We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Bilbao

#4 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Melia Bilbao
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    379
    133
    25
    13
See reviews for
195
546
29
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1137)
  • Mar-May only
    (243)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (369)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (287)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (238)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bilbao is a fabulous city, and the hotel is a perfect location although Five Star it is not. The facilities are insufficient for the capacity (two small lifts, a swimming pool too small to swim in and a lounge area that was overcrowded). In fact, even the number of staff was small, leading to long queues at Reception and for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Economypl, Thank you so much for your comments, moreover for taking the time in sharing your Experience. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan. Be sure all the staff members... More 

La Rioja, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I live in La Rioja and fly in and out of Bilbao's airport. My husband and I decided to stay here for a night before an early flight. The room rate was a good value for a king bed, nice bathroom and use of the sauna/pool (note on a chilly day, the pool is heated, but getting in and out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tmb523, Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Bilbao! We are glad to know that you enjoyed our products and services and we apologize if you found any kind of inconvenience during your stay. We always take into consideration all the remarks of our guest due to the fact that they are... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is well located in the city. it is very close to Guggenheim Museum which is 5 minute distance. also its just near river. you can just walk to the old city by the river. Regarding hotel quality, It is NOT real five star hotel! the room is specious but some amenities were missing!!. breakfast was OK. it could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Uuroner, Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our Meliá Bilbao Hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit. We are sorry for not having reached your expectations and for the inconvenience you found. Regarding the amenities in the bathroom, all the rooms are provided with all the necessary products for a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights on 18/04/2015 until 20/04/2015 apart from the 40 minutes waiting for the check-in " yes 40 minutes" we had a good time! Like others have said,the rooms at this property need an upgrade if they want to keep calling themselves a 5 star. The ceiling and walls were full of cracks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. JJPassos, Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Bilbao! On the one hand, we would like to thank you for the positive comments about the products and services you enjoyed. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the inconvenients you found during your stay. Do not hesitate that we... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an absolutely charming city! My friend and I decided to visit, without any real expectations, but we were VERY pleasantly surprised. The people are lovely. The central part of the town is primarily beautiful. The Guggenheim Museum is worth the visit alone... Peggy would be very proud. We only came for a cheeky weekend trip, but I think I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Darren C, Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment and in this way to share with other TripAdvisor's users about your recent experience in Meliá Bilbao. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great room, slightly let down by some poor finishing in the bathroom (a part of the sink top had become detached and water-logged). Also made the mistake of thinking that a "Double" room would have a double bed, whereas in fact it was a twin (hint: in Spain, what we call a "Double" is referred to as a "Matrimonio". Otherwise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Patrick R, Thank you very much for your comments, moreover for taking the time in sharing your Experience. We are haooy to know that, in the end, you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We will take good notice af all your impressions to try... More 

Bologna, Italia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent just one night in the hotel for business. Excellent location in a beautiful setting. The welcoming at the reception is OK maybe not of a 5 star. Rooms are large and well equipped with a balcony overlooking the park..too bad it was not accesible for works being done on the outside of the hotel. Breakfast selection was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. patriBolo, Thank you so much for your comments, moreover for taking the time in sharing your Experience. We are glad no know that your stay was nice, and we are really sorry for not having reached your expectations at all and for the inconvenience you could find. Do not doubt that we take seriously all the comments and... More 

Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Get reservations for Museum ahead of time and you are set. The hotel has a great location, is comfortable, with nice views easy walk to the museum or ride by electric car which can also take you to old town. also easy walk to excellent restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. DocG35, Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it and that you made sure our guests are the most important for us, so as the excellence in service. It would be a pleasure for all the Melia team to welcome you back... More 

Rowayton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Located centrally in the modern sector, it is a ten minute walk to Guggenheim, and even closer to Museo de Bellas Artes. There are many wonderful attributes to the hotel, an excellent breakfast buffet, a very nice bar/tapas area, and, if weather is nice, indoor-outdoor seating for meals and drinks. The lobby area invites groups to congregate, but the open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Oystertra, Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your impressions about our Meliá Bilbao Hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit. We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed. However, we are sorry if during your stay with us you could find... More 

Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The Melia Bilbao is located in the modern part of the city, within walking distance to the Guggenheim and just a few steps from the river promenade. Like its surroundings, it is modern and spacious. Rooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants whose cuisine is satisfactory. Its Front Desk personnel were always gracious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GEXBilbao, Guest Experience at Melia Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Raul J., Thank you very much for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Bilbao. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

718 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (306)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Business Suite (35)
Viewed
Gran Premium Room (29)
Viewed
Gran Suite (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Premium Room (30)
Viewed
Premium Room 10th floor (34)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Standard Melia (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question