We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thelbridge Cross Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Thelbridge, Witheridge, Tiverton EX17 4SQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thelbridge Cross Inn
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Thelbridge Cross Inn
Thelbridge Cross Inn
Thelbridge Cross Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    21
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a Friday night table in restaurant for our family holiday. Very quiet when we arrived at 6pm. Ordered drinks and sat at our table. Ordered main meals and had a bit of a wait but were served hot fresh rolls just before mains arrived. Meals were very tasty and piping hot! Veg and potatoes were very nice as well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a eve meal as 2 families. The pub is traditional with lots of interesting artefacts adorning the walls. The food was excellent and the service friendly. We had a lovely evening and would definitely recommend this pub for families or couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely old-fashioned pub in a beautiful part of Devon. I mean old-fashioned in a nice way. We were visiting family who were staying on a nearby campsite & this pub was perfect. Our welcome was friendly & we even had an apology as the original key for our room had been taken by a previous resident so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

My sat nav Doris said down here this quiet country lane, then just around the corner stood this old English country public house, so majestic standing alone on the corner of this country cross roads, we park up and walk inside with low ceilings and open fireplace, their was no wall space to be found, just covered in bank notes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hello Graham, thank you for your great review! "Majestic" - we certainly like the sound of that! We look forward to welcoming you again next time you pass by our way. More 

Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Had overnight stop in car park for £5 in our motorhome, which was refunded against our meals. We had the roast dinners, which was beef, Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and 5 veg. Extra gravy was also brought in a jug. They offered 3 portion sizes small, normal and extra large, and they were excellent. Staff friendly and helpful Well done,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hi LynM, thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you may pass our way again in the future. More 

Claygate
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

2 nights We were going to a Birthday party In Sidmouth and wanted to spend 2 nights in a quiet Hotel with in striking distance. One of the reasons we chose this Hotel was because the lady owner was also the chef. As usual when we arrive we discovered that she was on holiday. Not to worry as the chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to see you again in the future. More 

Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Just come back from a lunch with friends at the Thelbridge Cross Inn. Good menu choice, delicious food, friendly and efficient service and very pleasant diningroom with comfortable chairs! Will definitely be returning having found this inn again after many years - we didn't realise what we had been missing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your Sunday Lunch with us. I'm glad that your experience was as positive as we try to provide. So pleased that you have re-discovered us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

This is quite an isolated pub/hotel about 5 miles from the village of Witheridge. The rooms were fine (nothing fancy), breakfast was good, food in the evening was quite average, staff were pleasant enough. The place was very quiet when I was there - definitely lacked atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! It's a shame to hear that there was a lack of atmosphere when you visited. We would love to be buzzing with customers all the time, but unfortunately in an isolated rural location like this, in a struggling pub industry, we do, I'm sad to say, have occasional quiet nights, although I would hope that our... More 

Duras, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

Arrived in cold damp weather late afternoon. How lovely! Small clean room with lovely bed and tea/coffee provided. The pub was so friendly and busy, the food was excellent and the staff excelled. We didn't stop to look at views the next morning because of rain but we will return to see them. It was the ideal place for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future, when we hope you might be luckier with the weather! More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

If I need I will complain, TV or the internet did not work. Someone came straight away, Duh, I was not using the TV correctly and the wifi was sorted very quickly. We loved this inn, the room was great as were the staff and the meals, go there you will not be disapointed. The regular rooms are quite small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thelbridge_Inn, Owner at Thelbridge Cross Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay, despite the initial teething problems! We do always strive to ensure that every guest goes away happy. Thank you for your review and we hope we may see you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witheridge
9.6 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tiverton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#2 of 4 in Witheridge
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
14.1 mi away
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
Brambles Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 30 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quoit-at-Cross
Quoit-at-Cross
#16 of 30 in Tiverton
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay