We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bredeney

Theodor-Althoff Strasse 5, 45133 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Scandic Essen)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Bredeney
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    45
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
17
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Bredeney is set back from the main road and my room was facing out to a green area and trees - it was very quiet. Our room was small, but on the plus side the bed was very comfortable. Overall the hotel decor is outdated and there was some building work going on. The way the bedrooms are numbered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madame, thank you that you took the time to write down your opinion. We are happy to hear that you had a calm and pleasant stay at our hotel. We are little bit surprised about your feedback regarding our breakfast. We usually get positive feedback, but of course we are sorry that you don’t like our breakfast offer. Regarding... More 

Coventry, Vermont
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I am very disappointed with the Hotel as a whole! I and some colleagues were staying at this particular hotel on a business trip. My colleague and I had to check in relatively late due to work commitments. When we got to our room we were very surprised to see no bed but a sofa bed! We couldn’t believe it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madame, first we would like to thank you that you took the time to write down your opinion. We’re sorry about the discomfort you had. As you know there was the “GIFA/METEC” fair in Düsseldorf, that is why we were fully booked and are not able to offer you all of our room types. After you came down you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Essen hotels

England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We booked a 'Comfort Room'. It was two lifts and a very long walk from reception and once we got there it was very small, very hot (we asked for a fan which we had to keep on all night) with outdated decor and fittings and the bathroom was tiny and smelt of mould - I had to open the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry that you’re disappointed because of the room setup and the broke down lift. For the failure of the lift we would like to apologize and assure you that this is not the standard of our services. Thank you for your praise regarding to our restaurant und breakfast. Kind regards, your... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The only pluses it this hotel are: 1) it is close to Essen Messe; 2) nice and clean pool, nice pool service. MINUSES: - disgusting smell of antiquity and/or perfume chemical; - interior design some where is old and strange (it will just suffice to mention this "display stand of forgotten personal possessions" in corridor (I don't know was it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I get to try out hotels on business trips and this one was very good in all aspects. As the hotels are booked ahead by others I must start asking what the amenities are. Had I known it had a pool and leisure gym and sauna I might have missed the first round of beers at the bar. Excellent evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We are coming to this hotel for many years. Unfortunately over time nothing improved. They try to keep the standard, but as always standing still is like going back. Reception - good Restaurant - food, atmosphere and service poor Room / Bed - good, bed comfortable Bathroom - very small Fitness, Pool and Sauna - phantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madam/Sir, thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you are coming to our hotel for many hears. On this way we would politly inform you about some refreshed works since the last years: renovation of our restaurant "LE BISOU" with winter garden, a large part of our rooms, the corridors to the rooms, the lifts etc.... More 

Weston-Super-Mare
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very nice Hotel with nice surroundings, stayed 1 night used the pool and sauna all spotless, the room was very nice very quiet and dark, we ate in the evening which was excellent and the breakfast was very good as well, all the stall were very friendly and helpful would highly recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Graham, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel in terms of our room and breakfast. We hope to welcome you soon in our Hotel! Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for few nights because of an official business meeting. The hotel structure is good, restaurants, bars and the rooms are nice. The food was good. And the hotel staff friendly. I did not like the fact that the rooms are equipped with very poor shower towels, old, tin and small. It's a very poor feeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've been staying at the Bredeney several times now, and have found them fitting my requirement to a T! The rooms, while small, are well-furnished, the surroundings are very peaceful and quiet, the service is excellent, and the buffet breakfast is great as well! With good connectivity to the local bus services, and in close reach of many offices, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel in terms of our service and breakfast. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very nice hotel with clean rooms, good beds and great breakfast. They went out of their way for all the gamers at the Messe in Essen. One little downsite, 1 english channel on tv, no international. Free wifi was great.

Review collected in partnership with innstant.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Joris, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel in terms of our room and breakfast. We hope to welcome you soon in our Hotel! Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Rüttenscheid
Hotel An der Gruga
Hotel An der Gruga
#14 of 70 in Essen
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Hotel Maximilians
Hotel Maximilians
#16 of 70 in Essen
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay