We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Moskauer Strasse 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    64
    48
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
29
19
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Holiday Inn is nicely situated but the room we got was really too small. But It qualifies to the Holiday Inn express standards that I am used to. If you are Passing through Dortmund for a stop over towards the North of germany you can count on this Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
218 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was an odd cross between an American Holiday Inn Express and a European hotel with the worst of both types and few consolations. The room was supposed to have A/C but it looked like no A/C controls I’d ever seen and didn’t work. The breakfast wasn’t any better than a US Holiday Inn Express with none of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear LCargillTucson, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas like the size of the room and parking issues and we take the necessary actions to... More 

austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In general I really like HI Express Hotels because they are everywhere the same. So you really know what you get. Breakfast is ok but nothing special, rooms are not that big but for me really perfect for a short stay. There is coffee/tea maker in the room and everything you need for a comfort stay. We stayed two nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear guest334299hdzzdh179, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you liked the room amenities and how quickly our staff rectified the problem with air conditioning unit. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It seems that we were not able to execute an... More 

London
Level Contributor
239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

If driving across Germany wanting a good hotel in the Dortmund area this is good. Normal German Holiday Inn Express quality. I can't say breakfast was a massive choice, being summer you wouldn't want alot. Frest fruit was a bit lacking and the kiwis were like hard boilled eggs. Car park charge. Well appointed rooms. Quite location. Good wifi internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralf B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ralf Birnstihl General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

The location is a little out of town centre but nicely located to be in the opposite flow of traffic for me to get to my work site so the commute was fine especially with the roadworks. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express, nice room, mine was very quiet. Breakfast in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralf B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ralf Birnstihl General Manager More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Convenient for everything but convenient for nothing in particular In the middle of no where Has a bar with no atmosphere in a business park A nice italian resteruant is within walking distance. Very good if the location fits your needs as a stopover

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralf B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ralf Birnstihl General Manager More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We often stay in Holiday Inn Express hotels and are rarely disappointed. This example was pleasantly different in that the design and décor was modern and not entirely in the mould of many in the chain. Everything else was much as expected with breakfast being slightly above the usual standard. The hotel did let us down by making a mistake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Rick S Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is our pleasure to hear that you liked the room accommodations in particular with modern decor and above average quality of breakfast. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We regret that confusion concerning the rate for daily... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Easy to find hotel, out of the centre but near enough to the town on the U-Bahn which is close by. Clean, nice rooms but the Hotel staff were amongst the most friendliest, helpful staff anywhere I have encountered. They made us feel very welcome. Good Beer in the small bar, and a decent continental breakfast. Also sighted in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralf B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear 801Radz, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Patrizia Altinisik Operations Manager More 

Darlington UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I chose this hotel as my son and I had booked the Dortmund Adrenaline Trip which is the football weekend in Dortmund. The package was booked through a German company called Best Travel and I was very pleased we chose this hotel. It is only about 10 minutes on the U Bahn into the city centre and the nearest station... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralf B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear 27Jay, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Patrizia Altinisik Operations Manager More 

London UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Had a newly renovated room with modern decor which was completely different to the usual dreary HIE norm. Well located hotel and great for a few nights on a business trip. Good selection at breakfast. 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ralf B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung unseres Hotels. Es freut uns, dass Ihnen Ihr Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen hat. Unsere Mitarbeiter freuen sich... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

197 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
3.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#10 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
3.5 mi away
Pullman Dortmund
Pullman Dortmund
#3 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay