We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Avenida Zumalacarregui, 40, 48006 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hotel Avenida)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    155
    85
    37
    24
See reviews for
53
150
22
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (387)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for three days during our stay in Bilbao and were pleased with the hotel. It is a modern hotel, very clean and has good service. We also had access to a pool which we used a lot. The location could have been better as it is a bit outside the city centre (approx 20 minutes walking). There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Honestly, we chose the hotel to get the points on our Holiday Inn account. It's reasonably priced, but we did not pay the really high price to include breakfast. There are no restaurants nearby, so we made do with a muffin that we bought at the bar. You have to pay for parking, but it is underground, so you feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great place to stay...clean ,comfortable with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Good shower, a kettle in the room and excellent a/c .It was a little out of the centre but we knew that when we booked. We felt the bonus of having an outdoor pool and sunbathing area outweighed the compromise on location. As it turned out the excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

A window that opens, with a view of soft light on the city below. A comfortable, big bed. Modern decor. Everything well-designed. Helpful people at the front desk. Reasonable prices. Why wouldn't you like this? Tip if you stay: you can walk to the old city, but it's a very steep walk. The sensible way back--which we learned *after* we'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at the Hotel in Tripadvisors. We are proud to know that you have been happy with us and enjoyed the city comfortably. Every day we work for our customers to keep a nice memory of our services, our facilities and our staff . It will be... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
256 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I was skeptical about staying at a Holiday Inn in such a fun and funky city, but I was proved wrong. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The outdoor pool was nice for a lap swim, though I do find it ridiculous that one has to pay to rent a towel to use there. A hotel of this quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It is very nice to know you have enjoyed our hotel and the services we also offer knowing that you were was skeptical and therefore we have exceeded your expectations, this makes us very happy. We will try to improve on those points that sets us and we carefully consider... More 

Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Recently stayed in this great hotal with our two little ones (2 and a half and 1). The room was more than spacious. Very modern and clean. The hotel is well located and easy to find. The staff are very profesional and friendly. The breakfast is great. Lots of variety and the cooked breakfast is spot on. The lady makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your opinion about the stay with your family at the hotel. It makes us very happy and helps us to keep working, to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality, the different Hotel services as the show cooking at breakfast time with the collaboration of our staff . It will be a pleasure to see... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The Hotel is ok, renewed. Rooms are correct and silent. You have an outdoor pool which is very useful if you have time to spend on it. It has a parking which is also useful if you are travelling with a car. 17€ for 1 day. A little bit expensive. The hotel is not in the city center but you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you to have spent your time to write your opinion about our Hotel. After a long work the hotel is completely renovated with new services that they make the hotel looks like an Urban Resort just one metro station to Old town and two metro stations to City center. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your... More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The hotel is modern and looks nice, and as the Melia Bilbao was fully booked, we opted to stay a night in Holiday Inn Bilbao. The receptionist spent several minutes in search of our bookings, and I showed the printout of the reservation. She went to consult with the manager, sitting in the back office, and on return told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Customer: Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor and also on the survey IHG. I regret the experienced situation in your arrival but the truth is that because of a technical mistake that we have not been able to solve yet, your reservation of two rooms was for the night of July 15th and not for the night... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

staff (what there was of them) were very polite and nice. Breakfast was not good at all,wished we had gone to local bar. The room nice but on opening the window which was floor to ceiling sliding doors it was a shear drop with no railings to stop you. Tea and coffee facilities (powdered milk ) Not nice. My partners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to write your impressions about our hotel. It would have been great if during your stay we would have reported problems so that the window should not be opened dangerously, only in a position from the bottom up as well as we could have checked the bed of your partners . I´m... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

On my third day I left the room at 10 a.m. I returned at 3p.m. (it was a Sunday) my room was not ready for the next 3 hours despite various promises that remained unfulfilled. It was then prepared badly.I was unable to rest that afternoon and was late for an appointment and tired and harassed by these problems. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silvia P, Gerente at Hotel Holiday Inn Bilbao, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Again I thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel on Tripadvisor. As I expressed in person and on my mail, we have taken note of all recommendations and service improvements that you pointed us to ensure that our customers have a comfortable stay that exceeds their expectations. Greetings S. Palazuelos, Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

488 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (255)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (49)
Viewed
Standard Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Twin (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
#5 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#11 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#4 of 41 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Hesperia Bilbao
#7 of 41 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay