We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Alcaravaneras

2.0 of 5 Luis Antunez 22, 35006 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Alcaravaneras
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostal Alcaravaneras
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

When I arrived to hostel it was middle of the night and there was no personnel in the hostel. As the owner of the hostel mentioned it before my arrival via e-mail, I found my key on the door, the room was clean and furnished modestly with a balcony. During my stay, I've never noticed any personnel there and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, su opinión nos ayuda a mejorar. More

Zgornji Duplek
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything was ok, but maybe it's a bit to noisy - from the street. Room was clean, also the bathroom. WiFi worked perfectly. The owner was not here, so we payed to the cleaning lady, which had access to reception (which is in 2. floor). Hostel is open all the time, so there is no problem when you are coming,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión. La recepción tiene un horario, y para cualquier cosa fuera de ese horario contactamos con... More

Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed in July in a single ensuite. The room was small, but clean. There was no window, just a vent. Had to wait half an hour upon arrival for the receptionist since the reception (a room on the second floor, they don't have a separate desk) is almost always closed. Payment upon arrival, no refund. There is a kitchen upstairs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión. Todas las habitaciones del Hostal tienen ventanas, bien para la calle o para un patio interior.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

All in all, it was ok. Good price and clean common bathroom. Good position but at night it can be pretty noisy. You can easily reach the Playa de las Canteras and the Parque Santa Catalina. On the fourth floor, there is a small common kitchen which is unfortunately not fully equipped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, su opinión nos ayuda a mejorar. En cuanto a la falta de utensilios en la cocina desde que... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Due to a delayed flight, I had to find accomodation late and quickly. Through Internet I found this place, that seemed to fit my immediate needs. However, I checked out as soon as possible in the morning, with the hope never to have to return. The bed I got was awful, the room not very clean, and the other guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review

Thank you very much, your feedback helps us improve. My apologize for your wating in your check in. the reception is not 24 hours so we give to all the guest a front door´s key. More

Malaga
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

-Reception is closed most of the time. So new comers and unexpected people were ringing all the time and it was very annoying -The rooms are not daily cleaned, but every 3 days -Flexibility : Payment on arrival : most hostels request payment on checkout and no refund policy -Wifi bad signal -The furniture (night table was broken) -Noisy streets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión. La recepción del hostal tiene un horario y si necesita algo fuera de ese horario se... More

London
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed there for one week in March 2011. That`s true, that they give key from main door and reception doesn`t wokr all the time. Room was ok. Clean. But i don`t know about other rooms. The hostal is about 15 min walk from main beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, su opinión nos ayuda a mejorar. More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I Stayed in this Hostal only one night and everything was quite ok besides me getting a bed bugs bites from that one night. That ruined my whole trip! Not sure how clean this hostal must be. Also there is only one shower on the floor with about 4 rooms or more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión. En cuanto al tema de los chinches, los trajo consigo otro huésped y desde que tuvimos... More

The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I had a confirmed booking and prepaid part of it via Hostelworld. The reception was closed and remained so during my waiting of 3 hours. Locals told me that this happened moreoften: the hostal overbooks, gives every guest a key of the frontdoor and then close the reception. Hostelworld did not react to my complaint and claim.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion. the reception is not 24 hours but we let everybody knows a phone number for if you need something when the reception is closed. More

Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed in February-2011 for 1 week. "+": price (19/night), closeness to the centre (ca 10 min walk from a rather safe area, I'd say), small but personal room, clean shared bathroom, WC and kitchen, very kind staff. "-": noise from the streets as the road's just near by. Don't remember if there was blanket in the room or not, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HAlcaravaneras, Gerente at Hostal Alcaravaneras, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion. Yes all rooms have blanket ( and like in your case if you need another we give it you ). There is wifi in all the Hostel so probably when you was here there was a problem with it. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostal Alcaravaneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcaravaneras

Address: Luis Antunez 22, 35006 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alcaravaneras 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Alcaravaneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcaravaneras Gran Canaria/Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay