We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Essen hotels

Sheraton Essen Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Sheraton Essen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Essen Hotel to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Essen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
hasbinfat
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    92
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
43
29
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

When having meetings in the Düsseldorf/Cologne/Dortmund area, I often drive by car. The Sheraton is situated quite strategic and easy to access. The hotel itself has got great rooms and good bar/restaurant. The start is friendly and service oriented. Sheraton Essen is a good base in the busy Ruhr district.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We weren't expecting much of what we considered to be an industrial town but the Sheraton was a delight. Staff were awesome and the food was great. The Assistant Manager Yiannis certainly made the stay a memorable one. He was constantly engaged, helpful and personable. Its very easy to see when someone loves their work and understands the needs of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Less than average service - almost accusatory about their guests. Clearly only set up for servicing business executives. Very expensive internet access. Functional for business but avoid if you are there for for cultural activities etc and don't want to spend 40€ for two nights of internet. BTW that was a third of the cost of the stay, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip B, thank you for your stay with us and you honest review. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments. May we say how sorry we are to learn all the points about the inconveniences that you have experienced when you stayed at the Sheraton Essen Hotel. Please allow us to follow up on this important... More

Lytham, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I guess 99% of the guests are, like me, here for work. It has a big corporate feel about. It's ok and it's functional but I wouldn't want to be here if I was on a private trip. I have had to stay here a few times but have never slept well. They switch the air-conditioning off at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear UKJA, thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Essen Hotel on tripadvisor. We really value our guests’ comments and regret when their expectations are not met. We are disappointed to learn that you have had problems with the air-conditioning. Due to some customer feedback we started to switch off the air condition at night. However, we... More

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Probably the most accommodating hotel that I have stayed in for a long time. From front desk staff to bar lady. Everyone was extremely friendly n very warm. Will stay there 100% whenever we are in Essen next. Keep it up...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rastogikunal, thank you very much for your excellent feedback in regard to your stay with us. We are more than happy to hear that you felt comfortable! Of course, we will share your positive feedback with our entire hotel team! Certainly, we are looking forward to welcome you back at Sheraton Essen Hotel soon and to meet you personally.... More

Veigne, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights while visiting friends in the area. Rooms were reasonably priced. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff went out of their way to assist. The room was spacious and quiet. The only downside is that wifi in the room was charged extra €19 (but in the lobby it was free) and that breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David B, thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel. It was a pleasure to host you and it is nice to hear that you felt comfortable with us. Certainly, we will forward your positive feedback to our whole team. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at our Sheraton Essen Hotel. Best regards your... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed, family of 4 with our dog for 1 night while traveling through Essen. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. As we were leaving early before breakfast the next day the hotel provided a packed lunch each in replacement of the breakfast we missed, very kind. The food in the restaurant was very nice with attentive staff. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DDGROUP, thank you very much for your very nice feedback. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Of course, we will share your comments with our whole hotel team. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we are really happy to read that you felt comfortable at our Sheraton Essen... More

Wutoeschingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

sum up of this hotel = perfect in everything only the check-in/reception is a bit unfriendly. But overall the hotel match price/performance Rooms are really big and perfectly clean. Location of Hotel is perfect if you like to visit the exhibitions. Underground entry is at the hotel and exhibition area only 3 underground stops. Shopping in the city is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corinna R, thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel. We are very happy to read that you liked nearly everything during your stay with us. Of course we will share this very good feedback with the entire team. We are truly sorry that the check in didn’t met your expectations. Of course we will discuss this... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It is a month since our company booked more than 20 rooms for a week at Sheraton Essen. We travel internationally all the time and I believe I can offer some context. The hotel is clean, tidy maybe a little tired but safe and I felt the rooms were completely sound proof. The breakfast was excellent but expensive at 30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cra1g9, thank you for taking some time to review Sheraton Essen Hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and more importantly that our team was able to make you feel welcome at anytime throughout your stay. We are very pleased about the positive feedback for our associates Suzie and Lisa.... More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The front desk was great--somehow, my reservation got lost and they managed to find me a room. Too bad that room was by the elevator, which I heard all night. I fled to the lobby for the free wi-fi and relatively quiet. I mean, it was clean and modern, but... I'm glad I was there for only one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne B, Guest Relation Team at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lady_CM, thank you very much for rating the Sheraton Essen Hotel on TripAdvisor. We were shocked to read your feedback and we would like to apologize for the circumstances your experienced during your stay at our hotel . I fully regret to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and your room. Certainly, we will discuss those... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Essen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Essen Hotel

Address: Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Essen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Essen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Essen
Essen Sheraton

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay