We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Atenea Mar

Hotel website
Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Barcelo Atenea Mar
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    177
    313
    110
    40
    25
See reviews for
115
233
31
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (665)
  • Mar-May only
    (183)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
NY, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was in town for a convention, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The beach is right outside(5 minute walk across the street, but you cant stay any closer). Hotel has a nice lobby and great staff. I enjoyed the electric bike rentals the hotel offers and is a great way to see the city. My room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great value for money, a very short walk to the beach and a short metro ride from the city centre. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. The rooms were clean and nicely presented. I felt very safe at this hotel. The buffet breakfast was very good and catered to a wide range of tastes. I would recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Ruth J Thank you so much for your remarks I will certainly pass them on to all the staff. If you do return to Barcelona please just send me an email it will be my pleasure to assist you with your reservation. I hope you like our new decor and terrace with pool on your next stay, should be... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip and prior to my trip I read reviews on this site, some good and some not so good. For me the hotel is in a perfect location, close to the beach and also easy access to get into the city. It takes about 20 minutes to get to and from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Tracey H I am so glad you found the Barceló Atenea Mar a perfect location for your business visit and now that the sun is out and the beach just in front it gets even better. I hope I can welcome you back son, please just send me an email if I can be of any help Thank you... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in front of the beach but still in Barcelona, at 4 km distance from the center. You can make a short walk to metro or tram which take you anywhere in Barcelona. While it is not a primary tourist area, it is very safe. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, king bed was a single bed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Salma S How nice it is to receive good remarks on our breakfast and also location, thank you very much. We have been working on the breakfast buffet and our guest do appreciate it. The location is not something we can change and we are very happy to be in front of the beach. Barcelona has improved very much... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decent location. Not in the heart of the city centre, but not very far away either. About 10 minute walk to the nearest metro. Good view of the beach. Breakfast was alright. Room was decent. No complaints. Would recommend it to people who want to stay slightly out of the city centre and stay closer to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear TraveldiariesHR Thank you for your remarks on your last stay at the Barceló Atenea Mar, I´m glad you had a good time in Barcelona and in the hotel. As you correctly mentioned we are not in the middle of the busy and noisy city center, but on the sea front and about 20 minutes from the Paseo de Gracia... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The staff is very helpful and professional, and there are like 4or5 per guest. The breakfast buffet is totally worth the 12 euros. I think it was a lil pricey, but I treated myself for the last part of my trip, I usually stay at hostels. It is right across the street from the beach and the metro is 10min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Kevin J Just a short note to thank you for your remarks in Tripadvsor, I´m happy you enjoyed your stay. I´ll make sure all our staff receives your comments. If you do decide to return to Barcelona please send me an email direct it will be my pleasure to assist you with reservations Best Regards Michael Cleaver More 

Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We unexpectedly had 3 extra days in Barcelona before getting on our cruise and needed to find a room quickly. Came upon this hotel online and it was perfect! Had a 9th floor room facing the sea. Enjoyed the view! Staff was very helpful. Arrived early and was able to stow our luggage so we could get out and walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Startchr Just wanted to thank you for your remarks, I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a good cruise and looking forward to welcoming you back to Barcelona and the Atenea Mar. If I can be of any assistance in the future please just send me an email. Best Regards Michael Cleaver Hotel Manager More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Stayed here for a week at the end of Feb/beginning of March for Mobile World Congress. Was put in a room on 8th floor facing the ocean -- so great view and the windows open to allow fresh air in! The room was nice and unlike other European hotels, the king bed was a single bed, not two twins pushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear brendonla Thank you for the review, I am happy that you stayed in our district a second time, in my opinion it´s the best place to be, away from the crowded city center and close to the beach and the sea but as you mentioned just a short way to the city sights. I really think you cannot enjoy... More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a City Break. Its location on the seafront is it's greatest attribute. Service was mixed. It is spectacularly ordinary in that its everything you want from a hotel but it lacks the "Wow" factor. Check-in was smooth but unfortunately our room was too warm for us. The air con... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear TitanicSnowdonia I´m sorry to read that despite enjoying your stay, you were not impressed enough to return. But I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your remarks, that we have shared with the staff in order to improve our services, we are constantly working on small improvements because as you mentioned “there are so many... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions while in Barcelona for work. It is on the Beach, with great views, not in the city centre but I find Barcelona a very easy city to navigate and the hotel staff are very helpful if you have any enquiries. Buffet breakfast is simple but good & have had dinner a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director A, Director General at Barcelo Atenea Mar, responded to this review

Dear Merrk Just wanted to thank you for your kind words, I´m happy that we are your first choice in Barcelona. We will be working on improvements on breakfast, if you have any suggestions please just send them to me, I´ll be glad to run them over with the restaurant staff and chef. If I can be of any help... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

471 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (197)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
Suite (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay