We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Essen hotels

Moevenpick Hotel Essen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadtkern)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Essen to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
78%
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Essen
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
J G Frankfurt, Germany
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    86
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
30
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good: Staff helpful and friendly, apples and drinks on arrival, Swiss newspaper and FT, opposite main station. Staircase easily accessed. The bad: Street next to the hotel is favored by drunks, very smelly. The city must deal with it, but they do not, obviously. Air con on 2nd floor needs attention, fungus smell. Small bathroom with some single rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your feedback. We are very happy to read your positive words about the friendliness and helpfulness of our team. At the same time we are very sorry that we could not meet all of your expectations during your stay with us. The central location of... More

London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed for the weekend with friends for the Schalke tournament. A useful base and excellent location near the rail transport hub. We had driven from London and used local parking garage (10 euro per day) which was fine. Check in very quick and efficient and professional. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and good housekeeping team. Rooms at the rear of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Ian, thank you very much for giving us your appreciated feedback on tripadvisor.com. It is great that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we will forward your positive words about the professional service to our front desk and housekeeping teams. At the same time we are very sorry that our Wi-Fi offer did not meet your... More

Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The location is perfect. Staff professioonal. The building even historical. Rooms spacious although not all are equipped with a tub. Free wi-fi. Unfortunately, the hotel feels dated. The elevators are cramped and slow. Wallpapers old. If you can get cheap rates for rooms, it could be worth it. Otherwise, this 4-star hotel will disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your feedback. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have especially enjoyed the professional service of our staff. However, we are very sorry that you perceived our hotel as dated. We are constantly renewing and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently spent a night at this centrally located hotel in Essen. The staff was very friendly and professional. Our room was large and comfortable, we slept very well! We also enjoyed a four course dinner which was fantastic! The breakfast next morning was also of very high quality! We would happily return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear biri_uk, thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is feedback like yours that gives us the motivation to give our best every day to deliver an exceptional guest experience. Of course we will forward your wonderful words to our team. Especially our restaurant staff... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the second time I have used this hotel, it is a very clean and well run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and it is in a good location ,next time I'm in Essen would book this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Roberto, thank you so much for giving us your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to read your positive words about our hotel and our staff – of course we will share these with our team. Your appreciation is a great motivation for us to to continue to do everything that our guests feel (almost) like home at our hotel.... More

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Having booked the preceding night to permit very early check-in, I was bemused to be charged a "no show" fee for turning up as scheduled... but since that was less than the room rate, who cared. Except that the room rate was hardly a bargain. I would have had to pay extra for WiFi had the WiFi signal reached my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Mike, thank you very much for staying with us and for giving us your detailed feedback. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your room, the service in our bar as well as our rich breakfast buffet. At the same time we are sorry that we could not meet all of your expectations. You have stayed with... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was twice in this hotel which I choose due to its location near the train main station. The hotel is directly at the beginning of the shopping streets, the underground, trams and buses are in front of it, so you can reach any other destination within the town. Rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. Breakfast is good. Personnel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for writing a review of our Mövenpick Hotel Essen on tripadvisor.com. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for us and we are delighted to read that you visited us for the second time now. Indeed, our location is a perfect starting point for a city trip or visiting the Ruhr area. We are... More

Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful clean hotel, very central. Staff welcoming and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay. Stayed in a room facing the road and train station and did not hear any noise, surprisingly very quiet. Great location for shopping. We have already booked to stay again! Would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for writing a review of our Mövenpick Hotel Essen on tripadvisor.com. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for us and we are delighted to read that you recommend our hotel and that you have already booked your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.... More

Harwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Definitely a business hotel although people stay here for leisure also. Big hotel just across the road from the railway station. Rooms on the front can be a bit noisy from traffic but rooms on the side or back are quieter. Rooms always spotless. Fluffy towels have yet to reach this part of Germany though. Breakfast has a wide selection... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Glyn, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your appreciated feedback. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially liked the central location of our hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are also very happy that you positively highlight the friendliness and... More

Scotland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Reasonable business hotel in OK location. Room 232 was rather small and faced the back of the hotel and was generally quiet. Bathroom was small with only a shower, but to be fair was very clean and functional. Only wanted coffee and croissant in the morning so didn't bother with hotel breakfast at 18E. No reason not to return but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Ian, thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, but at the same time we feel very sorry that we could not meet all your expectations. We always give everything to deliver our guests an exceptional hotel experience and we are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Essen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Essen

Address: Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Essen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essen Moevenpick Hotel

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Essen with
any amenities