We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alt Deutz

3.0 of 5 Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alt Deutz
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Alt Deutz
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
23
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked as a party of 8 to visit the German markets. Hotel was excellent, good clean rooms, decent variety for breakfast, handy transport links, just what you want for a short stay. WE arrived early and thought we would have to wait for the rooms but checked in early to allow us more time to shop - great. Hotel staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You can only speak as you find - and we found everything was to our liking, and there have been more improvements since our last visit 3 years ago. It's clean, comfortable, friendly and in a very convenient location for the Deutz Messe train station and tram stops although it's an easy walk into the central district too. Yes this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the best location, but is close to a train station. Not the best bathroons (no doors in the shower, bathroom gets wet after sower), no breakfast included. But the staff is great. Everybody is so friendly. Hard to find so nice environment in germany. The breakfast is ok for the price. They have a coffee machine in the lobby.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Ana Paula F thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your kind feedback on our hotel. Especially we want to thank you for the compliments to our team. With regards to the location we would like to explain that our hotel is very centrally located in Cologne-Deutz and within walking distance not only... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a very good hotel for those who are staying few days in Cologne. Comfortable, good breakfest,near bakeries and restaurants. For the football fans, it is near Lanxess arena. The Wi-Fi/WLAN is also of good quality and free-cost. The service is fine, and the staff is friendly and receptive. The only problem: Stairs. If you have heavy luggage, prepare yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Lucas A,, thank you very much for your kind and friendly feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. We are very pleased that you found your stay at our hotel an enjoyable one and had a good time in Cologne. Especially we would like to thank you for your appreciation of the free wifi connection, which is... More 

Lubeck, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although I stayed just over night, I quite liked the hotel's atmosphere. The personnel was very friendly and professional, the breakfast was rich and tasty and the room was large enough for one person. I have to say that the bathroom was exceptionally large, which was good. The bed was comfortable. Also they gave me a WiFi access code for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Markus N, thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and liked the room you stayed in as well as our extended breakfast buffet. Also we would like to thank you for your appreciation of... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights during the Cologne Carnival and paid Eur 450 in total for my stay. At this price, the hotel is not worth it. But at their standard price of Eur22 per night, it may well be. Positives: - Fairly well located. Close to Lanxess arena, and you can walk to the tourist areas on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear TMM89, thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your kind and detailed feedback on our hotel. First of all we would like to say that there is no standard price on offer for our hotel. Our pricing always offers excellent value for money, based on the general pricing of Cologne’s hotel market. Meaning, we offer... More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Room was small but clean. I was glad we were on the first floor as there was no lift. Bit of a struggle with suitcases. Breakfast was in the annexe hotel around the corner. Poor hot breakfast, cold buffet acceptable but not worth the money. Cheaper options in the same street. Close to the Arena... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Bill P, first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your friendly feedback regarding our hotel. With regards to the non-existing lift we kindly ask for your understanding that this is due to the general layout of our historical hotel building and something we cannot influence on unfortunately. On... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We recently complained about this hotel to be met with a polite reply mentioning the word 'legal'. Very little food available at breakfast time and no clean plates to eat from or clean tables to sit at. One nice member of staff unable to cope with breakfast service and taking payments on a computer system she couldn't operate. Tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Claire T, first of all we would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your feedback on our hotel. With regards to your comments we would like to state that in general our extended breakfast buffet offers a wide range of various food and drink choices and is refilled regularly during breakfast times.... More 

Norrtalje, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Nice little hotel with good price and nice staff. Room was poor and with a very small double bed. Thought i had booked 2 separate beds. No wc or shower in the room. But wasn't there to stay at hotel room :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Uffe_100, thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your feedback on our hotel. With regards to your comment on the room you stayed in we would have been happy to have some more detail on why the room was poor – even more as your description tells us you stayed in a newly-renovated... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Very expensive for such a poor room with no AC and up a never ending number of stairs which are poorly illuminated. No elevator avaialble. Asked for twin beds but given a room with a double, fortunately we were able to separate them as the hotel were unwilling to do so. In fairness the hotel allowed us access to drop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Roger R, thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your feedback on your stay. We are sorry to read you were not fully satisfied with your stay and at the same time would be happy if you would like to contact us directly and letting us know what exactly you found poor at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Alt Deutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alt Deutz

Address: Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alt Deutz 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alt Deutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cologne
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cologne

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay