We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Gelsenkirchen

3.0 of 5 Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Gelsenkirchen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Gelsenkirchen
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    77
    70
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
50
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For under £40 per night I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, and this hotel proved basic but adequate for us as a base whilst we visited friends. The staff were friendly enough (although many spoke little English - my problem not theirs of course, but the hotel does advertise itself as having fluent English speakers, which is slightly misleading). I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have coffee/ tea facilities in the rooms and the most of the time, we do have english speaking... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Good hotel, but nothing special for the price. Small rooms, pretty basic. The best thing about the hotel is that it's handy for the Veltsin Arena and Central Station. Breakfast was ok and the staff were nice and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus zu bewerten. Wir freuen... More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed here for Chelsea's game against Schalke. Close to the Veltins arena, and the train station is 2 minutes walk away which is handy for travel. The hotel Itself is in the middle of the high street and is ideal for shopping. I booked here as it's an Ibis. And I got what I payed for. Above standard hotel. Clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located right beside the Hauptbahnhof (central rail station) where you can get a tram to the Veltins Arena or access to the airport. Room was spacious and clean. We had a room away from the train station so there was hardly any noise. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel but went to the back werk cafe/bakery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The hotel is reasonably comfortable, with good beds, a quite extensive breakfast buffet and very nice and attentive staff. Yhe only negative is that there is no airconditioning, heater or any kind of climate control present in the rooms with the exception of the opening windows.

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your positive feedback and your stay with us, we really appreciate it. Unfortunately, we only have a central heating system for all rooms. Kind Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 via mobile

Old rooms, furniture, lift. Madam at the desk wasn't really friendly and helpful. Slow internet. Breakfast good. Location OK (town center - not really interesting), good for traveling around the region with trains. A stayed in many Ibis hotels and all were much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay. We appreciate... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

Clean room but very warm. When opening the Window very noisy.sky tv and free wifi available.breakfast good and friendly staff.3.50€ for water a very high price.I did not sleep very well do to the noise but closing the Window it was to warm as no aircon in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are constantly working on improving our service and the facilities. Only through the comments and feedback of our clients, we can attend to all these and therefore keep our guests happy. We are still busy to refresh the room facilities step by step this year. We hope that... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
50 hotel reviews
1,233 helpful votes 1,233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was basic as you would expect with the Ibis chain, but I tell you what the staff were attentive and rooms spotless. The hotel is ideally placed for everything you want to see or do. Great little town to visit and this hotel will not break the bank.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gelsenkirchen, Front Office Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again. with kind regards. Süleymna Aydin-Rezeption- More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Visited 1st-4th august for Newcastle's pre season . excellent value for money in good location. clean room. Only problem was my room back to the main road which was a bit noisey . still deffo recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights 1st - 4th August, for football at the Veltins Arena. Pretty much what you come to expect from Ibis. Clean, comfortable & good value for money. The staff were very friendly & helpful Gelsenkirchen was a lot nicer than I had been lead to believe with some decent bars & restaurants in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, es freut uns sehr, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt in unserem Hause gefallen hat und Sie sowohl unser freundliches... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ibis Gelsenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gelsenkirchen

Address: Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gelsenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Gelsenkirchen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay