We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

art'otel cologne

4.0 of 5 Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
art'otel cologne
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    212
    89
    35
    17
See reviews for
34
200
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
london
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is on the banks of the river, by the lindt chocolate museum and just a 15-20 min walk to the main shopping area. very modern and quite sparse rooms but large and very clean. will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our location is supurb for a major city as it is right in the heart of town, but overlooking the Rhine. Hope to see you soon. Philip More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunate to say but not a pleasant experience. The front office girl staff were the worst and specialised more in arguing than solving guest issues. The carpets on floors were stained. The room sizes were decent but that's about it. The start itself was so negative that even if there was anything positive we could never see it but i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry that your visit was clouded by the appearance of the carpets. I understand that no matter how good the staff are, we cannot improve the situation as quickly as we would have liked, however we have changed all all carpets now on the fith floor, and by the end of April all carpets in the... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice modern room. was clean and spacious. bit quirky with the sink not being in the bathroom but the living area. coffee facility in the room. hotel is approx. 15 mins walk from the what you can call centre (longer walk to the DOM). didn't eat in the hotel as we thought breakfast was overpriced. would stay there again. room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your very good review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, and found the coffee machine so useful. The location is definitely great as it is only a short walk to the centre of the city, and yet you are in the heart of the Rheinauhafen where all the restaurants and bars are located.... More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to adore this hotel.... and did in some areas. Other areas were disappointing. First, the great stuff. The room was very large. We had one at the back of the hotel that faced the Rhine. The soundproofing was excellent, and although there was lots of white it didn't feel clinical due to the splashy colours of the odd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your kind review. I am so pleased that in the main the room was geat, and the good news is that we are currently changing all the white carpets in the bedrooms and the corridors. We have already done the 5th floor, and it takes about 2 weeks a floor, so we should be finished... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to stay here after having an excellent stay at the Art'otel in Amsterdam. Unfortunately we were somewhat disappointed with this hotel. The location isn't too bad but not central, about 15 minute walk from the markets and further from the train station. Very close to the chocolate museum however. The lobby reeked of cigarette smoke as people smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were upset by the smokers at the front door, which unfortunately is a problem fro a number of hotels in Germany. I am investigating building a glass smoking room infront of the hotel where guests can stand away from the hotel, as to be honest the mess made by... More 

Lenggries, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights in this optimal located City Hotel. It is placed at the Rheinau Hafen. The room was quiet and clean. Showers were very clean thus we spent a good time. Breakfast was delicious.Every interesting place in Cologne was easy to reach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for your perfect review! I hope you will come and visit us again next Christmas. Philip More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we recently stayed here over christmas (arrived christmas eve and left day after boxing day) with our just under 2 year old little boy the hotel was well presented (with exception of the light coloured carpets which to be fair were probably no worse than any other hotel you ever stay at just the marks were a lot more noticeable!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Thanks for your near perfect review, and the one negative issue (the carpet colour) will soon be resolved! We have already changed all the carpets on the 5th floor to a new darker shade, and over the next two months we hope to complete the rest of the hotel. Many thanks again, and we hope to see you... More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful room with nice art work and a great view on the Rhein. The staff was also very friendly. On the downside we were quite unhappy with some things that made our stay not as good as expected for a hotel in this price range: - the carpet in the corridor and the room was very unclean (e.g. big stain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the review. The carpets are all being changed to a newer darker colour, and the 5th floor has been completed and looks magnificent. The rest will be done by easter. I am not sure whay the shower water goes everywhere, so perhaps you could let me know which room number you were in and I will... More 

High Wycombe
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So the room and the view was really good, The art work was cool, the minor problems that I faced were four: the first was the sink and mirror, water went everywhere and the mirror would have been better if it could slide to the sink, The internet on the TV did not work which was annoying the bed also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks you for your review. I am sorry the bottle opened was missing from your room, and the TV internet did not function. We did have an issue with the system, but it has mainly been resolved now. I am sorry for the inconvenience. There is however free WIFI available in all rooms. I hope you will return... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room had a view of the Rhein and was nice and large (more than expected for a standard room). The coffee machine in the room was a welcome touch. The rain head shower was delightful! The breakfast buffet offerings were tasty and they provided some gluten free bread for me which was very appreciated. Much to our pleasure, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for the great review, and I am so pleased all was to your pleasure. Yes we now also conform to the new European allergy regulations that state that we must clearly display all the allergins that may appear in food. There are over 10 allergins now that are controlled, and our team have all ben trained... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cologne

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay