We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Puerto de la Cruz hotels

Gran Hotel El Tope

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada de Martianez, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel El Tope to your Saves list
Gran Hotel El Tope
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
73%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    174
    61
    30
    13
See reviews for
36
198
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read some of the previous reviews, we booked a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise from the public areas and the feral chickens in the adjacent barranco. We'd previously stayed in the Apartments Casablanca next door so we already knew how loud those birds can be...and how much of a climb it is from the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having read recent reviews we were a bit worried about this holiday & our fears seemed to be concerned when we arrived & were given the wrong sort of room. We had booked a corner superior room with wraparound balcony but were given a room with terrace & no privacy. The man on reception didn't want to help but a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you ever so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We want to apologize for the issue on your arrival and any incoveniences caused. We are grateful for your kind words regarding the staff, the service and our buffet. It was a pleasure having you here with us and hopefully we will be able... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are just preparing to leave this lovely hotel and both feel very sad. We have had a wonderful 12days and although it's our 7th visit, we are looking forward to returning. We found the hotel very comfortable..our room was clean and the views from our balcony were beautiful,especially in the early morning when snow capped Mt Teidi was visible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you ever so much for this wonderful review! It was delightful to read that you were fully satisfied with your room, our restaurant and our service. Your kind words to our staff are most appreciated and will be shared with our team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for... More

sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read some previous bad reviews, I am not sure that we stayed in the same hotel! The El Tope we stayed in was very comfortable. The room was excellent, very big with a wonderful, huge balcony furnished with lovely loungers and views of both Mt Teide and the sea. This is a superior feature view room on first floor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, it was delightful to read you found our hotel comfortable and your room excellent! To hear that you fully enjoyed your stay, felt comfortable with us and were satisfied with our service is the highest praise for us. Thank you for your advice regarding the evening buffet. We are always trying to improve our services. We are grateful... More

Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was our first visit to Tenerife and this hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were extremely well turned out with crisp white shirts and nothing was too much trouble for them, likewise the chamber maids. We both slept very well indeed (room 122) because it was so quiet despite being in a busy area of the town. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KatiPelka, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are grateful for your positive review in regards to your recent stay with us. It was delightful to read you found our hotel spotless clean and were satisfied with both our breakfast and evening buffet quality. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Tenerife. Best wishes, El Tope... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Where do I begin? First of all, some people complained about the location but the walk up the steps didn't bother me, neither did the fact that the hotel had German TV channels as I speak German anyway, plus I don't go on holiday to watch telly. I paid overoccupancy for a double room and was given an awful single... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guest, first of all thank you for taking the time to write the review. It was not our intention at all to insult your intelligence when saying that we are fully booked. The winter months are the busy season in Tenerife and we are fortunately fully booked since the end of last year. We are sorry to hear of... More

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the El Tope. (returned Thursday 6/3/14), Described as a 4* hotel, we would rate this at best a 3*. The staff were courteous, however there was a definite bias towards German clientele. There was not even a British flag in evidence outside the hotel! The weather was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for your review in regards to your recent stay with us. First of all we want to point out that guests of all nationalities are most welcome in our hotel. We apologize for the lack of english TV channels but all BBC television and radio channels switched satellites meaning that we were no longer... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited this hotel during the first two weeks of February 2014 having not visited Northern Tenerife for some years. A lot of previous reviews make reference to the place being 'tired', with some threadbare bits of carpet and bathroom taps and the likes which were wobbly. Well, it's true but shouldn't spoil your stay. The good things are spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KatiPelka, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for your detailed report. We are happy to hear that all in all you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you also for the positive mentioning of our reception and pool staff. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding our buffet and that it will prevent you from coming... More

Moenchengladbach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We wanted somewhere warm, comfortable and reasonably priced for a week of winter sun. This was going to be a week doing very little except relaxing so we didn't really mind where it was. We chose Tenerife and the El Tope having given our requirements to a travel agent. We got pretty much what we asked for.  The hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of some circumstances you were not too happy about. It is true that the south of Tenerife in general is warmer and less windy but the north on the other hand is much... More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We are a couple in our late 20's and stayed at the hotel for a week. We paid about £500 for our half board stay, and felt that this was too much, we would have been happier to pay £400 and that would have been good value. Is this hotel worthy of the 4 stars? I think it's clinging on,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
KatiPelka, Public Relations Manager at Gran Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you ever so much for taking the time to write the detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you felt comfortable in your room and enjoyed your stay in our wonderful Puerto de la Cruz. Thank you for your advice regarding the bins at the pool. We hope to be able to welcoming you again... More

Been to Gran Hotel El Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel El Tope

Also Known As:
Gran Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz
Address: Calzada de Martianez, 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel El Tope 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel.The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martíanez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martíanez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar.Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimmingpool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Gran Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel El Tope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.