We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alt Deutz

Hotel website
Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alt Deutz
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Alt Deutz
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    27
    14
    19
See reviews for
12
33
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

In the period we booked we had not so much choice, Cologne was overbooked due a tradeshow in our Industry. The check in was uncomfortable, the door was closed and there was no reception. After we called the number , somebody came and helped us. We had a smokefree room with two single beds. The room was small, old fashioned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The building itself is ready for a renovation. However, the hotel works fine inside, with all the comfort you should expect regarding the price you pay. A big pro is the fresh fruit which is always available. I found the mattress comfortable and the toilet and bathroom clean. On the other side, I must say that my room`s floor was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a place for wild people who like to stay with insects. If you like to sleep with insects go for it, if you don't stay away from this place. Hotel receptionist refused to offer another room even if he saw the insects, well unless I pay extra to get another room. I know this sounds ridiculous but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed there for one night and enjoyed my stay. The staff was very friendly, offering complimentary water and fruits on our arrival and making sure we were feeling welcome. The bed was comfortable and the room very big and the breakfast was really good. On the downside, the building has no elevator (luckly we had small bags), the internet is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came back to my beloved Cologne this year with my husband and we stayed in this nice little hotel an the 'other' side of Cologne. The room was basic but nicely decorated though and had everything we needed. Wifi was for free and also fruits downstairs at the reception. We got a new bottle of water every day for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No lift.. very very slow WiFi, very expensive, receptionist looking rude.. Sleep quality is not good, we request for extra bed & extra bed was pathetic. Overall the worst experience ever in Germany. There are so many hotels in cologne so please don't waste your money here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneve
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After I paid 218 € for one night in this hotel, I got an email from the hotel saying « to ensure a comfortable arrival we would like to inform you that you will check in at our annex around the corner. It features equal services and facilities » . As I doubted, the Owner (of course a clever person)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

What a surprise. Don't worry when u see the hotel from outside. A house charming by former times . Somehow around the 70th. When u ring the bell the entrance supports that feeling. The reception looks provisorily . Anyway, the staff was the first plus. Everything Was explained. The room was small but perfectly clean not more what I expected.it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The hotel is close to the Koeln Messe. The recepcionisy was always friendly and very helpful. The room was clean. The shower was great. Internet did not work at all. Good hotel with free fruits and water. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear Екатерина К, thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your positive feedback. We are very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and would choose our hotel as your place to stay in Cologne, again. Especially we would like to say thank you for your recognition of our complimentary guest services, such... More 

Heemskerk, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

The room was clean. The shower was great. Wifi was perfect. The hotel is close to the Koeln Messe. The only thing I missed was a small restaurant for the evening. Overall I had very a pleasant stay and will visit your hotel again next year for FIBO

Was this review helpful? Yes
SR_Robinson, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz, responded to this review

Dear matrixmum, we would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. We are very pleased to read your stay was an enjoyable one and you liked the hotel and its central location. By the way: we are not only very close to KölnMesse, but also to LanxessArena if one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities