We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tryp Dortmund

#20 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Emil Figge Strasse 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Tryp Dortmund
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
TomekJD Gdansk, Poland
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
12
22
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is located in Dortmund suburb near the university. The price I paid lately was not so good as I skipped the breakfast due to very early leave. Besides the service was good and the rooms were clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear TomekJD, Thank you very much for your recent visit to our TRYP Hotel in Dortmund and for rating our service as good. We look very much forward to welcoming you back! Best regards, Vicente Vives Hotel Manager More 

Wuppertal, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The hotel is located near the TU Dortmund. We have been there a couple of times for meetings, making use of the conference facilities. This is actually a review of the restaurant. Nice ambiente, perfect service. We had a 3-course meal of which we could choose the main course. My choice of tagliatelle with salmon fillet was delicious, the chocolate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Raffy_Burki, Thank you very much for your recent visit to our TRYP Dortmund Hotel and for rating our restaurant as “excellent”. I am very happy to know that you had a fantastic meal and that you are especially mentioning our service team as well as the great food. The kitchen team around their chef, Anto Karlovic, is delighted and... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Just spent 2 nights at Tryp Hotel, Dortmund. Weekend visit to watch the football. Hotel is clean. Rooms big enough, beds comfy. En suite facilities excellent. Bar area small but more than fine for a late night beer. Breakfast as good as anywhere I've stayed in Europe. Simple effective but plenty of choice and enough to fuel your day. Downside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Ptg1884 , Thank you for having chosen TRYP Dortmund for your recent visit to Dortmund. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay a lot and that you found our staff very friendly. The staff is our most important asset we always strive to make the guests’ stay a memorable one. Again, we highly appreciate your friendly... More 

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
83 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

It's a good location close to major roads but not so close you can hear them. I stayed here a week but I have to say that despite the excellent service and clean room, something was missing. The hotel lacks character and a heart, although it is much frequented by young Japanese ladies. I ate dinner which was good but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Tim J, Thank you very much for your recent visit to our TRYP Dortmund Hotel and your positive comment in TripAvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our service excellent and our rooms very clean. I regret that you found us without heart and that is why you did... More 

Amsterdam
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
69 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Looked for a hotel underway for 1 night and got a very good price for this hotel. Otherwise, I would look for a different one ... Very clean and functional, but lacking any kind of welcoming sphere. Located in the middle of nowhere (far from the city center), but you still have to pay for parking, you can still smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear MiamiKeyWest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review in Tripadvisor and for bringing your experience to my attention. I’m pleased that you felt our rooms clean and functional however, I’m disappointed to hear that you weren’t as happy with the location. I would very much like to give you our Email and if you do decide... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dortmund hotels

Dortmund
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Hotel is located very close to the University. We've stayed at the superior room overlooking to the stadium. The room was very spacious. Sweets and sparkling water as welcome gift was so thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent, far above our expectations. You have to pay for internet and car parking.

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear SDeniz80, Thank you so much for your lovely comment in TripAdvisor. Such nice words are always nice to hear. It makes all staff feel proud of the effort done. We have done lately a few changes in our breakfast, so it is great to hear that you did like it. Also in our rooms we did last month a... More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed one night for football and found it convenient for Signal Iduna. Easy to get to without car via University station a few minutes walk away. Room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a lot of road noise if you open window becasuse it's beside busy road. Breakfast buffet was was very good, excellent choice. Bar was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear JohnandTricia, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit. It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your trip to Dortmund. We hope you had a nice football evening. Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they feel comfortable and at home. Also your... More 

Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The rooms are very clean and tidy, spacious even. Staff is very polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet is really very nice and will make you run for well into the day before your next meal. I appreciate the free wifi to check emails is perfect, this hotel has everything you need for a short business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Aldi87, Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to Dortmund. We are delighted that you had an extraordinary stay with us. Your comments regarding our staff are most appreciated. We spend a lot of time training them to provide a special customer care and we take great pride in all we do. We like to make... More 

Marion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

It is an ok hotel. The resturant is good, and breakfast is Amazing! Rooms are typical size. Unfortunately no drink vending on the floors any more, but the bar is open late in the lobby. There is almost nothing around the area. The nearest resturant is about 10 to 15 minutes walk. Overall, for that area it seems like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan V, Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. Firstly, great to hear that you appreciated our restaurant and specially our breakfast. Regarding your feedback about the vending machines in the corridors, just let you know that we had to take them away because of security reasons. No vending machines are allowed in corridors, as... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Great hotel, clean, rooms great. Breakfast excellent, staff friendly and seem to take pride in their jobs. Perfect if you are wanting to stay outside main city centre or are going to football. Would definately visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear specilak1410, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. It’s fantastic to hear that you were so pleased with the room and our attention. It is also a great motivation for all us to hear such nice words about the service provided. I´m also sure you did have a nice time in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities