We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterCity Hotel Wuppertal

Doeppersberg 50, 42103 Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterCity Hotel Wuppertal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterCity Hotel Wuppertal
Add Photo

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    31
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
12
26
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on 7th June and yes it was a bit difficult to reach due to the nearby building works but on arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful , the hotel was well appointed and rooms spacious and clean . The breakfast was very good and we ate our evening meal in the hotels own restaurant and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Neil, thank you for taking the time to review the stay at hotel here at Tripadvisor. We appreciate the great feedback. It is very motivating for us to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and hope that you will have a similar good experience the next time you will be here. Looking forward to welcomi... More 

Renton, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is a mess. Very tough to get in and out by car or by foot. Rooms are still 1960s furniture. To make things worse, staff is very unprofessional and very Rude not a bit of friendliness. Breakfast is ok. I don't know how do they manage to survive. AVOIDE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Jack, thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to note it down. We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your, and our own expectations. We apologize sincerely for the unpleasant experience you had. Please be assured that this is not the manner in which we treat our guests. If you could provide... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wuppertal hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived Sat June 6th 2015 at station to find we were faced with an assault course to negotiate to get to hotel . In fact there is an easier way as we also found leaving hotel but it wasn`t signposted . The hotel is surrounded by a massive building site which will take some time to finish Hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Blackfive, thank you for your comments and for your stay in the InterCityHotel Wuppertal. We are pleased to hear that your overall opinion is satisfactory and your stay was pleasant. Unfortunately we have no influence both on the construction work outside and the signs in and around the main train station. We will however help you to find the... More 

cologne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

7 years ago my family arrived from America to stay at this hotel for my wedding to a Wuppertaler .To this day, it's been a great joke about the grouchy staff shouting at my family at the restaurant, where we tried to find the answer to the question "Where is the fish on the menu from?" The waiter was yelling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

My experience of this hotel was marred by the attitude of some (not all) of the staff. It is situated up a hill, and the building work made it difficult to access, it is however near Kluse station on the suspension railway, with lifts up, and not far from the mainline station. The single room was small and the wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Firstly if on foot there is a very simple footbridge from Platform 1 of Wuppertal station and despite the building site all around there was no significant noise. I had an excellent room on 6th floor which was faultless. Excellent bed and bathroom. Checkin and checkout was fine with helpful freindly staff. Updating the hotel has been carried out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear davyb1944, thank you very much for your feedback and for taking your time to note it down. It is really great and very motivating to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the services and quality offered. It would be great to welcome you back again soon! Best regards in the meanwhile, the team... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This hotel is conveniently located steps away from the main railway station (beware though: major construction works going on all around). The room was fine (just "fine" to sleep, you don't want to stay there for hours) and quiet and breakfast was a pleasant surprise, a lot of choice. If you want a meal, the "Arkaden" mall is 5min away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Jaime, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your commendations regarding our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the WiFi the reception is - as in many hotels - not equally well in every room, but in case of problems we will happily provide you... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Hotel is surrounded on three sides with large scale civil works, new roads, tunnels and buildings. Although difficult to find intially if new to the town, much easier on foot or by local taxi. Its very tricky now to find by car even for the locals, gps wont help either. Overall room tired and dated, the staff are great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Guest / Dear Django690, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay was overall satisfactory. It is true that the ways around the city centre are a bit tricky at the moment even for locals due to the closure of the main road near the station, but as you said,... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

A hard one to review. First, it's very hard to find. I was on foot and ended up having to sneak through the parking garage and several stairways. Eventually found a lift where someone told me I was heading in the right direction. Massive construction ongoing for the next 3 years at the railway station which seems to be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your fair and overall nice review. We are as well not really happy about the ongoing construction around the main station, but we do have the firm believe that - once it's finished - it will be worth the hassle everyone went through. As now the main road in Wuppertal is blocked by the construction,... More 

Molins de Rei, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I've stayed three nights in this hotel for business purpose. Situation is good, close to the city center. Breakfast is also good and staff is friendly. Rooms, as german average,poor, pillows are awful you need almost three to sleep in good conditions. Mattres very hard, don't expect to sleep very well. The most negative point was that heating was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your commendations regarding our staff and our breakfast. Regarding the pillows we have to admit that they are a little bit small for some guests, but we will happily provide you with as much as you need. Right now we are not sure what... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay