We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 68 Essen hotels

Sheraton Essen Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Essen Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
75%
Ranked #7 of 68 hotels in Essen
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
UKJA Lytham, UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (246)
  • Photos (39)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
14
40
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I guess 99% of the guests are, like me, here for work. It has a big corporate feel about. It's ok and it's functional but I wouldn't want to be here if I was on a private trip. I have had to stay here a few times but have never slept well. They switch the air-conditioning off at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UKJA, thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Essen Hotel on tripadvisor. We really value our guests’ comments and regret when their expectations are not met. We are disappointed to learn that you have had problems with the air-conditioning. Due to some customer feedback we started to switch off the air condition at night. However, we... More

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Probably the most accommodating hotel that I have stayed in for a long time. From front desk staff to bar lady. Everyone was extremely friendly n very warm. Will stay there 100% whenever we are in Essen next. Keep it up...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rastogikunal, thank you very much for your excellent feedback in regard to your stay with us. We are more than happy to hear that you felt comfortable! Of course, we will share your positive feedback with our entire hotel team! Certainly, we are looking forward to welcome you back at Sheraton Essen Hotel soon and to meet you personally.... More

Veigne, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights while visiting friends in the area. Rooms were reasonably priced. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff went out of their way to assist. The room was spacious and quiet. The only downside is that wifi in the room was charged extra €19 (but in the lobby it was free) and that breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David B, thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel. It was a pleasure to host you and it is nice to hear that you felt comfortable with us. Certainly, we will forward your positive feedback to our whole team. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at our Sheraton Essen Hotel. Best regards your... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed, family of 4 with our dog for 1 night while traveling through Essen. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. As we were leaving early before breakfast the next day the hotel provided a packed lunch each in replacement of the breakfast we missed, very kind. The food in the restaurant was very nice with attentive staff. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DDGROUP, thank you very much for your very nice feedback. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Of course, we will share your comments with our whole hotel team. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we are really happy to read that you felt comfortable at our Sheraton Essen... More

Wutoeschingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

sum up of this hotel = perfect in everything only the check-in/reception is a bit unfriendly. But overall the hotel match price/performance Rooms are really big and perfectly clean. Location of Hotel is perfect if you like to visit the exhibitions. Underground entry is at the hotel and exhibition area only 3 underground stops. Shopping in the city is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corinna R, thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel. We are very happy to read that you liked nearly everything during your stay with us. Of course we will share this very good feedback with the entire team. We are truly sorry that the check in didn’t met your expectations. Of course we will discuss this... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It is a month since our company booked more than 20 rooms for a week at Sheraton Essen. We travel internationally all the time and I believe I can offer some context. The hotel is clean, tidy maybe a little tired but safe and I felt the rooms were completely sound proof. The breakfast was excellent but expensive at 30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cra1g9, thank you for taking some time to review Sheraton Essen Hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and more importantly that our team was able to make you feel welcome at anytime throughout your stay. We are very pleased about the positive feedback for our associates Suzie and Lisa.... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The front desk was great--somehow, my reservation got lost and they managed to find me a room. Too bad that room was by the elevator, which I heard all night. I fled to the lobby for the free wi-fi and relatively quiet. I mean, it was clean and modern, but... I'm glad I was there for only one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lady_CM, thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel on TripAdvisor. We were shocked to read your feedback and we would like to apologize for the circumstances your experienced during your stay at our hotel . I fully regret to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and your room. Certainly, we will discuss those... More

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable!!! Waking up at 4.30 in the morning, thinking that you television is on but.. NO! It is the Asian guy making a long distance call in the next room, which you have heard snore a few hours ago, because the connecting door is so thin that you can hear really everything!!! Because there is mold on the walls in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindaatje Thank you for your stay with us. We genuinely value our Guests’ comments and regret when their expectations are not met. I am disappointed to learn that you encountered several issues - primarily the connecting door in your room. Because of a water pipe burst we deploy construction dryer to avoid a larger damage. Please accept our honest... More

Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

what I didn't like: I had to pay extra for W-Lan. That always puts me off in hotels. Otherwise; nothing to complain about. Nice bar, comfortable rooms, fittness facility which I hadn't used though, excellent breakfast and helpful and very friendly staff. Ok, Breakfast is a little expensive with nearly 30 Euros, but it was very good. 5 Minutes on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaisyMC66, thank you for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our bar, our rooms and the fitness facility. Of course, we will share your feedback with the entire hotel team. In addition, we just would like to let you know that you have the option to book a room with a discounted... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Decent hotel, was expecting a lot from the hotel with that brand. Food was ok and breakfast lagged the quality. Would not stay again unless the hotel has changed quite a lot in terms of service and offer to customers

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear veeruveer, thank you for your stay with us and you honest review. We genuinely value our guest comments and regret when their expectations are not met. Of course, we are disappointed to hear that you encountered several issues. Please allow us to follow up on this important feedback. To do so, we would like to talk to you personally.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sheraton Essen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Essen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Essen Hotel

Address: Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Essen Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sheraton Essen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Essen
Essen Sheraton

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Essen with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#2 Spa Hotel in Essen #3 Romantic Hotel in Essen #5 Business Hotel in Essen #6 Luxury Hotel in Essen
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sheraton Essen Hotel is located at the edge of the quiet Stadtgarten, only a five-minute walk away from the city center and the central station. The Underground station is located in front of the hotel, and just three stops from the fairground Essen and Grugahalle. The Sheraton Essen Hotel is 29 kilometers from Dusseldorf International Airport (20 minutes by car). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
206

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Essen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer