We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moevenpick Hotel Essen

4.0 of 5 Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GreenLeadersGold level
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
35
30
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Langdon, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the Essen Spiel 2014 trade fair. The room was considerably bigger than most of the other ones we stayed in while in Germany and was clean, comfortable, and quiet. It's right across the street from the main train station which made getting to and from the hotel incredibly easy, both on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Moevenpick Essen for one night whilst we were visiting the area for a business meeting prior to us moving there on a permanant basis. This was my first visit to Essen so we wanted somewhere that was centrally located. The hotel is situated directly opposite the train station and huge shopping centre. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Essen and for taking the time and effort to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that particularly our central location as well as the professional and friendly service of... More

Ireland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was so disappointing that it doesn't even warrant the time it would take to leave a long review. Part of their pricing structure seems to be modelled on that of Ryanair: Charge a lot of money and give crap (a perfect example is their expensive Wifi that gives dial-up speeds!). I can imagine that the hotel thrives on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback even if it was very painful to read it. We are very sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot offer Wi-Fi generally for free but we would like to draw your attention to the free internet in our business corner... More

Kaliningrad, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice hotel, big rooms, large bathrooms, perfectly clean, friendly service. The hotel is located near the railway station and shopping malls in downtown so it is very convinient. The only thing I was sad about is noisy young people sitting on stairs every night. The hotel itself is quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, thank you very much for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we will share your review with our entire team. However, we are really sorry that some people around our hotel have marred your stay with us. The central... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very lovely hotel right in the middle of Essen. Location is perfect - right opposite from Essen Hbf (main station) and city centre. Which means it's a super easy straight train from Dussledorf airtport almost directly to the hotel! Room's are nicely decorated with a decent amount of space however, for the price, wifi isn't necessarily standard inclusion which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very happy to read your positive feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us here on tripadvisor.com. It is great that you have enjoyed the central location of our hotel as well as our comfortable rooms and the service of our staff. For your next stay we would like... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights during a trade show in Essen. Everything was clean and tidy, staff were all multi-lingual and very helpful. Room was comfortable and clean. Special mention for the bar staff in Jimmy's bar within the hotel. Really friendly, good sense of humour .. some of the best I have experienced in Germany. Also, for Sarah .. receptionist.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, thank you so much for your appreciated feedback. We are delighted to read your wonderful review about the cleanliness and service in our hotel – of course we will share it with our team. Your comment is a great motivation for our team and particularly for our bar staff and Sarah from the reception, to always give everything... More

Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely and the location is exceptional. Directly across from the main station in Essen you will have no problem finding it. The price too stay isn't to bad either but the price of breakfast is 23 euro which is far too much. The rooms are lovely and spacious with lots or mirrors and places to store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your detailed feedback and to recommend our hotel on tripadvisor.com. It is great that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are very happy about your positive comment on our rooms. At the same time we are very sorry that our breakfast price of... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The best collection of Scottish Whiskey I have came across in Germany. Excellent friendly place for a quite drink and interesting conversation with the bar staff. Highly recommend a trip here just for a few drinks and a relaxing evening. First Class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to read your positive comment about Jimmy’s Bar and of course we have already shared it with our bar chef and his team. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel and bar whenever you will be in Essen again. Kind regards your Mövenpick Hotel... More

Hornsea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I have stayed here on business on several occasions and always find the hotel to be very well kept and accommodating. The rooms are a decent size and contemporary in nature. Breakfast is everything you would expect from a large hotel chain. On the downside lack of free wifi is a pain but as travelling for business not the end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear Richard, thank you very much for your appreciated feedback. We are very happy to read your positive comment about our hotel and of course we will share it with our team. We hope to welcome you to our hotel many times more and herewith promise to continue to do everything to make your future stays as pleasant as possible.... More

East KIlbride
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a long weekend with friends whilst we attended the Germany v Scotland football match in Dortmund. This hotel is very central, close to shops, pubs, restaurants and the main train station. Our room was very clean and had excellent facilities. The only down side was that we had to keep the windows open and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axel S, Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Essen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for giving us your detailed feedback. It is great that you have enjoyed the central location of our hotel as well as the professional service of our team. We are also very happy that you have noted and appreciated our efforts to save energy. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Essen

Address: Am Hauptbahnhof 2, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Stadtkern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essen Moevenpick Hotel

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay