We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Itaca Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Ripoll 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Itaca Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Itaca Hostel
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    99
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
67
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent hostel - everything was clean, the beds were comfortable if a little hard to get into (we stayed in the 6 person mixed dorm which had plenty of space and a balcony). Relaxed vibe and helpful staff. Cool communal areas with balconies. The lockers were superb (had a little shelf for your phone etc which had a power socket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Love, love, loved this hostel. Very close to everything. Just walk out the door and there are tons of things to do. The staff were wonderful! They were extremely helpful and friendly. Staff would go out of their way to make sure you had what you needed. The place is kept very clean. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Estavayer-le-Lac, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in a family room (4beds). That was really clean, quiet and secure. Well localised, right in the middle of the old town. The appartement was quiet we just saw other people in the morning. The breakfast was included. That was simple but good! The personal is really friendly. The price was correct! I recommand that Youthhostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is great, you only have to walk 30 sec for the first bar, 1 min to the first cathedral, and 5 min to the beach. The hostel is nice, clean, the workers can speak english. They were glad to answer any questions. Thx guys :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The perfect location to stay in barcelona. Walking distance to many landmarks, metro and bus lines. You can get back to your room from anywhere in the city at any hour with little effort. Free wifi, your own toilet (in the twin room) w/ hair drayer and towels . Everything is clean enough. Friendly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

This hostel was amazing. It is well located right next to the cathedral, a short walk from the aerobus and metro stations, and has lots of food and nightlife nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful and easy to get along with. The main reception area was under renovation when I stayed there so I can't speak for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We liked the look of the private rooms and booked that for a cheap stay in Barcelona. But beware, the private rooms are in completely separate building 5 minutes walk away. There are 3 rooms in one apartment. The bathroom smelt of chlorine very strongly due to poor ventilation. Secondly the guests staying in the other rooms were smoking indoors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BarcelonaItaca, Manager at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconveniences during your stay in the private Beates rooms. We didn't know anything about smoker guests inside the room. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at this hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast is cereal and toast and the tea and coffee is available all day. Location is amazing, so close to the cathedral. We were able to walk most places. Showers were hot and facilities clean. We stayed in the twin which was nice, my only complaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarcelonaItaca, Manager at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for the review! Very glad :) That's true our location is great for visiting Barcelona just walking!! More 

Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I felt very comfortable in the welcoming athmosphere, especially with the reception placed in the kitchen due to construction. Very cosy we sat every night together, sharing a bottle of nice spanish Rioja. We got all the information for food, trains, busses from the receptionists. And sleeping was comfortable in the nice beds.I liked the electricity in the lockers, that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarcelonaItaca, Manager at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great review Judy! That's a pleasure for us to enjoy your time with you and the great bottles of Rioja!! Itaca is your home in Barcelona!! More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

we just came back from there! we were four frinds from lausanne! it was the first time in bacrlona for all of us! we have loved it! the hostel is really pretty and clean! amazing ambience!! super cheap! good breakfast and they are super nice to give informations about place to visit and where eat!!! for sure we will go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarcelonaItaca, Manager at Itaca Hostel, responded to this review

We feel really glad to read you review Elettra!! Itaca is your home in Barcelona! Hope to see you again guys!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighborhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighborhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities