We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moevenpick Hotel Essen

4.0 of 5 Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GreenLeadersGold level
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    99
    34
    10
    1
See reviews for
12
36
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is centrally located near the Essen railway station and at the pedestrian zone which offers you lots of shops and dining places. I guess the breakfast must be good as it costs you 20 euros ( but i did not take but went to the bakery arond the corner). For a four star place and a business hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love this hotel very much. I stayed there for business last week and found the place wonderful. There was even a "not really a Christmas market" outside the door. Christmas markets are only allowed a certain time of year and so the market outside was "not a real Christmas market." :-) The room was above average size, very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to read your positive review about the size and cleanliness of your room. It is great that also our breakfast as well as the central location of our hotel have met your expectations. Of course we will continue to do everything to... More 

Langdon, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the Essen Spiel 2014 trade fair. The room was considerably bigger than most of the other ones we stayed in while in Germany and was clean, comfortable, and quiet. It's right across the street from the main train station which made getting to and from the hotel incredibly easy, both on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Keith, thank you very much for your feedback. It is great that you have enjoyed your time in Essen. We are very happy to read your positive comment about our comfortable rooms and the central location of our hotel. Especially your words about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff make us really proud and of course we will... More 

essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Moevenpick Essen for one night whilst we were visiting the area for a business meeting prior to us moving there on a permanant basis. This was my first visit to Essen so we wanted somewhere that was centrally located. The hotel is situated directly opposite the train station and huge shopping centre. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Essen and for taking the time and effort to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that particularly our central location as well as the professional and friendly service of... More 

Ireland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This place was so disappointing that it doesn't even warrant the time it would take to leave a long review. Part of their pricing structure seems to be modelled on that of Ryanair: Charge a lot of money and give crap (a perfect example is their expensive Wifi that gives dial-up speeds!). I can imagine that the hotel thrives on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback even if it was very painful to read it. We are very sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot offer Wi-Fi generally for free but we would like to draw your attention to the free internet in our business corner... More 

Kaliningrad, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

A very nice hotel, big rooms, large bathrooms, perfectly clean, friendly service. The hotel is located near the railway station and shopping malls in downtown so it is very convinient. The only thing I was sad about is noisy young people sitting on stairs every night. The hotel itself is quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, thank you very much for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we will share your review with our entire team. However, we are really sorry that some people around our hotel have marred your stay with us. The central... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Very lovely hotel right in the middle of Essen. Location is perfect - right opposite from Essen Hbf (main station) and city centre. Which means it's a super easy straight train from Dussledorf airtport almost directly to the hotel! Room's are nicely decorated with a decent amount of space however, for the price, wifi isn't necessarily standard inclusion which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very happy to read your positive feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us here on tripadvisor.com. It is great that you have enjoyed the central location of our hotel as well as our comfortable rooms and the service of our staff. For your next stay we would like... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed for three nights during a trade show in Essen. Everything was clean and tidy, staff were all multi-lingual and very helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Special mention for the bar staff in Jimmy's bar within the hotel. Really friendly, good sense of humour .. some of the best I have experienced in Germany. Also, for Sarah .. receptionist.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, thank you so much for your appreciated feedback. We are delighted to read your wonderful review about the cleanliness and service in our hotel – of course we will share it with our team. Your comment is a great motivation for our team and particularly for our bar staff and Sarah from the reception, to always give everything... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely and the location is exceptional. Directly across from the main station in Essen you will have no problem finding it. The price too stay isn't to bad either but the price of breakfast is 23 euro which is far too much. The rooms are lovely and spacious with lots or mirrors and places to store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your detailed feedback and to recommend our hotel on tripadvisor.com. It is great that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are very happy about your positive comment on our rooms. At the same time we are very sorry that our breakfast price of... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The best collection of Scottish Whiskey I have came across in Germany. Excellent friendly place for a quite drink and interesting conversation with the bar staff. Highly recommend a trip here just for a few drinks and a relaxing evening. First Class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to read your positive comment about Jimmy’s Bar and of course we have already shared it with our bar chef and his team. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel and bar whenever you will be in Essen again. Kind regards your Mövenpick Hotel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Essen

Address: Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essen Moevenpick Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Essen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#12 Business Hotel in Essen

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay