We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Essen hotels

Moevenpick Hotel Essen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Stadtkern)
Hotel amenities
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Essen to your Saves list
78%
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Essen
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Richard K Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    89
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
30
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here on business on several occasions and always find the hotel to be very well kept and accommodating. The rooms are a decent size and contemporary in nature. Breakfast is everything you would expect from a large hotel chain. On the downside lack of free wifi is a pain but as travelling for business not the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Richard, thank you very much for your appreciated feedback. We are very happy to read your positive comment about our hotel and of course we will share it with our team. We hope to welcome you to our hotel many times more and herewith promise to continue to do everything to make your future stays as pleasant as possible.... More

East KIlbride
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for a long weekend with friends whilst we attended the Germany v Scotland football match in Dortmund. This hotel is very central, close to shops, pubs, restaurants and the main train station. Our room was very clean and had excellent facilities. The only down side was that we had to keep the windows open and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for giving us your detailed feedback. It is great that you have enjoyed the central location of our hotel as well as the professional service of our team. We are also very happy that you have noted and appreciated our efforts to save energy. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly staff, clean room, good location next to central train station but........Having paid 350€/night for what is a 4star older/dated hotel you would expect that internet in the room was complementary but no, message at checking in "not part of your rate". If you pay cheap, budget rates then totally fair not to include internet but at this rate it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are very sorry that we cannot offer Wi-Fi generally for free. This is a general decision for all rates, whether rates are low during low season or high during fairs. For your next time we would like... More

Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good: Staff helpful and friendly, apples and drinks on arrival, Swiss newspaper and FT, opposite main station. Staircase easily accessed. The bad: Street next to the hotel is favored by drunks, very smelly. The city must deal with it, but they do not, obviously. Air con on 2nd floor needs attention, fungus smell. Small bathroom with some single rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your feedback. We are very happy to read your positive words about the friendliness and helpfulness of our team. At the same time we are very sorry that we could not meet all of your expectations during your stay with us. The central location of... More

London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed for the weekend with friends for the Schalke tournament. A useful base and excellent location near the rail transport hub. We had driven from London and used local parking garage (10 euro per day) which was fine. Check in very quick and efficient and professional. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and good housekeeping team. Rooms at the rear of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Ian, thank you very much for giving us your appreciated feedback on tripadvisor.com. It is great that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we will forward your positive words about the professional service to our front desk and housekeeping teams. At the same time we are very sorry that our Wi-Fi offer did not meet your... More

Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The location is perfect. Staff professioonal. The building even historical. Rooms spacious although not all are equipped with a tub. Free wi-fi. Unfortunately, the hotel feels dated. The elevators are cramped and slow. Wallpapers old. If you can get cheap rates for rooms, it could be worth it. Otherwise, this 4-star hotel will disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your feedback. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have especially enjoyed the professional service of our staff. However, we are very sorry that you perceived our hotel as dated. We are constantly renewing and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently spent a night at this centrally located hotel in Essen. The staff was very friendly and professional. Our room was large and comfortable, we slept very well! We also enjoyed a four course dinner which was fantastic! The breakfast next morning was also of very high quality! We would happily return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear biri_uk, thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is feedback like yours that gives us the motivation to give our best every day to deliver an exceptional guest experience. Of course we will forward your wonderful words to our team. Especially our restaurant staff... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the second time I have used this hotel, it is a very clean and well run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and it is in a good location ,next time I'm in Essen would book this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Roberto, thank you so much for giving us your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to read your positive words about our hotel and our staff – of course we will share these with our team. Your appreciation is a great motivation for us to to continue to do everything that our guests feel (almost) like home at our hotel.... More

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Having booked the preceding night to permit very early check-in, I was bemused to be charged a "no show" fee for turning up as scheduled... but since that was less than the room rate, who cared. Except that the room rate was hardly a bargain. I would have had to pay extra for WiFi had the WiFi signal reached my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Mike, thank you very much for staying with us and for giving us your detailed feedback. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your room, the service in our bar as well as our rich breakfast buffet. At the same time we are sorry that we could not meet all of your expectations. You have stayed with... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was twice in this hotel which I choose due to its location near the train main station. The hotel is directly at the beginning of the shopping streets, the underground, trams and buses are in front of it, so you can reach any other destination within the town. Rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. Breakfast is good. Personnel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Director of Sales at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for writing a review of our Mövenpick Hotel Essen on tripadvisor.com. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for us and we are delighted to read that you visited us for the second time now. Indeed, our location is a perfect starting point for a city trip or visiting the Ruhr area. We are... More

Do you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Essen?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Essen

Address: Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essen Moevenpick Hotel

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay