We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens

Hotel website
Alte Zollstrasse 44 | Harrislee, 24955 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    77
    41
    15
    6
See reviews for
38
71
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a very short stay here as part of a drive to Spain. The room was quite nice, but for summer season its not great as there is no AC and no fan. The pool is great, a bit strange it has to be paid for by guests though. Staff friendly enough and offered coffee as we left the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed there at the end of May '15 on our way to Denmark. Might have been a nice place yet if it ever was it was a long time ago. No minibar, bathroom in our suite was o.k., yet no amenities there. Bathrope was there and fantastic on contrary to breakfast buffet. Energy saving lamps everywhere (8 Watt, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear Marti, Thank you for your comments. We are just now undergoing a major renovation of our rooms and parts of the hotel in general, that will give the hotel a more contemporary look. We strive to be as eco-friendly as possible therefor low energy light bulbs, but naturally you should be able to read by the light provided. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Flensburg hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Considering the price of around 1000 kr pr night you would expect it to be better than a 3 star hotel. Location is fine and the lobby and restaurant are really nice. The rooms however are totally rundown and outdated. It looks more like a motel and definitely not a 4 star hotel as they claim to be. The service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear Gitte Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in terms of the quality of the rooms. All hotel rooms are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, which was initiated 2 months ago and will continue until all have been renewed. We are sure this will solve the wear and... More 

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Stayed in the hotel in April 2015. Got a Deluxe Suite for a very good price. Overlooking the swimming pool, the play area, and the woods, a very spacious room with a nice balcony. Did not like the sofa and the chair - not very comfortable. Other than that room had nothing to complain about. Internet worked flawlessly. Never in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear ManishAggrawal, Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel. We are very pleased that you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you another time. More 

Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We stayed for one night on a deal including drinks, dinner and breakfast. The dinner was buffet but was quite OK. The food quality is good for a buffet. The drinks was free of choice (except fancy cocktails). The Breakfast was average and less interesting than many other German hotels breakfasts. The rooms are spacious, clean and well tempered. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear SkyDK, Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are very pleased that you had a good stay and look very much forward to welcoming you again. More 

London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The hotel seems to cater almost exclusively for Scandinavians stocking up with alcohol at German prices in the huge supermarket nextdoor. It's a large rather impersonal property which is clean, but beginning to show its age. Breakfast was a rugby scrum, which was dispiriting. The room was reasonably spacious, and the bathroom excellent. Altogether a rather bizarre experience - like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear boatmusdir, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel rooms are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, which will for sure solve the wear and tear issue of the decor you mentioned. During your stay, the hotel was quite frequented due to Easter vacation and this unfortunately resulted... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

First off the pictures off the hotel does not do it justice - it's very unappealing in person and looks like it needs a good clean. There was several staff at the reception, but only one of them seemed to be somewhat friendly. Especially the woman in charge was very arrogant and defensive and not helpful at all. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear FrkLilla, Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are very sorry, that you feel that we could not accommodate you according to your expectations, but would like to point you towards our “No Pets Allowed” policy, which we always follow for the greater good for all of our guests. We are happy that we could assist you... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

This hotel is convenient and has good leisure facilities. However the rooms are little dated. I have stayed at this hotel 2 times in the last 2 months, both times no the soap container in the bath was empty. Hotel could do with improving the rooms as they do look bit old and outdated. Restaurant menu could have more options... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear Balvinder, Thank you for your review of our Hotel and we are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay, despite a few hick-ups.. We apologise for the missing soap in the bathroom and we have notified the executive housekeeper about the issue and will take care of that this will not happen again. We are currently renewing the... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

My husband and I received a wedding gift which is a one night stay to a hotel and luckily this hotel is one of those we can choose. We travelled to Hamburg for a city tour and decided to stay the night in this hotel before we went back to Denmark the next day. It was an okay hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear laysme, thank you for your review of our hotel, we are happy that you had a good stay. More 

Haugesund, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The hotel is a bit outdated, however they have done some refurbish in the bathrooms. At least on the room that we had. The hotel kind of feels like a cheec 80´s hotel. But we loved the opportunity to use the pool, even if it was for a fee. The hotel is a bit out of the city, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelDesNordens, Marketing at BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens, responded to this review

Dear Rune, Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are glad you had a pleasant stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
2:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay