We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Gelsenkirchen

Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Gelsenkirchen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    97
    87
    16
    10
See reviews for
38
63
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really shame that there is not air conditioning in rooms or fans, we spend one night here on very hot night and with open window which looking on busy high street we didn't get any sleep. Apart of this hotel is ok with good location. Oh yeah and parking is only one secure parking witch is around the corner from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Deat Guest, thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay. Sure we... More 

Antony
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Close to railway station. Newly overhauled to the latest Ibis standard. Few restaurants closeby. One point to bare in mind when heat wave shows up, there is no air conditionning. Else I have a good night sleep every time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your friendly remarks are a great motivation tool! Sure, we do not have any air condition, but some fan for cooling are available on the reception. We are very much looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again to the Ibis... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

Descent hotel in good location. Usual Ibis style, cheap and cheerful Hotel clean, room adequate, bathroom a bit small. Hotel located in good location for train station and town centre Lots of bars, shops and restaurants nearby. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

For under £40 per night I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, and this hotel proved basic but adequate for us as a base whilst we visited friends. The staff were friendly enough (although many spoke little English - my problem not theirs of course, but the hotel does advertise itself as having fluent English speakers, which is slightly misleading). I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have coffee/ tea facilities in the rooms and the most of the time, we do have english speaking... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Good hotel, but nothing special for the price. Small rooms, pretty basic. The best thing about the hotel is that it's handy for the Veltsin Arena and Central Station. Breakfast was ok and the staff were nice and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus zu bewerten. Wir freuen... More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed here for Chelsea's game against Schalke. Close to the Veltins arena, and the train station is 2 minutes walk away which is handy for travel. The hotel Itself is in the middle of the high street and is ideal for shopping. I booked here as it's an Ibis. And I got what I payed for. Above standard hotel. Clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located right beside the Hauptbahnhof (central rail station) where you can get a tram to the Veltins Arena or access to the airport. Room was spacious and clean. We had a room away from the train station so there was hardly any noise. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel but went to the back werk cafe/bakery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The hotel is reasonably comfortable, with good beds, a quite extensive breakfast buffet and very nice and attentive staff. Yhe only negative is that there is no airconditioning, heater or any kind of climate control present in the rooms with the exception of the opening windows.

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your positive feedback and your stay with us, we really appreciate it. Unfortunately, we only have a central heating system for all rooms. Kind Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Old rooms, furniture, lift. Madam at the desk wasn't really friendly and helpful. Slow internet. Breakfast good. Location OK (town center - not really interesting), good for traveling around the region with trains. A stayed in many Ibis hotels and all were much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay. We appreciate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gelsenkirchen
Altstadt
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#9 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Altstadt
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#6 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#3 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Buer
Art Hotel Monopol
Art Hotel Monopol
#10 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Buer
No photo provided
Ambient Hotel Zum Schwan
#1 of 13 in Gelsenkirchen
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay