We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Atenea Mar

Hotel website
Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    309
    109
    38
    25
See reviews for
112
231
29
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (652)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff is very helpful and professional, and there are like 4or5 per guest. The breakfast buffet is totally worth the 12 euros. I think it was a lil pricey, but I treated myself for the last part of my trip, I usually stay at hostels. It is right across the street from the beach and the metro is 10min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pasco, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We unexpectedly had 3 extra days in Barcelona before getting on our cruise and needed to find a room quickly. Came upon this hotel online and it was perfect! Had a 9th floor room facing the sea. Enjoyed the view! Staff was very helpful. Arrived early and was able to stow our luggage so we could get out and walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Startchr Just wanted to thank you for your remarks, I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a good cruise and looking forward to welcoming you back to Barcelona and the Atenea Mar. If I can be of any assistance in the future please just send me an email. Best Regards Michael Cleaver Hotel Manager More 

Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Stayed here for a week at the end of Feb/beginning of March for Mobile World Congress. Was put in a room on 8th floor facing the ocean -- so great view and the windows open to allow fresh air in! The room was nice and unlike other European hotels, the king bed was a single bed, not two twins pushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear brendonla Thank you for the review, I am happy that you stayed in our district a second time, in my opinion it´s the best place to be, away from the crowded city center and close to the beach and the sea but as you mentioned just a short way to the city sights. I really think you cannot enjoy... More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a City Break. Its location on the seafront is it's greatest attribute. Service was mixed. It is spectacularly ordinary in that its everything you want from a hotel but it lacks the "Wow" factor. Check-in was smooth but unfortunately our room was too warm for us. The air con... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear TitanicSnowdonia I´m sorry to read that despite enjoying your stay, you were not impressed enough to return. But I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your remarks, that we have shared with the staff in order to improve our services, we are constantly working on small improvements because as you mentioned “there are so many... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions while in Barcelona for work. It is on the Beach, with great views, not in the city centre but I find Barcelona a very easy city to navigate and the hotel staff are very helpful if you have any enquiries. Buffet breakfast is simple but good & have had dinner a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Merrk Just wanted to thank you for your kind words, I´m happy that we are your first choice in Barcelona. We will be working on improvements on breakfast, if you have any suggestions please just send them to me, I´ll be glad to run them over with the restaurant staff and chef. If I can be of any help... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I booked 2 rooms for 4 nights to take my mother on a short break. The idea being so she could relax with a sea view. The hotel web site says "Discover these magnificent deluxe rooms on the top floor of the hotel with incredible sea views" next to a photo of a room with floor to ceiling windows. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear ExecD2015 I am very sorry that the Barceló Atenea Mar was not the type of hotel that you were looking for. As you mentioned on your remarks I offered you the rate that you would have paid for if booking a room on the lower floors without moving you rooms, that was the difference. I apologize for the mistake... More 

Mashhad, Iran
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

clean rooms,very nice beach,good breakfast,nice staff,clean beds in good sized rooms,location is a little bit far from city center and tourism attractions,but near the hotel is a shopping center with restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Mirsalman, Just wanted to thank you for remarks on your last stay at the Barceló Atenea Mar. I´m sorry we can have it all, good view of the sea close to the beach and in the city center, but anyway we are happy to be close to the beach. On the Street just at the back of the hotel,... More 

Ostrava
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I spent 4 nights in this hotel. Hotel has on the one hand very good location just across a street to the beach, but on the other hand - the street a front of the hotel was very noisy. Check in was without any problem, room was used, but clean. Air condition didn't work, bed was uncomfortable - older. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear JuliusO I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, and the views just in front of the beach, not very usual for a city hotel. Regarding the beds, I am so sorry that you found them not very comfortable, we actually are putting in some new ones, and I hope on your next visit you will feel the... More 

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Great location right on beach but still in Barcelona.we had a very nice room with sea views.very comfortable huge bed.hotel nice and clean.the staff were all very obliging.nice breakfast buffet the waitress got me an omelette each morning.a short walk to metro or tram which take you anywhere in Barcelona.9.95 euros for 10 tickets.a really nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Hobson692 I am so glad that you had a good time in the hotel and that we managed to achieve your expectations. Barcelona is a lovely city and the area of the hotel in front of the beach is wonderful, and as you say just a step away from the busy city center. Please contact me direct if I... More 

Thatcham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

nice hotel, sea facing, all facilities and cheap enough, close to most businesses in a quite area, restaurant service poor but in the other hand the bar tender was very good. Overall a nice enough place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear cry70 I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time and your remarks. I will be looking in to the restaurant service as you mentioned, if you have any more details please send them to me direct. Also I will be forwarding to the Bar staff your compliments on their service, thank you. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

465 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (191)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Suite (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay