We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

4.0 of 5 Frohnhauser Strasse 6, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
12
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Benghazi, Libya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights at this hotel, the check in and check out went smoothly. The hotel is about 15 min walk from the main train station and close to the major shopping centres and local theatres. It was clean and tidy, buffet breakfast was pretty good, just one of the staff was rude when she saw my niece... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

The Holiday Inn Essen City Center is located - as the name suggests - close to the city center of Essen. The walk from the central train station took me about 15 minutes. A ride by taxi to Dusseldorf airport took about 35 minutes and 45 Euros. The hotel is holding the standard of a 4****-hotel. The feeling however was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear zf34bu8q, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel location and staff service commendable. However, I am sorry the fitness center and bathroom amenities was less than satisfactory. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We take all reviews positive and negative... More 

Utrecht
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

No 4 star, but 3! The place is a bit outdated and the room altough big enough could have a bigger bathroom. We had a room on the streetside and the noise from the traffic is quite loud. At first we thought the window was open... The breakfeast was ok with enough to choose, but the hot stuff was cold.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear jklok, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered which affected your stay negatively. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For... More 

League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during a trade show. It was nice enough, but way overpriced. Very close to restaurants, local train station, and shopping. I ate at the restaurant one morning and it was decent enough, but there are many better options for eating close by. There was no hot water one morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Changzhourbust, We are thankful to receive a candid review from our valued guests like you. It is good to know that our location was suitable for your needs and your dining experience was satisfactory. I hope that the next time your travels bring you back to the area, we get the opportunity to host you again. Regards, Pam G... More 

Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com for one week, Sunday through Saturday. They charged in advance. At the time of check in I requested that I will check out on Friday and please cancel my Friday and Saturday booking. They refused on my repeated request. This was an exhibition time in Essen and they could easily sale room. At last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Ratnakamal, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the hotel location and level of cleanliness. I am very sorry about the challenges you may have experienced with regard to your reservation. Please... More 

Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a late booking, only one month ago, but, is very clean, central and easy to find. Good internet, not many UK - TV channels, but who cares. Check in was easy & smooth. The hotel was cool and did not require an AC, though raining in September, so can be normal. Took a Taxi from the railway station... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gold Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

prob a 15 min walk from the main train station, but close to the major shopping centres and local theatres. very clean and tidy, buffet breakfast was pretty good. book on line, its cheaper than the walk in rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here in late July during one of the hottest weeks of the year. Most of the rooms in this hotel do not have A/C but it is not widely known. It certainly does not tell you on the website so beware!! For most of the year, it probably does not matter but when I arrived, it was blazing hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Holuby-RX, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff. However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the air conditioning. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

No air-conditioning in rooms 409, 411 and 517. The temperature outside was above 30C and there was no breeze at all. The hotel was apparently full, but we were able to change one of the rooms. We were given fans for the other 2 which didn't really help. The staff and cleanliness were brilliant but I couldn't sleep, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Gail A, Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret that this aspect has negatively impacted your stay. Your experience... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I know the weather was unusual, but this was hot! No aircon in rooms and no way to create a breeze. If the windows were left open then the noise of the street and the metal bins across the road woul keep you awake. Breakfast very good. Waffles, a nice exrtra. Staff all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear jomob, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is great to know you liked the breakfast and the service you received from our staff. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Essen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

Address: Frohnhauser Strasse 6, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Essen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Essen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre Hotel Essen
Essen Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Essen

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay