We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Atenea Mar

Hotel website
Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Review This Hotel

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    302
    103
    34
    24
See reviews for
109
223
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (158)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions while in Barcelona for work. It is on the Beach, with great views, not in the city centre but I find Barcelona a very easy city to navigate and the hotel staff are very helpful if you have any enquiries. Buffet breakfast is simple but good & have had dinner a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Merrk Just wanted to thank you for your kind words, I´m happy that we are your first choice in Barcelona. We will be working on improvements on breakfast, if you have any suggestions please just send them to me, I´ll be glad to run them over with the restaurant staff and chef. If I can be of any help... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 2 rooms for 4 nights to take my mother on a short break. The idea being so she could relax with a sea view. The hotel web site says "Discover these magnificent deluxe rooms on the top floor of the hotel with incredible sea views" next to a photo of a room with floor to ceiling windows. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear ExecD2015 I am very sorry that the Barceló Atenea Mar was not the type of hotel that you were looking for. As you mentioned on your remarks I offered you the rate that you would have paid for if booking a room on the lower floors without moving you rooms, that was the difference. I apologize for the mistake... More 

Mashad, Iran
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

clean rooms,very nice beach,good breakfast,nice staff,clean beds in good sized rooms,location is a little bit far from city center and tourism attractions,but near the hotel is a shopping center with restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Mirsalman, Just wanted to thank you for remarks on your last stay at the Barceló Atenea Mar. I´m sorry we can have it all, good view of the sea close to the beach and in the city center, but anyway we are happy to be close to the beach. On the Street just at the back of the hotel,... More 

Ostrava
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I spent 4 nights in this hotel. Hotel has on the one hand very good location just across a street to the beach, but on the other hand - the street a front of the hotel was very noisy. Check in was without any problem, room was used, but clean. Air condition didn't work, bed was uncomfortable - older. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear JuliusO I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, and the views just in front of the beach, not very usual for a city hotel. Regarding the beds, I am so sorry that you found them not very comfortable, we actually are putting in some new ones, and I hope on your next visit you will feel the... More 

Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Great location right on beach but still in Barcelona.we had a very nice room with sea views.very comfortable huge bed.hotel nice and clean.the staff were all very obliging.nice breakfast buffet the waitress got me an omelette each morning.a short walk to metro or tram which take you anywhere in Barcelona.9.95 euros for 10 tickets.a really nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Hobson692 I am so glad that you had a good time in the hotel and that we managed to achieve your expectations. Barcelona is a lovely city and the area of the hotel in front of the beach is wonderful, and as you say just a step away from the busy city center. Please contact me direct if I... More 

Thatcham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

nice hotel, sea facing, all facilities and cheap enough, close to most businesses in a quite area, restaurant service poor but in the other hand the bar tender was very good. Overall a nice enough place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear cry70 I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time and your remarks. I will be looking in to the restaurant service as you mentioned, if you have any more details please send them to me direct. Also I will be forwarding to the Bar staff your compliments on their service, thank you. Please... More 

Atenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This is 2015 and this hotel can only set the A/C to either heat or cool for THE WHOLE HOTEL, I mean seriously, I felt it was 1960. Anyways, if you go during winter pick the lateral rooms or the rooms facing the city instead of the beach, otherwise the sun will heat your room so much combined with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo N I would like to thank you for your remarks on the hotel and helping us improve our services. I am glad to tell you that we have already contracted a second connecting of bandwidth and have spoken to the company that supplies our wifi connection and things seem to be much better. Once more I thank you... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. I must state up front that I was booked in here by my company and they have a policy of only using certain hotels and the others closer to the city were all full but it is a solid €25 one way in a taxi to Barcelona and the guts of €40 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Heaven Having a good remark from a senior critic like you is something we can be proud of, thank you very much. I suppose that if you are on business and your meetings are on the other side of town this is not the best location, you must come back on holiday and enjoy the beach just in... More 

Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

this is a good place to stay for few days.... I stayed there w/ my girlfriend and I have really appreciated my stay at this place. The whole crew is very opened except the lady at the restaurant (morning) that is very unpleasant... Now, breakfast is very good and substantial. About accommodation, this is close to the underground and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Sebastien C I am glad to say that we will be doing small changes in the rooms this year, so hopefully you will notice on your next visit. I also have spoken to the girl at breakfast as you mentioned it. I am sorry that she has not an extrovert personality and can come across as unpleasant at time;... More 

London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Generally a good modern and clean hotel. Would normally rate higher, but there's a problem with the air conditioning. Reception explained that the system is either set to cool or heat the rooms, and because it's winter it is currently set to heat. That sounds logical but we really struggled to keep the temperature at a comfortable level on sunny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear JBLALondon Happy New Year and thank you for your review on your last stay. I am sorry to read about your bad experience with the A/C in the room, and I’m sorry that this is the motive for not rating the hotel higher points. Actually having 90% of the rooms facing the sea with spectacular views has its inconveniences... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

459 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Suite (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question