We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterCity Hotel Wuppertal

Doeppersberg 50, 42103 Wuppertal, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
InterCity Hotel Wuppertal
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    34
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
12
28
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Bothell, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading few unsatisfied customer reviews, I taught wait until you hear mine! May 22 when I was baking in the hotel garage, which is very awkward to get in and out. I hit unintentionally an air-condition unit which was situated awkwardly very low. I got out looked around and didn't see any scratch or damage on the air-condition or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We were passing through ermany and Wuppertal was in a good place. Intercity is perfectly placed in the city, but the are rebuilding the town center just next to the hotel. It's tricky to find the hotel parking. Hotel rooms are ok but just that. The breakfast was really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stayed here on 7th June and yes it was a bit difficult to reach due to the nearby building works but on arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful , the hotel was well appointed and rooms spacious and clean . The breakfast was very good and we ate our evening meal in the hotels own restaurant and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Neil, thank you for taking the time to review the stay at hotel here at Tripadvisor. We appreciate the great feedback. It is very motivating for us to see that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and hope that you will have a similar good experience the next time you will be here. Looking forward to welcomi... More 

Renton, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

The location is a mess. Very tough to get in and out by car or by foot. Rooms are still 1960s furniture. To make things worse, staff is very unprofessional and very Rude not a bit of friendliness. Breakfast is ok. I don't know how do they manage to survive. AVOIDE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Jack, thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to note it down. We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your, and our own expectations. We apologize sincerely for the unpleasant experience you had. Please be assured that this is not the manner in which we treat our guests. If you could provide... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wuppertal hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We arrived Sat June 6th 2015 at station to find we were faced with an assault course to negotiate to get to hotel . In fact there is an easier way as we also found leaving hotel but it wasn`t signposted . The hotel is surrounded by a massive building site which will take some time to finish Hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Blackfive, thank you for your comments and for your stay in the InterCityHotel Wuppertal. We are pleased to hear that your overall opinion is satisfactory and your stay was pleasant. Unfortunately we have no influence both on the construction work outside and the signs in and around the main train station. We will however help you to find the... More 

cologne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

7 years ago my family arrived from America to stay at this hotel for my wedding to a Wuppertaler .To this day, it's been a great joke about the grouchy staff shouting at my family at the restaurant, where we tried to find the answer to the question "Where is the fish on the menu from?" The waiter was yelling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Eli, Thank you very much for your lovely written review (I would call it entertaining even though it contains quite a lot of negative - but nonetheless fair - feedback). It is nice to hear that Wuppertal and our hotel in particular triggers such nostalgic feelings in your family ..... you can imagine my response spoken with the thickest... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

My experience of this hotel was marred by the attitude of some (not all) of the staff. It is situated up a hill, and the building work made it difficult to access, it is however near Kluse station on the suspension railway, with lifts up, and not far from the mainline station. The single room was small and the wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Pipes / Dear fredpipes, Firstly we would like to thank you for your review. I was stunned to hear how you were treated at the hotel bar especially as we are known for our friendly, open and supportative team. It might make sense sometimes to have a separate table for group guests, but it surely shouldn't result in... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Firstly if on foot there is a very simple footbridge from Platform 1 of Wuppertal station and despite the building site all around there was no significant noise. I had an excellent room on 6th floor which was faultless. Excellent bed and bathroom. Checkin and checkout was fine with helpful freindly staff. Updating the hotel has been carried out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear davyb1944, thank you very much for your feedback and for taking your time to note it down. It is really great and very motivating to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the services and quality offered. It would be great to welcome you back again soon! Best regards in the meanwhile, the team... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This hotel is conveniently located steps away from the main railway station (beware though: major construction works going on all around). The room was fine (just "fine" to sleep, you don't want to stay there for hours) and quiet and breakfast was a pleasant surprise, a lot of choice. If you want a meal, the "Arkaden" mall is 5min away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Jaime, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your commendations regarding our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the WiFi the reception is - as in many hotels - not equally well in every room, but in case of problems we will happily provide you... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Hotel is surrounded on three sides with large scale civil works, new roads, tunnels and buildings. Although difficult to find intially if new to the town, much easier on foot or by local taxi. Its very tricky now to find by car even for the locals, gps wont help either. Overall room tired and dated, the staff are great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCity Hotel Wuppertal, responded to this review

Dear Guest / Dear Django690, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay was overall satisfactory. It is true that the ways around the city centre are a bit tricky at the moment even for locals due to the closure of the main road near the station, but as you said,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuppertal hotels
Elberfeld-Mitte
Central-Hotel Wuppertal
Central-Hotel Wuppertal
#1 of 27 in Wuppertal
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Elberfeld-Mitte
Ibis Wuppertal
Ibis Wuppertal
#4 of 27 in Wuppertal
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Elberfeld-Mitte
Arcadia Hotel Wuppertal
Arcadia Hotel Wuppertal
#6 of 27 in Wuppertal
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elberfeld-Mitte
Arcade Hotel
Arcade Hotel
#3 of 27 in Wuppertal
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Elberfeld-Mitte
Hotel Astor Wuppertal
Hotel Astor Wuppertal
#7 of 27 in Wuppertal
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
McDreams Hotel
#2 of 27 in Wuppertal
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay