We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Colonial Barcelona

Via Laietana, 3, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Panoramas (5)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a 4-night stay at the Colonial Hotel. This was 2 nights longer than had first planned (due to a cancelled flight) but was happy to stay for the extra 2 nights. Hotel location is excellent, on a main street between the Marina and Gothic Quarter, loads to see and do within walking distance. Decor is modern and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neal W
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Neal, Thank you very much for taking your time to express your opinion in this medium. It is a pleasure to receive opinions like yours. They motivate us to continue improving day by day. We regret that the issue of the metro has not left you to have a perfect stay. Hope again very soon in our hotel.... More 

tel aviv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice tourist hotel in the edge of the gothic center and near the main marina of Barcelona.the room was nice but the breakfast was not special. It is a short walking from the main restaurant area and the rambles.

Helpful?
Thank yaariran
Elisabet R, Atención al cliente at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we regret not having met their expectations for breakfast, take note. We hope to accommodate you again in our hotel in the future. Elisabet Robles.Department Customer Service. More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay there during business trip through next 4 nights. I was in the standard room which was ok, clean not to small. I have view on the courtyard so it was nothing special. If i opened the window i heard talking people and feel smoke of cigarettes. Because of that i didn't opened the windows. Air conditioning works OK... More 

Helpful?
Thank Czarek C
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Czarek, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Elia Buen Customer Service More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Hotel room was nice but very dark felt like we were getting dressed in the dark every morning! Breakfast was really poor for a 4 star hotel, bar was shut most of the time because it was under staffed which resulted us in going to the supermarket most of the time to buy our own drinks / snacks. The location... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
Elisabet R, Atención al cliente at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

We appreciate your time to write your impressions. We regret not having met your expectations as far as breakfast is buffet with a variety of hot and cold foods. It is true that the schedule of Bar is limited but have vending machines for drinks and food at the hotel. Elisabet Robles. Department Customer Service. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

We've enjoyed a good night and fabulous day in a lovely setting, now waiting to see in the year of 2016 with a really festive vibe. This hotel has nice and spacial rooms in a great setting, with friendly staff and nice facilities. I would just like a kettle with tea and coffee facilities in the room. There is, however,... More 

Helpful?
Thank NDPryor
Elisabet R, Atención al cliente at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, all suggestions are welcome to improve and continue to offer good value for money. We hope to accommodate you again in our hotel in the future. Elisabet Robles. Department customer Service. More 

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Booked this little beauty for the weekend and what a great decision it was....I'm no hotel connoisseur but this place was perfect for a city break. Clean room.....soft bed....modern clean bathroom....and very quiet. Didn't try the breakfast as wanted to eat out but judging by how nice this place was I'm sure it would of been great. If you come... More 

Helpful?
Thank crushedmint
Elisabet R, Atención al cliente at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we hope to return and stay at our hotel in the future. Elisabet Robles. Department Customer Service. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Staff were helpful and polite. Rooms are modern and fully equipped and location is superb. I wasn't happy with the room they provided at the beginning and they put everything from their side to provide a better option. Personal and friendly treatment. Breakfast could be better, but still enjoyable. Would definitely recommend it!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank 413mariami
Elisabet R, Atención al cliente at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we take note of your suggestion, help us improve. We hope to accommodate you again in our hotel in the future. Elisabet Robles. Department customer Service. More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at about 2AM and were disappointed to find no water in the room. Having not been to mainland Spain before, I wasn't sure if we could drink the water (I Googled, it's fine). Considering this hotel is rated 4 star, I thought that not providing water was poor. We were directed to the vending machines... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaceyJane83
Elisabet R, Atención al cliente at Hotel Colonial Barcelona, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, all suggestions are welcome to improve and continue to offer good value for money. We do not have many double rooms, so it's likely that we did not have, sorry for the inconvenience. Our staff in return gave him a room with a view. Elisabet Robles. Department Customer Service. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

486 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (302)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Room (49)
Viewed
Double Room (Alternate Layout) (48)
Viewed
Matrimonial Room (65)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#230 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#437 of 519 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#89 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Medinaceli
Medinaceli
#323 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#105 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#15 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighborhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighborhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay