We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Avenida Zumalacarregui, 40, 48006 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hotel Avenida)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    137
    73
    33
    22
See reviews for
41
134
20
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel advertises services it does not offer. Mini bar, bath tub etc. Service is horrible, workers have no trainning at all in hospitality so expect to get very angry. THEY SEEM TO BE RECRUITED FROM THE LOCAL OPEN AIR MARKET. For example, the recepcionist JOSE IGNASIO refused to speak to me in my native language ( english). He insisted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIBILBAO, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks you for making your reservation in Holiday Inn Bilbao. We apologize for all the inconveniences at the beginning of your stay. After the conversation with our Accomodation Manager, we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay. Sincerely, Silvia Palazuelos, Manager More 

Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
65 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located about a subway stop from old town, or a 15-20 minute walk up/down a steep hill. Lobby is big and looks great, but room is fairly ordinary. Parking is not free, and fairly expensive. There isn't much around the hotel, so your best options for food is to go to the old town. Internet is limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Attentive staff, I liked reform lobby since my last visit to the hotel, always help me with what I need. Pay access to the gym to relax after the hard days of work and the Metropolitan Club is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Great hotel, just 5min walk from metro and transport to all Bilbao attractions. Great bar and breakfast and friendly staff to support you during your stay. Ask for the gym faciliteit, in the same building. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

At the same time as a colleague, I stayed for a night last week, and from the start I would have marked the Hotel as 'Excellent'. It was clean, spacious, fulfilled all my needs, and yes the Internet was a little slow, but useable. However, the next morning I sampled breakfast, and it was atrocious and the worst I've had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Maxcaddy, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I had a short holiday at this hotel few years ago I really love the atmosfer and friendly looking stuff and lovely views plus a good restaurant and I'm thinking to go there this summer again to reapit the good memories I had

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The choice and quality of food in the hotel is average but eatable. The bar and facilities downstairs are quite good. The staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is quite expensive for a hotel which is away from the town center. But the underground stops just round the corner and is a quick, easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear dalcras N, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, facilities and location of the hotel. I am sorry that the features of your room... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Weekend break in Bilbao - lovely little city. The Holiday Inn is actually quite nice, modern and 'fresh'. Location is good, rooms comfortable, service very pleasant etc. The rate was decent, and would definitely stay again for the same sort of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I stayed here on the 3rd night of BOD-SCQ trip. Front staff is not so helpful when we were there. They repeated me for porter services charge which is not so nice conversation to customer, then I told her that it was already included in the voucher and thing was sort out. She also showed disappointment on her face when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

I chose this hotel due to its advertised proximity to the airport. As the bird flies it is under 5km. But my transportation is metal, not feather-clad, so the distance I traveled to reach the airport was almost three times that on a congested highway. I chose a superior room, which offered a slightly larger room at the furthest point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Amie L, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. It is very nice to know that you have liked our breakfast selection, and found our fitness center and pool up to your par. However, we regret that the room condition and the internet connection was a let down. Please accept our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question