We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Essen Hotel

#13 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Huyssenallee 55, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheraton Essen Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well appointed hotel within walking distance of city centre and main station, but in a quiet area by a lovely park and next to the Philharmonie and Aalto Music Theatre. Position could not have been better. Outstanding breakfasts, room and particularly the bed were perfect. Staff very friendly, always wishing to please and nothing too much trouble. Great atmosphere in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grahame A
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA to GM at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grahame A, thank you so much for taking time to give us your personal feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stay with us and that we convinced you of our hotel and service. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again. We wish you all the best. Your Sheraton Team 2016 More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night and appreciated the convenient location for the concert we were attending that night. We were on the club floor and thoroughly enjoyed the use of the club lounge. The bed was ok, the hotel could benefit from new furniture/decor, some of the staff were more helpful than others and the food in the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alizeh H
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA to GM at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alizeh, first of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your valid feedback. We are sorry that we did not convince you of our 5* hotel. We would like to inform you that we started the renovation of some rooms. Since we are currently working on that, we kindly ask for your... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for business and found the room to be comfortable and spacious. There are all the mod cons you would expect though English TV is limited. The bar and lobby area is well maintained and the staff are polite and efficient. The hotel is situated a short walk from some bars and restaurants and in particular backs onto... More 

Helpful?
Thank Globalloco
London, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Large international hotel next to Congress Centre, concert hall and opera. You know what you're getting. Little in the way of style (though bathroom fittings are great!) but rooms well equipped and bed/linen top quality. On a 2 week 6 city trip I had best night's sleep of the trip. Great breakfast selection. A few local extras on the otherwise... More 

Helpful?
Thank operacentric
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA to GM at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings to London! Thank you very much for you positive feedback about your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. We hope welcoming you back as soon as possible. We wish you a pleasant day. Kind regards Your Sheraton Team More 

Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

The starter and main course look and taste ok, although price/quality wise far apart (it is just too expensive!). The real offset came with desert: cheese plate. Well, in my kitchen you can have better, more tasty and different cheeses then this expensive desert. Quite a disappointment. The sweet dips were much too sweet. I am above all disappointed since... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nanty H
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA to GM at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nanty, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation in our restaurant. We spoke to the F&B and kitchen Team. They created some new plates. It will be a pleasure for us getting a second chance from you to convince you of our food. For any further information do not... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Sometimes you get more, though, sometimes less: in this Sheraton Hotel in Essen, for exemple, you don't get anything in the minibar: it is empty. So you have to order a bottle of water in the middle of the night if you are thirsty.... That's quite strange..... The room service is Sheraton-like, just ok. I got a nice room (junior... More 

Helpful?
Thank musician1959
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear musician, thank you very much for taking time for a feedback about your stay with us. This is very important for us to improve our service. We offer two bottles of complimentary water per night in our rooms. To guarantee that all our guests have filled the minibar as they wish we fill the minibar on demand. We are... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel, near the philharmonic and public transportation. Food was subpar. Service was lagging (restaurant staff), and they forgot stuff that we asked for. The room itself is very nice... ample space, everything looks pretty new, and comes with nice, comfortable bed. I love the fact they provide a real hair dryer (not one of those tiny, noisy ones attached... More 

Helpful?
Thank HopAroundTheWorld
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client, First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback about your stay with us . Guest feedback is very important for us. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our rooms and their equipment. We are very sorry that we were not able to meet your... More 

Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Hotel: The hotel is easy to access and lies in a good location in the park. Price: The price is not bad for a luxury hotel, but not cheap. You do get quite a lot of extra's like a gym and restaurant inhouse. It does feel like it could use a refurbishment since a lot looks old and worn. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niels W
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA to GM at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Icerider, thank you very much for your feedback. This is very important for us to improve our service and get to know what is important for our clients. We are glad to inform you that we will start our next refurbishment during the winter time. As you recognized we finished already the bathroom area in each room. We... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

I stayed at the Sheraton for one night on business and found it to be of a very good standard. The room was spacious with a newly refurbished bathroom and huge shower head. My only complaint was the thin carpet - it felt like walking on concrete! Dinner and breakfast were very good but check out was slow in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank winelover678
Sheraton Essen ... S, PA to GM at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings to Yorkshire! Dear client, thank you very much for taking the time to fill out the questionnaire . We are very happy that you felt comfortable with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience during the check out. We are working on this point to improve our service. We are glad welcome you back again. Kind regards Your Sheraton... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

The Sheraton in Essen is a great hotel for business stays, although I have to mention, that the furniture looks outdated in some rooms. The rooms are all clean and quiet, with lots of towels, shampoo and shower gel.

Helpful?
Thank JakeHerp
Anne B, PA to General Manager at Sheraton Essen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Herp, thank you very much for your nice comment. We are very glad that you felt comfortable with us. Because of the rooms we would like to inform you that we are planning a renovation of the first and second floor at the end of this year. We are happy welcoming you again. Greetings to London! Kind regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Franz
#4 of 69 in Essen
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay