We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Abando

Colon de Larreategui 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Hotel amenities
Hotel Abando
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
FOSheye Parma, Italy
Add Your Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    131
    67
    23
    3
See reviews for
26
99
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Abando is in the centre of Bilbao and as they have updated the rooms I find it a very attractive place to stay. Good size rooms and very nice new bathrooms with a good shower. Staff very helpful and the price good so I can fully recommend the hotel. I love the bars and restaurants in Bilbao so I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

My wife and I have stayed at the Abando on a number of occasions when visiting Bilbao so I guess that is recommendation enough. It is very well located inside the new town but within easy walking to the the old town. It's also close to the Abando train station, the underground metro and the airport bus stop. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The hotel was selected for being in the centre with parking otherwise the overnight stay was marred by a noisy night. The hotel was for me an average "business" hotel with little atmosphere. Despite it being fiesta time in Bilbao the noise that interrupted my sleep came from general background noise in adjoining rooms and the corridor. We ate breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We will take them in to account for our continuous improvement process. Best Regards, More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in the heart of the City close proximity to shops, restaurant, local attractions and the old town. Checkin was quick and easy. Only thing which we didn't like was the carpet in the room wad stained and made entrance look shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. They will be very useful for our continuous improvement process. Best regards, More 

Prades, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Superbly located for visiting all the major places in Bilbao. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation for the price we paid. For breakfast we passed on the regular buffet offer, which we found too much in quantity & price. However we did go for the Express Breakfast, which is served in the bar area and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again. Best Regards, More 

Ramsau, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

For business I stayed in the Hotel Abando twice in end of 2013. My first stay was in a tiny room at one of the higher floors. It was very dark, i.e. the interior decor is dark itself as well as only few daylight rays were able to enter the room through the small window. Opening the window was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
82 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Hotel Abando. The location is ideal for exploring the historical center of Bilbao. There are lots of bars, restaurants, and cafes in the area. The single rooms are a decent size and well-appointed. The WiFi is free and fast. It was a great value. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Abando, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bilbao. We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your comments show us how to improve our services. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Beautiful art deco hotel for 70 €! Well appointed rooms and helpful staff. Pass on the buffet breakfast for 15 € as there are lovely cafes all around with more character and lots cheaper. Easy Walking distance to the Guggenheim (amazing and only reason I went to Bilbao). Only complaint is the outside noise level. Loud and goes late. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Abando, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Bilbao. We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us because your comments show us how to improve our services. We all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
102 hotel reviews
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We happened to be in Bilbao for the FIBA basketball world cup. This was not really planned, but once we figured out why the hotel prices in the city were so high, we decided to join the fray and get tickets. When we were in town, the US played Finland--or better the US played with Finland. A one-sided game, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SilviaVO, Director of Sales at Hotel Abando, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The customer service is really lacking when the front desk guy(Fernando) ignores you when u want to check in. He also felt the need to tell us it was IMPOSSIBLE to get bull fight tickets and discouraged us from even trying or giving us info when it turned out we could order them online or by phone, and the event... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question