We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Bilbao hotels

Hotel Abando

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colon de Larreategui 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain (Abando)
Hotel amenities
Hotel Abando
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abando to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
mikeonthemovenl London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    127
    66
    21
    3
See reviews for
25
97
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was selected for being in the centre with parking otherwise the overnight stay was marred by a noisy night. The hotel was for me an average "business" hotel with little atmosphere. Despite it being fiesta time in Bilbao the noise that interrupted my sleep came from general background noise in adjoining rooms and the corridor. We ate breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We will take them in to account for our continuous improvement process. Best Regards, More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in the heart of the City close proximity to shops, restaurant, local attractions and the old town. Checkin was quick and easy. Only thing which we didn't like was the carpet in the room wad stained and made entrance look shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. They will be very useful for our continuous improvement process. Best regards, More 

Prades, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Superbly located for visiting all the major places in Bilbao. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation for the price we paid. For breakfast we passed on the regular buffet offer, which we found too much in quantity & price. However we did go for the Express Breakfast, which is served in the bar area and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again. Best Regards, More 

Ramsau, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

For business I stayed in the Hotel Abando twice in end of 2013. My first stay was in a tiny room at one of the higher floors. It was very dark, i.e. the interior decor is dark itself as well as only few daylight rays were able to enter the room through the small window. Opening the window was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
76 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Hotel Abando. The location is ideal for exploring the historical center of Bilbao. There are lots of bars, restaurants, and cafes in the area. The single rooms are a decent size and well-appointed. The WiFi is free and fast. It was a great value. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Abando, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bilbao. We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your comments show us how to improve our services. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Beautiful art deco hotel for 70 €! Well appointed rooms and helpful staff. Pass on the buffet breakfast for 15 € as there are lovely cafes all around with more character and lots cheaper. Easy Walking distance to the Guggenheim (amazing and only reason I went to Bilbao). Only complaint is the outside noise level. Loud and goes late. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Abando, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bilbao. We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your comments show us how to improve our services. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We happened to be in Bilbao for the FIBA basketball world cup. This was not really planned, but once we figured out why the hotel prices in the city were so high, we decided to join the fray and get tickets. When we were in town, the US played Finland--or better the US played with Finland. A one-sided game, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The customer service is really lacking when the front desk guy(Fernando) ignores you when u want to check in. He also felt the need to tell us it was IMPOSSIBLE to get bull fight tickets and discouraged us from even trying or giving us info when it turned out we could order them online or by phone, and the event... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed for one night here and it was perfectly adequate for what we needed. The room was spacious and clean and there was a large en-suite bathroom with toiletries. Safe underground parking and friendly staff made this a good choice. Location was good too, close to Bilbao old town, bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were only in Bilbao for 1 night, mainly to visit the Guggenheim museum, so wanted something comfortable but not too pricey. The hotel package came with entrance to the museum and on arrival the reception manager managed to find us a quiet room with good facilities. The hotel is only 10 minutes' walk from the museum and central for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Abando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abando

Address: Colon de Larreategui 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao > Abando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abando 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Hotel Bilbao
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay