We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bredeney

Theodor-Althoff Strasse 5, 45133 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Scandic Essen)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Bredeney
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gort, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Not the easiest to get to on a Sunday with public transport, but we managed. Taxi is the easiest way, from train station €16 . On the outskirts of Essen, away from shops etc. Room smelled of smoke, as we forgot that we should have asked for non-smoking( in Ireland it's all non smoking now) but staff happily moved us... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShonaMacG
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Shona, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you have perceived our staff as friendly. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Staff - To me it seemed that everything which was done by the staff of this hotel, it was done because they had to do it. There which made me feel like a guest or made me feel welcome. I was there, I paid and that was just good enough. Rooms - The smell in the rooms is awful. (most... More 

Helpful?
Thank DMS1995
California, USA
Level Contributor
862 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Taxi 11 euro to convention center or just take a nice walk. Quite rooms all over. Reasonable rates include large breakfast buffet. Dinner buffet for euro 21 was good too. Paid parking available. Recommended MeuterMedia

Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Hotel Bredeney is set back from the main road and my room was facing out to a green area and trees - it was very quiet. Our room was small, but on the plus side the bed was very comfortable. Overall the hotel decor is outdated and there was some building work going on. The way the bedrooms are numbered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Odettexx
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madame, thank you that you took the time to write down your opinion. We are happy to hear that you had a calm and pleasant stay at our hotel. We are little bit surprised about your feedback regarding our breakfast. We usually get positive feedback, but of course we are sorry that you don’t like our breakfast offer. Regarding... More 

Coventry, Vermont
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I am very disappointed with the Hotel as a whole! I and some colleagues were staying at this particular hotel on a business trip. My colleague and I had to check in relatively late due to work commitments. When we got to our room we were very surprised to see no bed but a sofa bed! We couldn’t believe it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank travel1281
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madame, first we would like to thank you that you took the time to write down your opinion. We’re sorry about the discomfort you had. As you know there was the “GIFA/METEC” fair in Düsseldorf, that is why we were fully booked and are not able to offer you all of our room types. After you came down you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Essen hotels

England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We booked a 'Comfort Room'. It was two lifts and a very long walk from reception and once we got there it was very small, very hot (we asked for a fan which we had to keep on all night) with outdated decor and fittings and the bathroom was tiny and smelt of mould - I had to open the... More 

Helpful?
Thank George180
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry that you’re disappointed because of the room setup and the broke down lift. For the failure of the lift we would like to apologize and assure you that this is not the standard of our services. Thank you for your praise regarding to our restaurant und breakfast. Kind regards, your... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The only pluses it this hotel are: 1) it is close to Essen Messe; 2) nice and clean pool, nice pool service. MINUSES: - disgusting smell of antiquity and/or perfume chemical; - interior design some where is old and strange (it will just suffice to mention this "display stand of forgotten personal possessions" in corridor (I don't know was it... More 

Helpful?
Thank TatyanaTonika
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I get to try out hotels on business trips and this one was very good in all aspects. As the hotels are booked ahead by others I must start asking what the amenities are. Had I known it had a pool and leisure gym and sauna I might have missed the first round of beers at the bar. Excellent evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snorbins
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We are coming to this hotel for many years. Unfortunately over time nothing improved. They try to keep the standard, but as always standing still is like going back. Reception - good Restaurant - food, atmosphere and service poor Room / Bed - good, bed comfortable Bathroom - very small Fitness, Pool and Sauna - phantastic

Helpful?
Thank DMS1995
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madam/Sir, thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you are coming to our hotel for many hears. On this way we would politly inform you about some refreshed works since the last years: renovation of our restaurant "LE BISOU" with winter garden, a large part of our rooms, the corridors to the rooms, the lifts etc.... More 

Weston-Super-Mare
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very nice Hotel with nice surroundings, stayed 1 night used the pool and sauna all spotless, the room was very nice very quiet and dark, we ate in the evening which was excellent and the breakfast was very good as well, all the stall were very friendly and helpful would highly recommend this hotel

Helpful?
Thank graham_wotton
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Graham, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel in terms of our room and breakfast. We hope to welcome you soon in our Hotel! Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#14 of 69 in Essen
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ypsilon
Hotel Franz
#4 of 69 in Essen
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay