We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with AccorHotels.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

This is one basic Ibis hotel. Very good location, close Hbf, still on a quier streets that noice is no problem in the night. ( Ok there was a false fire alarm in the night we visited,but..) Good breakfast and our room was ok

Helpful?
Thank ClassicJPP
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. For the false fire alarm, we would like to apologize. Unfortunately a guest was pushing the fire detector for a joke. We... More 

Gelsenkirchen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We were very satisfied of our stay of two days. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The personal is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good. The hotel is close to the shops and the train station. An hotel to remember for next time.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert V
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Really shame that there is not air conditioning in rooms or fans, we spend one night here on very hot night and with open window which looking on busy high street we didn't get any sleep. Apart of this hotel is ok with good location. Oh yeah and parking is only one secure parking witch is around the corner from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lukasz J
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Deat Guest, thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay. Sure we... More 

Antony
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Close to railway station. Newly overhauled to the latest Ibis standard. Few restaurants closeby. One point to bare in mind when heat wave shows up, there is no air conditionning. Else I have a good night sleep every time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 284xavierr
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your friendly remarks are a great motivation tool! Sure, we do not have any air condition, but some fan for cooling are available on the reception. We are very much looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again to the Ibis... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

Descent hotel in good location. Usual Ibis style, cheap and cheerful Hotel clean, room adequate, bathroom a bit small. Hotel located in good location for train station and town centre Lots of bars, shops and restaurants nearby. No complaints

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

For under £40 per night I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, and this hotel proved basic but adequate for us as a base whilst we visited friends. The staff were friendly enough (although many spoke little English - my problem not theirs of course, but the hotel does advertise itself as having fluent English speakers, which is slightly misleading). I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cmlaw1709
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have coffee/ tea facilities in the rooms and the most of the time, we do have english speaking... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Good hotel, but nothing special for the price. Small rooms, pretty basic. The best thing about the hotel is that it's handy for the Veltsin Arena and Central Station. Breakfast was ok and the staff were nice and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mick P
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus zu bewerten. Wir freuen... More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for Chelsea's game against Schalke. Close to the Veltins arena, and the train station is 2 minutes walk away which is handy for travel. The hotel Itself is in the middle of the high street and is ideal for shopping. I booked here as it's an Ibis. And I got what I payed for. Above standard hotel. Clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheeseiniho
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located right beside the Hauptbahnhof (central rail station) where you can get a tram to the Veltins Arena or access to the airport. Room was spacious and clean. We had a room away from the train station so there was hardly any noise. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel but went to the back werk cafe/bakery... More 

Helpful?
Thank IrishmanAbroad89
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gelsenkirchen
Altstadt
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#10 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Altstadt
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#5 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#4 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Buer
Schloss Berge
Schloss Berge
#3 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Buer
No photo provided
Ambient Hotel Zum Schwan
#1 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay