We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens

Hotel website
Alte Zollstrasse 44 | Harrislee, 24955 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
33
60
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Denmark
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night on a deal including drinks, dinner and breakfast. The dinner was buffet but was quite OK. The food quality is good for a buffet. The drinks was free of choice (except fancy cocktails). The Breakfast was average and less interesting than many other German hotels breakfasts. The rooms are spacious, clean and well tempered. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear SkyDK, Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are very pleased that you had a good stay and look very much forward to welcoming you again. More 

London
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel seems to cater almost exclusively for Scandinavians stocking up with alcohol at German prices in the huge supermarket nextdoor. It's a large rather impersonal property which is clean, but beginning to show its age. Breakfast was a rugby scrum, which was dispiriting. The room was reasonably spacious, and the bathroom excellent. Altogether a rather bizarre experience - like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear boatmusdir, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel rooms are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, which will for sure solve the wear and tear issue of the decor you mentioned. During your stay, the hotel was quite frequented due to Easter vacation and this unfortunately resulted... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

First off the pictures off the hotel does not do it justice - it's very unappealing in person and looks like it needs a good clean. There was several staff at the reception, but only one of them seemed to be somewhat friendly. Especially the woman in charge was very arrogant and defensive and not helpful at all. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear FrkLilla, Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are very sorry, that you feel that we could not accommodate you according to your expectations, but would like to point you towards our “No Pets Allowed” policy, which we always follow for the greater good for all of our guests. We are happy that we could assist you... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

This hotel is convenient and has good leisure facilities. However the rooms are little dated. I have stayed at this hotel 2 times in the last 2 months, both times no the soap container in the bath was empty. Hotel could do with improving the rooms as they do look bit old and outdated. Restaurant menu could have more options... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear Balvinder, Thank you for your review of our Hotel and we are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay, despite a few hick-ups.. We apologise for the missing soap in the bathroom and we have notified the executive housekeeper about the issue and will take care of that this will not happen again. We are currently renewing the... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

My husband and I received a wedding gift which is a one night stay to a hotel and luckily this hotel is one of those we can choose. We travelled to Hamburg for a city tour and decided to stay the night in this hotel before we went back to Denmark the next day. It was an okay hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear laysme, thank you for your review of our hotel, we are happy that you had a good stay. More 

Haugesund, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The hotel is a bit outdated, however they have done some refurbish in the bathrooms. At least on the room that we had. The hotel kind of feels like a cheec 80´s hotel. But we loved the opportunity to use the pool, even if it was for a fee. The hotel is a bit out of the city, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear Rune, Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are glad you had a pleasant stay. More 

Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights, family of 4; We passed the reseption about 14 times during that period - not one smile!!! Even when we came at the first day, we was the first to say "hello",... no smile, nothing. Well, first we arrived at 1600, but the room was not ready, we waited 1 1/2 hour, and then we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albertslund, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, and it was ok - nothing special except the pool. It is large, it is clean and it is very nice and warm, both the indoor and the outdoor section. At a four star hotel I would expect a mini bar or a refrigerator, this is missing in the room. There is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sweden, Europe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights this summer and one night last year. Both times we booked the de luxe suite, a very large room just by the pool area. The room had a fire Place with strict orders how to use it. But there is no need for use of fire Place in the middle of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skien, Norway
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

+ clean and nice room. + good staff + quiet area ÷ rather expensive for a night of sleep ÷ the whole hotel looks like it's past its golden age. ÷ OK food, but wildly overpriced. All in all expensive if you only want to sleep and drive. I never looked at the pool area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
2:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question