We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tryp Dortmund

#21 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Emil Figge Strasse 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Tryp Dortmund
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
ptg1884
Review This Hotel

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
11
22
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 2 nights at Tryp Hotel, Dortmund. Weekend visit to watch the football. Hotel is clean. Rooms big enough, beds comfy. En suite facilities excellent. Bar area small but more than fine for a late night beer. Breakfast as good as anywhere I've stayed in Europe. Simple effective but plenty of choice and enough to fuel your day. Downside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Ptg1884 , Thank you for having chosen TRYP Dortmund for your recent visit to Dortmund. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay a lot and that you found our staff very friendly. The staff is our most important asset we always strive to make the guests’ stay a memorable one. Again, we highly appreciate your friendly... More 

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
82 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

It's a good location close to major roads but not so close you can hear them. I stayed here a week but I have to say that despite the excellent service and clean room, something was missing. The hotel lacks character and a heart, although it is much frequented by young Japanese ladies. I ate dinner which was good but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Tim J, Thank you very much for your recent visit to our TRYP Dortmund Hotel and your positive comment in TripAvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you found our service excellent and our rooms very clean. I regret that you found us without heart and that is why you did... More 

Amsterdam
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
69 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Looked for a hotel underway for 1 night and got a very good price for this hotel. Otherwise, I would look for a different one ... Very clean and functional, but lacking any kind of welcoming sphere. Located in the middle of nowhere (far from the city center), but you still have to pay for parking, you can still smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear MiamiKeyWest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review in Tripadvisor and for bringing your experience to my attention. I’m pleased that you felt our rooms clean and functional however, I’m disappointed to hear that you weren’t as happy with the location. I would very much like to give you our Email and if you do decide... More 

Dortmund
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Hotel is located very close to the University. We've stayed at the superior room overlooking to the stadium. The room was very spacious. Sweets and sparkling water as welcome gift was so thoughtful. Breakfast was excellent, far above our expectations. You have to pay for internet and car parking.

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear SDeniz80, Thank you so much for your lovely comment in TripAdvisor. Such nice words are always nice to hear. It makes all staff feel proud of the effort done. We have done lately a few changes in our breakfast, so it is great to hear that you did like it. Also in our rooms we did last month a... More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed one night for football and found it convenient for Signal Iduna. Easy to get to without car via University station a few minutes walk away. Room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a lot of road noise if you open window becasuse it's beside busy road. Breakfast buffet was was very good, excellent choice. Bar was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear JohnandTricia, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your visit. It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your trip to Dortmund. We hope you had a nice football evening. Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that they feel comfortable and at home. Also your... More 

Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The rooms are very clean and tidy, spacious even. Staff is very polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet is really very nice and will make you run for well into the day before your next meal. I appreciate the free wifi to check emails is perfect, this hotel has everything you need for a short business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Director General at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Aldi87, Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to Dortmund. We are delighted that you had an extraordinary stay with us. Your comments regarding our staff are most appreciated. We spend a lot of time training them to provide a special customer care and we take great pride in all we do. We like to make... More 

Marion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

It is an ok hotel. The resturant is good, and breakfast is Amazing! Rooms are typical size. Unfortunately no drink vending on the floors any more, but the bar is open late in the lobby. There is almost nothing around the area. The nearest resturant is about 10 to 15 minutes walk. Overall, for that area it seems like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan V, Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. Firstly, great to hear that you appreciated our restaurant and specially our breakfast. Regarding your feedback about the vending machines in the corridors, just let you know that we had to take them away because of security reasons. No vending machines are allowed in corridors, as... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Great hotel, clean, rooms great. Breakfast excellent, staff friendly and seem to take pride in their jobs. Perfect if you are wanting to stay outside main city centre or are going to football. Would definately visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear specilak1410, We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. It’s fantastic to hear that you were so pleased with the room and our attention. It is also a great motivation for all us to hear such nice words about the service provided. I´m also sure you did have a nice time in... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is lighted, nice reception area and restaurant/bar. The rooms are lighted, clean with nice furnitures. The bed was comfortable and so was the bathroom. The area is quite isolated, and the nearest DB station is approximately 10 minutes away. The reason I give it an average grade is the internet policy. You receive 50MB free per day ?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Dear deBotton, many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed nearly everything with us. The only thing you didn´t like was the WIFI conection. We do offer 50 MB free of charge and an unlimited access day use for 4,95€. We do explain it very clearly... More 

Vejle Municipality, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I would have given it 5 stars, if I did not have problems with the pricing of breakfast and hotel - the booking price was quite different from the reality, and had to pay EUR 50 extra ! Apart from that the hotel was clean and nice, the rooms super, and the breakfast EXCELLENT !

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund, responded to this review

Hello Jakob K, i am Vicente Vives, the General Manager at TRYP Dortmund. Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for your comment. Maybe at your next stay you have the oppertunity to join our program Melia Rewards. Here you can get nice benefits. We hope to see you soon! Best regards, Vicente Vives. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question