comfortable ,no cots .did I not read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JuanchitoVazquez, Gerente at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear lorna o, thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with us Unfortunately, our intentions were misunderstood When we emailed you, the idea was to provide you with more information than the one you can see online. We did not know your backround, we definitely did not know that you have travelled with your baby around the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I loved the decor of this place, it was comfortable and travellers needs were well considered. A few cons - The place is not exactly sound proof - take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. In addition the login to Facebook free wifi service was frustrating and could be really slow / not function at peak times. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Megan H, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Nice atmosphere and very friendly and helpfull staff. i loved the most the location, which is in a quieter area but still close to many attractions and the centre within walking distance.i also enjoyed thd free guide tour that was starting from thd hostel anc it was giving a nice historical and cultural indighg of yhe city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hipstel H, Front Office Manager at The Hipstel, responded to this review

Dear Niovi P, Thank you very much for your kind review, this is truly rewarding. Be sure that we will keep going on this track. If you have any remark, complain or suggestion, please don´t hesitate and tell us. It was a real pleasure to host you; you will always be welcome at The Hipstel! If you ever come back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Eixample

Neighborhood Profile
Eixample
Passing through the glorious Plaça Catalunya, you enter the newer city district of Eixample, literally translated as “extension,” which immediately becomes recognizable by its more spacious streets and elegant atmosphere. The main artery of this sizable district, Passeig de Gracia, is lined with high-end international designer stores. Not to be outdone, the glitz and glamour of this zone is perhaps best exemplified by the comfortable and lavish five-star hotels that flank the divine and modernistic buildings from some of the world’s most recognized architects such as Gaudi and Montaner.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities