We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Gelsenkirchen

Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Gelsenkirchen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Gelsenkirchen
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    78
    73
    13
    9
See reviews for
28
52
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

For under £40 per night I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, and this hotel proved basic but adequate for us as a base whilst we visited friends. The staff were friendly enough (although many spoke little English - my problem not theirs of course, but the hotel does advertise itself as having fluent English speakers, which is slightly misleading). I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have coffee/ tea facilities in the rooms and the most of the time, we do have english speaking... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Good hotel, but nothing special for the price. Small rooms, pretty basic. The best thing about the hotel is that it's handy for the Veltsin Arena and Central Station. Breakfast was ok and the staff were nice and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihren Besuch in unserem Haus zu bewerten. Wir freuen... More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Stayed here for Chelsea's game against Schalke. Close to the Veltins arena, and the train station is 2 minutes walk away which is handy for travel. The hotel Itself is in the middle of the high street and is ideal for shopping. I booked here as it's an Ibis. And I got what I payed for. Above standard hotel. Clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located right beside the Hauptbahnhof (central rail station) where you can get a tram to the Veltins Arena or access to the airport. Room was spacious and clean. We had a room away from the train station so there was hardly any noise. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel but went to the back werk cafe/bakery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The hotel is reasonably comfortable, with good beds, a quite extensive breakfast buffet and very nice and attentive staff. Yhe only negative is that there is no airconditioning, heater or any kind of climate control present in the rooms with the exception of the opening windows.

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your positive feedback and your stay with us, we really appreciate it. Unfortunately, we only have a central heating system for all rooms. Kind Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Old rooms, furniture, lift. Madam at the desk wasn't really friendly and helpful. Slow internet. Breakfast good. Location OK (town center - not really interesting), good for traveling around the region with trains. A stayed in many Ibis hotels and all were much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay. We appreciate... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Clean room but very warm. When opening the Window very noisy.sky tv and free wifi available.breakfast good and friendly staff.3.50€ for water a very high price.I did not sleep very well do to the noise but closing the Window it was to warm as no aircon in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are constantly working on improving our service and the facilities. Only through the comments and feedback of our clients, we can attend to all these and therefore keep our guests happy. We are still busy to refresh the room facilities step by step this year. We hope that... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
52 hotel reviews
1,250 helpful votes 1,250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was basic as you would expect with the Ibis chain, but I tell you what the staff were attentive and rooms spotless. The hotel is ideally placed for everything you want to see or do. Great little town to visit and this hotel will not break the bank.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gelsenkirchen, Front Office Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again. with kind regards. Süleymna Aydin-Rezeption- More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Visited 1st-4th august for Newcastle's pre season . excellent value for money in good location. clean room. Only problem was my room back to the main road which was a bit noisey . still deffo recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question