We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 520 Barcelona hotels

Tryp Barcelona Apolo

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (El Poble Sec)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Tryp Barcelona Apolo

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
70%
Ranked #231 of 520 hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

1,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    718
    338
    113
    57
See reviews for
231
558
46
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am currently staying at this hotel. Location is good, close to La Rambla and metro is underneath. No member of staff offered to help my 5 yr old son, mother and I to our room with 2 suitcases. Room very noisy on first floor facing the busy road, but clean and comfy. Breakfast very good and great selection. Disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 2 main points I would like to raise are as follows. 1. I asked for coffee/tea facilities in the room. When I checked in they told me this would cost 6Euros per day. I paid up front and they tray arrived in the afternoon there was only enough to make 2 cups ie 2 milks. I went to reception... More

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear Fred W, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and providing us with such a useful feedback. Please note that thanks to your comments we have already taken measures and improved our contracted Kettle service in rooms! We can see that your check out time coincided with many other guest’s check out...and please accept our apologies since the... More

United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I start? I consider myself someone that can oversee flaws and imperfections, but this hotel was a mess. After a long check-in process with a clerk who looked as though he'd rather be anywhere else in the world than at work, I was given a third floor hotel room on the west side of the hotel. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear granviajerodelmunudo, So sorry to hear your experience has not been as satisfactory as you expected and as we want it to be. We failed this time and this allows us to think over and prevent other travelers to have the same perception as you. We hope we have the pleasure to receive you back and show you how the... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a quite dreadful hotel and best avoided. The rooms (and during the course of my three night stay I was given four before I settled on the one I ended up attempting to sleepi in) are noisy owing to a combination of street noise, engine rooms, proximity to the metro, being above the hotel kitchen and being directly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear Tuckster3, We are so sorry to receive such an unfortunate feedback. We understand that being at the center might make you perceive the activity of the city and we are sorry that meant an inconvenience for your stay. You mention in your review you were locked out of your room but, as it sometimes happen when any guests miss... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two ladies on a girls long weekend break, staying at TRYP Apolo from 29/3/14 to 1/4/14. The hotel is in a fantastic location, 10 minute walk to Las Rambles and 15 minutes to the port. We arrived early at the hotel and our room was made available to us at 11am, which was fantastic for us, however, may not always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear auds01, Great to read your review! We are happy to know you and your friends spent a great time during your girl’s weekend! It is always fulfilling for us to know you spent a great time in Barcelona. Can’t wait to receive you back and share a new unforgettable experience! Warm regards, E-Guest Experience Manager More

Arundel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Tryp Apolo was a good value choice for our weekend in Barcelona. We found it reasonably convenient to get to, via the Aerobus from Barcelona airport and then the Para-lel metro station which is right outside. The hotel's location was also fine for walking across to La Rambla and it is easy and quick to get to Sagrada Familia... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear Peltt, Thank you for sharing your experience with the world! We see that you had the time to visit the really “must see” places in Barcelona and that makes us really happy! If you ever plan to come back please do not hesitate to let us know in advanced, our “experts in the city” will prepare a huge list... More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well located if you want to explore the Ramblas and the port area of Barcelona. It is a short walk to the port cable car. The hotel breakfast is excellent, and well worth selecting if you have the option. There is a good mix of hot and cold options, plenty of fruit and a nice selection of... More

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear SimonBunn, Your comments are really useful for us and we take good note of each one of them. We will really appreciate if you can contact us via email (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com) and inform us a little more about your stay and room since, according to your comments TV and hair drier are not in a good status and we cannot... More

UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms a little dated; excellent check in; Why do hotels have such a painful wi-fi signup experience? Good location - 10 minutes to La Rambla, 20 to Plaça de Catalunya. Woken up by the cleaners every morning! Overall for the money no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear bimeycharlie, Thank you for sharing your experience after your stay with us. While we are happy to know you enjoyed the check in process as well as location, we are sorry that WiFi and staff noise avoided you to have a 5 star experience; these two points are concerning for us and please rest assured that our team is... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in Dec 13. Clean hotel, average business stay type rooms. Everything was provided, but very basic service (eg no separate shampoo , you only had shower gel provided.). The hotel is above a popular late night theatre/events venue & on show nights it tended to be noisy and noise came through the floor if you were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear ShariSek, We are so happy to have your feedback after your stay. If definitely encourages us to keep on doing our best and improve day after day! Your comments in regards to our Breakfast Quality really concern us since our brand standards are really strict and exigent in terms of quality; as you can read in other guest’s reviews... More

Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the hotel in March 2014. The weather was pleasant and the hotel acted as a very good base for our sight seeing long weekend. The hotel is clean, friendly and provides all basics if you need somewhere that you won't need to be spending all too much time in. The only disappointment is that we booked a double... More

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review

Dear Alice Elisabeth A, Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed a sunny Barcelona and that you keep now a positive memory of your stay with us. Please be back soon, because TRYP loves YOU! Warm regards, E-Guest Experience Manager More

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Las Ramblas(32)
  • Metro station(21)
  • Great location(5)
  • Very nice(5)
  • Front desk staff(4)
  • Breakfast buffet(4)
  • Right outside(3)
  • Very clean(3)
  • Star hotel(3)

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#178 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Melia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Barcelona Apolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tryp Barcelona Apolo to your Saves list