We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Abando

Colon de Larreategui 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Hotel amenities
Hotel Abando
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sebluemoon Dallas, Texas
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    134
    69
    23
    3
See reviews for
27
101
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a good location. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to The Bilbao Guggenheim and about a 10 minute walk to the old city. The hotel is quiet, the rooms very clean, the front desk helpful and the breakfast delicious! Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

£85 a night includes a fabulous breakfast and gives this high quality hotel a highly deserved 4 Star rating for somewhere special to stay. I'm sure such good quality hotels would be much more expensive in the UK. The Abando hotel is situated in the centre of Bilbao, yet is well sound-proofed so you should have a peaceful stay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Hotel Abando is in the centre of Bilbao and as they have updated the rooms I find it a very attractive place to stay. Good size rooms and very nice new bathrooms with a good shower. Staff very helpful and the price good so I can fully recommend the hotel. I love the bars and restaurants in Bilbao so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My wife and I have stayed at the Abando on a number of occasions when visiting Bilbao so I guess that is recommendation enough. It is very well located inside the new town but within easy walking to the the old town. It's also close to the Abando train station, the underground metro and the airport bus stop. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The hotel was selected for being in the centre with parking otherwise the overnight stay was marred by a noisy night. The hotel was for me an average "business" hotel with little atmosphere. Despite it being fiesta time in Bilbao the noise that interrupted my sleep came from general background noise in adjoining rooms and the corridor. We ate breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We will take them in to account for our continuous improvement process. Best Regards, More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in the heart of the City close proximity to shops, restaurant, local attractions and the old town. Checkin was quick and easy. Only thing which we didn't like was the carpet in the room wad stained and made entrance look shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. They will be very useful for our continuous improvement process. Best regards, More 

Prades, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Superbly located for visiting all the major places in Bilbao. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation for the price we paid. For breakfast we passed on the regular buffet offer, which we found too much in quantity & price. However we did go for the Express Breakfast, which is served in the bar area and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again. Best Regards, More 

Ramsau, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

For business I stayed in the Hotel Abando twice in end of 2013. My first stay was in a tiny room at one of the higher floors. It was very dark, i.e. the interior decor is dark itself as well as only few daylight rays were able to enter the room through the small window. Opening the window was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
85 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Hotel Abando. The location is ideal for exploring the historical center of Bilbao. There are lots of bars, restaurants, and cafes in the area. The single rooms are a decent size and well-appointed. The WiFi is free and fast. It was a great value. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Abando, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bilbao. We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your comments show us how to improve our services. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Beautiful art deco hotel for 70 €! Well appointed rooms and helpful staff. Pass on the buffet breakfast for 15 € as there are lovely cafes all around with more character and lots cheaper. Easy Walking distance to the Guggenheim (amazing and only reason I went to Bilbao). Only complaint is the outside noise level. Loud and goes late. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Abando, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bilbao. We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your comments show us how to improve our services. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question