We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 281 Cologne hotels

Novotel Koeln City

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Süd)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Novotel Koeln City to your Saves list
Novotel Koeln City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #37 of 281 hotels in Cologne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
TPost Norway
  • Overview
  • Reviews (695)
  • Photos (65)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    373
    116
    19
    7
See reviews for
292
150
51
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

As other Novotels, this offers clean and fairly new / newly-revamped interior, and are kid-friendly. Location is decent. It's easy to walk to the city centre (Kölnerdom), but it might be a bit too long and too many streets to cross for others. For those, there is a tram/metro stop a few blocks away. There are also few shops and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We tried to find something that the hotel hadnt thought of - and failed. Not cheap but good value for money. Room was functional and comfortable. The late check-out on Sunday was fantastic as was the fact that breakfast was served until 1pm. The breakfast itself is excellent and we were lucky that the weather permitted us to enjoy it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear FlannoUk, thank you very much for your great feedback. We will share your comments with our staff. We hope you will choose our Novotel again when you visit Cologne in the near future. Kind regards. More

Brugge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here for one night. Rooms were clean and spacious. But the hotel is quite far away from the city center. And there are no restaurants in the neighbourhood. If you don't mind walking, it's value for money. We didn't have breakfast, the view from the restaurant was a big street and not very attractive. We had breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear BarbaraGes, thank you very much for your feedback. We are wondering about your comments to the location of the hotel. It is just a 15 minutes walk (or 7 minutes by bus) to reach the city center. Also a lot of restaurants are in the surrounding of the hotel. However, we hope you will choose our hotel again when... More

The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located close to the river, walking distance from restaurant area. Parking (paid) is available underneath the hotel. My room had quite a funny layout, like a big L. Desk located far away from the bed, and the small window has no curtain so that as soon the sun comes up it shines on your bed. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Pimmetje_7, thank you very much for your detailed feedback here. Your room was one of the bigger rooms. That was the reason that it seams like a L. For the inconvenient about the curtain we apologize. We hope you will choose our hotel again when you plan your next trip to our beautiful city. Best regards. More

Fayetteville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Room was clean, spacious, and the breakfast buffet was beyond our expectations. We had plenty of space and convenient for walking since river and walking path was across the street. We traveled with a group and check in was handled expeditiously.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Inhaber at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear Kristin C, thank you very much for your kind feedback here. We are happy to see, that you have had a pleasent stay with us and we hope, you will choose our hotel again when you plan your next trip to Cologne. Best regards. More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Your usual budget business hotel, except it was expensive and even more sparse than one would expect. The food was average to poor, the rooms were poor, the bathrooms poor, and the service was acceptable. I am confident there are better options within the same budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear David W, thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenient you got. All our rooms have the same design and style. We are very sorry that you did not like it. If you visit Cologne again, please contact us and we will recomment you some other hotels from our company between 2 and 4 stars.... More

California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Novotel in Cologne, while on business. This hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. I had a rental car on this trip and parking space was ample and easily located in the basement. Check-in process was quick and efficient. I received a room on 2nd floor and even though I was just on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear N231SD, thank you very much for your kind feedback here. We are happy to know that you have had a pleasent stay with us. We hope to see you again in Cologne in the near future. Best regards. More

Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
120 hotel reviews
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Late arrival so didn't dine, too late to order a proper packed breakfast, and out early so only managed to grab a couple of rolls to go, as wife running late and train for Brussels wouldn't wait. Standard City hotel, we had a superior room which was quite spacious until you got to the bathroom which was tiny by comparison.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear jj-the-jetsetter, thank you very much for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. For the inconvenient you have had we apologize. But we can't understand your comment about the Wifi. This is free of charge all day long and not for only 30 minutes. We hope you will choose us again when you come back to Cologne so that we can... More

Leamington Spa, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
90 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

In many part of Wales, there are railway stations which call themselves "Someplace Road". After a while, you get to understand that really those places are not in "Someplace", but are indeed on the road to Someplace, and to get to that Someplace it is going to be a bit of a hike. The Novotel Koln City has educated me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review

Dear RobLeamingtonSpa_UK, thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenient you have had. But we also wondering a little bit. The bus stop who brings you direct to the man station, DOM or shopping streets, stops around a 2 minutes walk behind the hotel. To reach the city center by feet is around 15 minutes and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Novotel Koeln City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#15 Family Hotel in Cologne #18 Luxury Hotel in Cologne #18 Best Value Hotel in Cologne #28 Business Hotel in Cologne #32 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
222

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer