We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Dortmund hotels

Tryp Dortmund

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Emil Figge Strasse 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Tryp Dortmund
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tryp Dortmund to your Saves list
48%
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
sdeniz80 Dortmund
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
10
16
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Dortmund
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is located very close to the University. We've stayed at the superior room overlooking to the stadium. The room was very spacious. Sweets and sparkling water as welcome gift was so thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent, far above our expectations. You have to pay for internet and car parking.

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear SDeniz80, Thank you so much for your lovely comment in TripAdvisor. Such nice words are always nice to hear. It makes all staff feel proud of the effort done. We have done lately a few changes in our breakfast, so it is great to hear that you did like it. Also in our rooms we did last month a... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night for football and found it convenient for Signal Iduna. Easy to get to without car via University station a few minutes walk away. Room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a lot of road noise if you open window becasuse it's beside busy road. Breakfast buffet was was very good, excellent choice. Bar was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear JohnandTricia, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit. It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your trip to Dortmund. We hope you had a nice football evening. Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they feel comfortable and at home. Also your... More

Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are very clean and tidy, spacious even. Staff is very polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet is really very nice and will make you run for well into the day before your next meal. I appreciate the free wifi to check emails is perfect, this hotel has everything you need for a short business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Aldi87, Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to Dortmund. We are delighted that you had an extraordinary stay with us. Your comments regarding our staff are most appreciated. We spend a lot of time training them to provide a special customer care and we take great pride in all we do. We like to make... More

Marion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

It is an ok hotel. The resturant is good, and breakfast is Amazing! Rooms are typical size. Unfortunately no drink vending on the floors any more, but the bar is open late in the lobby. There is almost nothing around the area. The nearest resturant is about 10 to 15 minutes walk. Overall, for that area it seems like a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan V, Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. Firstly, great to hear that you appreciated our restaurant and specially our breakfast. Regarding your feedback about the vending machines in the corridors, just let you know that we had to take them away because of security reasons. No vending machines are allowed in corridors, as... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Great hotel, clean, rooms great. Breakfast excellent, staff friendly and seem to take pride in their jobs. Perfect if you are wanting to stay outside main city centre or are going to football. Would definately visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear specilak1410, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. It’s fantastic to hear that you were so pleased with the room and our attention. It is also a great motivation for all us to hear such nice words about the service provided. I´m also sure you did have a nice time in... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is lighted, nice reception area and restaurant/bar. The rooms are lighted, clean with nice furnitures. The bed was comfortable and so was the bathroom. The area is quite isolated, and the nearest DB station is approximately 10 minutes away. The reason I give it an average grade is the internet policy. You receive 50MB free per day ?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear deBotton, many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed nearly everything with us. The only thing you didn´t like was the WIFI conection. We do offer 50 MB free of charge and an unlimited access day use for 4,95€. We do explain it very clearly... More

Vejle Municipality, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I would have given it 5 stars, if I did not have problems with the pricing of breakfast and hotel - the booking price was quite different from the reality, and had to pay EUR 50 extra ! Apart from that the hotel was clean and nice, the rooms super, and the breakfast EXCELLENT !

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Hello Jakob K, i am Vicente Vives, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund. Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your comment. Maybe at your next stay you have the oppertunity to join our program Melia Rewards. Here you can get nice benefits. We hope to see you soon! Best regards, Vicente Vives. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Advertised as Free internet. Free internet only lasted 5mins and within this 5mins the internet was so slow it didn't even load one web page. When I spoke to staff on the desk they simply laughed and said "yeah you need to pay now" Room was very warm and power cable had been removed from air conditioning unit so it... More

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Hello MrH, i am Vicente Vives, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund. Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your comment. We offer our guests 50MB free internet. Enough to check Emails and visit some homepages. In the rooms we have no air conditioning, it´s just a ventilation system for fresh air without power cable.... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel was approximately twenty minutes from Dortmund Airport and it cost us 30 Euros by taxi. We arrived very early - 10am - but the receptionist was able to give us our rooms as they were already ready. This was so very convenient for us as we had business meetings that day from 3pm onwards and were able to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Hello katerocks4, i am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund. Thank you very much for choosing us, your helpful comment and your great assessment. We hope to see you soon in our Hotel. Best regards, Susanne Ficht - General Manager. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here last month for 2 nights as part of a business trip. Nice clean hotel with good size rooms. Hotel restaurant had good food and the staff were very polite and helpful. Located about 5 miles from the city center part of a university campus

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Hello luxurytraveller_9, i am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund. Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your comment. We hope to see you soon, whether on a businesstrip or private! Best regards, Susanne Ficht. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tryp Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Dortmund

Address: Emil Figge Strasse 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Dortmund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Dortmund
Dortmund Sol Melia

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay