We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alt Deutz

Hotel website
Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alt Deutz
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Alt Deutz
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    24
    13
    16
See reviews for
12
27
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip to cologne. The room was small but ok for me, cause i was traveling alone. The room had a flat tv, and I got water and fruits for free. Wifi connection was also for free. Breakfast was it the dependence nearby and worth paying for it. The choice of food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights for business with my wife. The staff where very friendly and helpful and allowed us to check out late. Excellent value for money. The rooms where clean and tidy. The location was excellent for my business meetings and it also allow my wife to get out and see the sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One my worst experience on my business trip to the IDS2015 to Cologne. I have asked for a double room 2 single beds and when I arrived the receptionist told us we wish to have 2 single beds but unfortunately they do not have. I told them I made the reservation last year and it was a special request the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice and friendly receptionists. Breakfast was amazing! The room we stayed in was quite small but clean. We had a big flat TV, free wifi, water and fruits. Very good value for money. Negative: parking is around the corner. But not too far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice private little hotel / sehr schönes privates kleines Hotel. Friendy and helpful staff / sehr netter Empfang und hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter. Exceptional breakfast with huge choice and good value for money / sehr schönes Frühstücksbuffet mit viel Auswahl unf zu sehr gutem Preis. Room was small but very tidy and nicely decorated / Only negative point is the missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte Inna M, recht herzlichen Dank für Ihre freundliche und positive Rückmeldung zum Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel Alt... More 

Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room at the Alt-Deutz for our employees to stay at during a HUGE expo in March, but unfortunately we had to cancel it. We did so within the cancellation guidelines asking for 2 weeks' notice. However, since we are in the US, the time change had the notice arrive in Germany mere minutes after the deadline and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear lamicane, first of all we would like to thank you for your reservation at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and for sharing your impressions. The reservation you refer to was a very remarkable case. We recall all facts in detail. We can surely not recall to have been rude. To call someone rude, only because he may not decide in... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived in the reception, one of the staff was friendly but the other one was extremely unhelpful. We asked her about parking hour rates but she had no idea how it works. She said it's not a parking lot from the hotel so she has no info about it. I have to go to the parking garage ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Cici Q, first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and for sharing your impressions. We are very sorry to read you had such an unpleasant experience at the time of check-in. We would like to state that of course all our team members are held to being open and... More 

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Alt Deutz for two nights. The hotel was very accommodating and the staff was friendly, even allowing us to check-in early. They were helpful and spoke english very well, answering all of our questions. The first night we stayed in a double and the room was comfortable and clean. The second night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear jm12301993, thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your very kind and positive feedback. We are happy to read your stay was an enjoyable one and you had such a good time in Cologne. Especially we would like to thank you for your positive comments on your check-in experience; of course we always... More 

Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay at Hotel Alt Deutz was average at best, but that wasn't the worst part about the experience. After I had paid the receptionist, I check my account balance the same day and realised they had charged me twice! I contacted them ongoing for over 2 weeks, sending evidence such as screenshots of my bank account statement, which showed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Ellen S, first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. We regret that you found your stay not overall satisfying, which is mainly due to the misunderstanding regarding your credit card balances. We would like to explain again, as previously by mail and phone, that you were definitely not charged... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been visiting Cologne on business for over 30 years. Stayed at many hotels. For an exhibition in March that is held every 2 years, my company booked several rooms in 4 locations, one of which was the Alt-Deutz. We have had to cancel rooms at 2 of the locations. Some hotels have free cancellation policy until almost the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear StephenPohlmann, we would like to thank you for your review on Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and to express our regret, that you do not agree with our hotel’s policies. Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena offers a very fair, competitive and up-to-date pricing, which is reviewed on a daily basis. As already discussed by phone and in person, we ask for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question