We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 68 Essen hotels

Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thea Leymann Strasse 11, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
79%
Ranked #14 of 68 hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dibbis Amsterdam
  • Overview
  • Reviews (185)
  • Photos (45)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • More
true
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    93
    40
    10
    1
See reviews for
24
42
31
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Holiday Inn Express Essen I have stayed at a number of HI Express across the US and i think that lead me to believe that the brand was equivalent to the Courtyard by Marriott- No sir. this hotel is a franchised motel. The bed linen was discolored, and rough, the towels in the bathroom are better used for washing cars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were great value for money - not big but perfect for a short overnight to get ready for MovieWorld - 20min drive away. Location brilliant - if you love cars or a spot of gadget shopping. Breakfast is very good - try to get there before 9 - otherwise its elbow time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you that you have chosen our hotel for your short break. We are pleased that you have felt very comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Henrik Vloeberghs General Manager Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a break to our journey from Wolfenbuttel to Brugge, and was well worth stopping off. Patrick at the check in was very helpful, we stayed as a family of 4. The room was very clean and bathroom facilities brilliant. Sofa bed was a bit tight for the kids to share but they managed. Breakfast included and typical German... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre and for the time you have taken to post your experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our services. If you again get past Essen, we look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Henrik Vloeberghs General Manager Holiday... More

Grimbergen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay in this hotel every 3 months for one night for business purposes. The hotel is Well situated, personel is friendly Room is ok The breakfast is small but for the price ok There is a carpark but i never use it

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for the time you have taken to post your experiences with us on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you are visiting us every three months. See you soon! Kind regards Henrik Vloeberghs General Manager Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre More

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They don't charge the money like 5 star hotels..so don't expect 5 star comfort here...clean room with basic features..though little small in size..bathroom and toilet is relatively spacious.Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Lots of varieties in breakfast and everything is fresh. But one complaint..i like scrambled eggs more than boiled eggs..:-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very new, modern and clean. Friendly reception staff. Convenient underground parking. Good breakfast that's included in the room price. Free wifi is great. Decent location across from a park and just a few minutes from shopping - IKEA and a big shopping mall are very close. The rooms are typical European hotel size - very small. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear S P, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding... More

Paderborn, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A great place to stop over in one room as a family of 4. Excellent price and it even included breakfast and Wifi. It is situated in front a a small park and there are even free parking spaces around. Hotel seemed clean, and had all the basic necessities. Breakfast was very nice considering it was included in the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you and your family have felt comfortable in our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre. Thanks a lot for your good review. If you once again be in 'Essen', we would be delighted to welcome you. More

Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The first impression almost set the scene with the receptionist at first telling us we had only one suite when we had reserved two. She was a bit on the rude side but we decided to overlook since this is Germany. She finally found that we did indeed have two rooms. The rooms were a nice size and we did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

We apologize for the rude nature of our employee at your arrival. We are glad that you felt comfortable in our apartments. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for a night and found this hotel to be good value. Staff was very friendly and room was good Holiday Inn standard with very comfortable beds. We did, however, miss a fridge/minibar, which would have been an added bonus but not a major issue. Breakfast was good, too. Overall definitely a nice hotel with great staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre. Nice to hear that you felt in good hands with us. More

Ninove, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Checkin in was smooth. Receptionist however didn't care to speak english, even after he noticed we weren't german and had difficulties to understand. Room was nice and clean. Not "sound proof" tho like advertised. Wifi was supposed to be free but no username and password were supplied. Breakfast buffet was basic but ok. Checkout was fast. All in all an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Novastar77, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are very delighted to read that you had a smooth and fast check in and check out. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the experience you had with the front desk staff, the WiFi connectivity, and noise challenges. Your comments have been noted and I am... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Address: Thea Leymann Strasse 11, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen
Essen Holiday Inn Express

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (2)

Near Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Expect a warm welcome at the centrally located Holiday Inn Express Essen hotel, 10 minutes by direct subway train from Messe Essen convention centre, and 40 minutes by taxi from Duesseldorf Airport.A quiet setting by a leafy park and excellent transport links make Holiday Inn Express Essen a good city-centre choice. The modern red-brick hotel is just 2 minutes' walk from Berliner Platz subway station, and it's 5 minutes' ride from there to Essen Central Station. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
153

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer