We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Atenea Mar

4.0 of 5 Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Hotel website
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    296
    103
    33
    24
See reviews for
108
220
27
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (617)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Ostrava
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars NEW

I spent 4 nights in this hotel. Hotel has on the one hand very good location just across a street to the beach, but on the other hand - the street a front of the hotel was very noisy. Check in was without any problem, room was used, but clean. Air condition didn't work, bed was uncomfortable - older. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear JuliusO I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, and the views just in front of the beach, not very usual for a city hotel. Regarding the beds, I am so sorry that you found them not very comfortable, we actually are putting in some new ones, and I hope on your next visit you will feel the... More 

Interested in Barcelona?
Get deals, advice and ideas on what to do.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location right on beach but still in Barcelona.we had a very nice room with sea views.very comfortable huge bed.hotel nice and clean.the staff were all very obliging.nice breakfast buffet the waitress got me an omelette each morning.a short walk to metro or tram which take you anywhere in Barcelona.9.95 euros for 10 tickets.a really nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Hobson692 I am so glad that you had a good time in the hotel and that we managed to achieve your expectations. Barcelona is a lovely city and the area of the hotel in front of the beach is wonderful, and as you say just a step away from the busy city center. Please contact me direct if I... More 

Thatcham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice hotel, sea facing, all facilities and cheap enough, close to most businesses in a quite area, restaurant service poor but in the other hand the bar tender was very good. Overall a nice enough place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear cry70 I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time and your remarks. I will be looking in to the restaurant service as you mentioned, if you have any more details please send them to me direct. Also I will be forwarding to the Bar staff your compliments on their service, thank you. Please... More 

Atenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is 2015 and this hotel can only set the A/C to either heat or cool for THE WHOLE HOTEL, I mean seriously, I felt it was 1960. Anyways, if you go during winter pick the lateral rooms or the rooms facing the city instead of the beach, otherwise the sun will heat your room so much combined with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Ricardo N I would like to thank you for your remarks on the hotel and helping us improve our services. I am glad to tell you that we have already contracted a second connecting of bandwidth and have spoken to the company that supplies our wifi connection and things seem to be much better. Once more I thank you... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. I must state up front that I was booked in here by my company and they have a policy of only using certain hotels and the others closer to the city were all full but it is a solid €25 one way in a taxi to Barcelona and the guts of €40 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Heaven Having a good remark from a senior critic like you is something we can be proud of, thank you very much. I suppose that if you are on business and your meetings are on the other side of town this is not the best location, you must come back on holiday and enjoy the beach just in... More 

Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

this is a good place to stay for few days.... I stayed there w/ my girlfriend and I have really appreciated my stay at this place. The whole crew is very opened except the lady at the restaurant (morning) that is very unpleasant... Now, breakfast is very good and substantial. About accommodation, this is close to the underground and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Sebastien C I am glad to say that we will be doing small changes in the rooms this year, so hopefully you will notice on your next visit. I also have spoken to the girl at breakfast as you mentioned it. I am sorry that she has not an extrovert personality and can come across as unpleasant at time;... More 

London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Generally a good modern and clean hotel. Would normally rate higher, but there's a problem with the air conditioning. Reception explained that the system is either set to cool or heat the rooms, and because it's winter it is currently set to heat. That sounds logical but we really struggled to keep the temperature at a comfortable level on sunny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear JBLALondon Happy New Year and thank you for your review on your last stay. I am sorry to read about your bad experience with the A/C in the room, and I’m sorry that this is the motive for not rating the hotel higher points. Actually having 90% of the rooms facing the sea with spectacular views has its inconveniences... More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon in 2011. Fantastic location, we were able to walk to the beach and back. There are a lot of restaurants and bars on the same street. Getting a taxi into town or out towards the marina is very easy. Clean and comfortable, can't ask for much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Archer84 Been directly in front of the sea is an advantage when in a big city like Barcelona. I´m happy you had a good time in our hotel and I hope to welcome you back soon. Best Regards Michael Cleaver Hotel Manager More 

Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We were definitely satisfied with all the service in this hotel. Everything was clean, helpful emmploees and very tasty food. It is a bit far from the subway but very close to the see instead, so we had very beautiful view on the sea.

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear 309jirinas I am so glad that enjoyed your stay at the Barceló Atenea Mar, and thank you for posting your remarks. If I can be of any help in the future please contact me direct, it will be my pleasure to welcome you back personally Best Regards Michael Cleaver Hotel Manager More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I checked out of this hotel earlier today after staying four nights for a business trip. I chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of the conference center, and I got a great price on an ocean-view room. I arrived around 9:45am assuming I'd have to wait hours for my room. The staff was very polite and gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca G Thank you for taking your time in posting your comments of your last stay at the Atenea Mar. I am glad you managed to enjoy at least some of our services like the restaurant and gym, despite your bad experience in the room. Regarding the two notices we put in all rooms, we realized along the years... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Barcelo Atenea Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Atenea Mar

Address: Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Atenea Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Atenea Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Atenea Mar Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Atenea Mar
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Atenea Mar Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona

458 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Suite (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay