We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Thea Leymann Strasse 11, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    121
    49
    11
    2
See reviews for
41
51
34
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel located approx 2km north of city centre within 400 metres of Berliner Platz Shopping Centre and Underground station. Underground trains U11,17 & 18 connect with Essen HBF main train station and during our stay we never had to wait more than 3 minutes for a train. Hotel has free WiFi and breakfast is included in the rate. Kettle in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This seemed like a convenient hotel for our return drive from Norway to the UK, but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the service. It is easy to find with plenty of on-street and secure parking. Reception staff were incredibly helpful, giving us tourist information about the city and helping us find activities and restaurants within walking distance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We came here after a long drive. This hotel has very good location, rooms are very neat and at a food standard. Breakfast is included into price = great deal! The only reservation is that hotel parking does not alow cars higher than 2.0m so roof boxes beware (street parking available)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is centrally located. The rooms were exceptionally small for a family of 4. My kids are 9 each and there was no space left to even walk in the room. A big disappointment. Also the aircon did not want to cool the room despite it being 28 degrees. Lastly, they only have aerated water in theb vending machines.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre and that you took the time for writing an assessment. Unfortunately we read that you were not happy with our standard rooms. It would be great to welcome you back again, maybe in one of our Apartments the Essen City Suites? They offer more space because... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was great, quite clean and there was a great room service. The wifi was great too. The only problem we had was with the handle of one of the showers. We had reserved 3 rooms and we stayed there for 6 nights. The breakfast was great and even in the last minutes of breakfast the plates were are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was perfect for a short stay. Nicely situated if you have a car. Good quality low priced hotel. Breakfast good as usual. Room of moderate size(what do you expect for a fair price) clean Yes It worth staying in the Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cardiff, wales, U.K.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was a great price & value. The welcome is not the best for a Holiday Inn chain, receptionsionist had no smile and not very helpful in my opinion. The room was ok but small compared to Holiday Inn Express U.K. The breakfast was ok but not great. The only good thing was the location and price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I apologize for the inconvenience. It is unfortunate that the described error has occurred. However, please be assured that this... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We booked the Holiday Inn Express as it stated it was city centre - it's about 10-15 minute walk from train station if you know where to go. The staff at the hotel were excellent, very helpful and efficient. The hotel seems quite new, it is immaculate. Both the public areas and rooms were spotless. Not sure if I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HIEX_Essen, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking time to evaluate our services. It always is a great pleasure to read that our guests were satisfied with our services. This is always a paramount motivation for all of us, because we take the feedback of our guests very serious. Therefore we thank you again for this... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Place was clean, as were the rooms! Plus it is within walking distance of downtown Essen and Limbecker Platz (with loads and loads of shops!!) is just around the corner. Staff was very friendly and helpful. And breakfast was awesome!! Too much to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We also thank you for this outstanding and detailed evaluation. It is always a great pleasure for all of us to read that our guests were satisfied with our services. Therefore we will communicate your positive commendation to our entire team. We always have the ambition to improve ourselves... More 

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

This is a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express and is located very close to the ThyssenKrupp HQ so ideal if you need to do business there, it's a five minute walk. Rooms are ok, not much room for clothing in the small wardrobe if you have an extended stay staff are friendly and efficient and breakfast is ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre and for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you are feeling well with our services especially our clean rooms and our polite staff. We always have the ambition to improve ourselves and the feedback of our guest will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Stadtkern
Moevenpick Hotel Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#12 of 70 in Essen
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay