We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Essen Hotel

5.0 of 5 Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    95
    53
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
44
29
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Overijse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We where twice in that hotel, because it is near to the opera. But both times, we were very disappointed, by the poor service, especially the bar/restaurant. Slow waiters, who seem to ignore you, even when there is almost nobody. If you make a remark, they look like they are very disturbed. A third bed in the room for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanctorum, thank you for your stay with us and you honest review. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments. May we say how sorry we are to learn all the points about the inconveniences that you have experienced when you stayed at the Sheraton Essen Hotel. Please allow us to follow up on this important issue.... More 

2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The moment you enter you feel like you stepped through a time gate and were transported back to the 70s. No signs to the elevator from the garage, so we ended up schlepping our luggage up two flights of stairs to the lobby. We later found out there is an elevator behind a steel door, but it holds just barely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Essen specifically as we attended a concert at the Philharmonie Essen, and if music/opera is one's reason to visit Essen, one cannot do better than stay at the Sheraton from a location point of view. The hotel is connected to the Philharmonie, so it is not even necessary to leave the front door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bernardlinde, thank you very much for your very nice feedback. We are happy to tell you, that we offer free wifi at our Link at Sheraton experience by Microsoft in our Lobby. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Of course, we will share your comments with our whole hotel team.... More 

Cape Town
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We like travelling in winter in Europe. So we choose hotels differently in winter than during a summer holiday because we spent more time in a hotel room during winter travels!This hotel is located close to the centre, has a lovely sitting area, internet facilities and a bar & restaurant. One can reach the city park directly from the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarlenaduToit, Thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel at TripAdvisor. We are more than happy, that you likes nearly everything during your stay with us. We are happy to tell you that we offer free wifi in our lobby area at the Link at Sheraton experience by Microsoft. Dear MarlenaduToit, we looking forward to welcome you... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

As is always the case with Sheraton hotels the rooms are rather large and elegant. This is no exception. No bathtub in my room though, only a shower. The breakfast is excellent with a honey comb which comes from the beehive on the roof. Fresh omlettes, double espressos, etc. The only downside is the ridiculously expensive WiFi = €19 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Swiss_MnM, Thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel on tripadvisor. We genuinely value our Guests’ comments and regret when their expectations are not met. We are happy to inform you that we have free Wi-Fi internet access in our lobby area, at the link at sheraton. Moreover, we would like to tell you that our hotel... More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
123 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Due to a large medical exhibition in the area, hotel rooms were in short supply during the period I stayed at the Sheraton in Essen. Maybe charging extra for everything is standard practice in Sheraton hotels, but 13.00 euro a day for parking, and an unbelievable 29.00 extra for breakfast seemed exorbitant, especially when I was already paying 164.00, euro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PEM67, we genuinely value our Guests’ comments and regret when their expectations are not met. I am disappointed to learn that you encountered several issues during your stay. Of course, we will share your feedback with our whole team and sensibilize them accordingly. Furthermore, we are happy telling you that we have several renovation plans for the future years... More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

When having meetings in the Düsseldorf/Cologne/Dortmund area, I often drive by car. The Sheraton is situated quite strategic and easy to access. The hotel itself has got great rooms and good bar/restaurant. The start is friendly and service oriented. Sheraton Essen is a good base in the busy Ruhr district.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hasbinfat, thank you for choosing the Sheraton Essen Hotel for your stays in Essen. We appreciate that you have shared your feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to host you and it is nice to hear that you felt comfortable with us and that you liked our staff and our service. We are looking forward to welcome you... More 

Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We weren't expecting much of what we considered to be an industrial town but the Sheraton was a delight. Staff were awesome and the food was great. The Assistant Manager Yiannis certainly made the stay a memorable one. He was constantly engaged, helpful and personable. Its very easy to see when someone loves their work and understands the needs of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FredLRI, first of all we want to thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff enthuse you. Of course, we will share your comments with the entire team especially with Yiannis. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we are really... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Less than average service - almost accusatory about their guests. Clearly only set up for servicing business executives. Very expensive internet access. Functional for business but avoid if you are there for for cultural activities etc and don't want to spend 40€ for two nights of internet. BTW that was a third of the cost of the stay, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip B, thank you for your stay with us and you honest review. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments. May we say how sorry we are to learn all the points about the inconveniences that you have experienced when you stayed at the Sheraton Essen Hotel. Please allow us to follow up on this important... More 

Lytham, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I guess 99% of the guests are, like me, here for work. It has a big corporate feel about. It's ok and it's functional but I wouldn't want to be here if I was on a private trip. I have had to stay here a few times but have never slept well. They switch the air-conditioning off at night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UKJA, thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Essen Hotel on tripadvisor. We really value our guests’ comments and regret when their expectations are not met. We are disappointed to learn that you have had problems with the air-conditioning. Due to some customer feedback we started to switch off the air condition at night. However, we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Essen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Essen Hotel

Address: Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Essen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Essen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Essen
Essen Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Essen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#7 Business Hotel in Essen

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay