We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

art'otel cologne

4.0 of 5 Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
art'otel cologne
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    196
    86
    32
    17
See reviews for
33
183
32
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (479)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time we have been to Cologne and the second time we have stayed at this hotel. The hotel itself looks very plain on the outside but inside it is just beautiful, full of art and very trendy. The rooms are spacious, clean and perfect and the bed is really comfortable. There is a large walk in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for the fantastic review, and I am so glad you came back for a second time. We have spent a small fortune having the white carpets cleaned, and it is like the Forth Road Bridge - you clean one day, and coffee, wine, or dirty feet destroy the appearance in a short time! The good news... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent three nights here and have enjoyed it. The room overlooks the road but you dont hear a thing and as we were out all the time it wasnt worth upgrading to another river facing room at 10 euros a night. The room is huge and that helps. Huge bed but still cannot figure out why they put the duvets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your great review, and in particular I am please you loved the shower and the breakfast buffet! We are proud of our hotel and the staff, and we are always happy to have good feedback! Happy Christmas Philip More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel, lobby, hallways and rooms badly need new carpets, a new coat of paint and the dirt and grime needs to be scrubbed away urgently. The so called 'View of the River' is a joke; there is a large building right in front of it, blocking the view from right to left. Coffee making facility in the room without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review. I apologise for the appearance of some of the hotel during our refurbishment. We have now finished the heavy part of the plan, and in January we will start to change all the carpets to a darker pattern. I am sure if you return, which I hope you will, you weill see a... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a really enjoyable stay at the hotel whilst visiting the Christmas markets in Cologne. The hotel was far nicer than I had anticipated. Our room overlooked the Rhine, was a good size and was kept spotlessly clean. I agree with the other comments on the site regarding the carpets, yes they are stained and in need of replacing, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the review. The hotel is perfectly situated, and the environment and staff attitude is a great difference for many people. Naturally this year our full refurbishment has put a strain on things, however in January 2015 the carpets all get changed, the restaurant gets refurbished, and things will look reall fantastic. Many thanks Philip More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great hotel. Booked this for one night while we did a 2 day visit to the Christmas Markets. We got the train in from the airport and then walked through the town and christmas markets to the Rhine. This hotel is just away from the centre but on the banks of the Rhine. It is next to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your fabulous and most generous review! We will also make things even beter in January when we refurbish Chino Latin Restaurant, and replace all the carpets in the bedrooms and the corridors. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Philip More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend away. It is really excellent value for money and very central for Cologne. The room was really big and had everything you would need. Quick check in and really efficient staff. One of our friends had a problem with their room and the hotel immediately changed their room. Recommend for a no frills weekend away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your generous review. I hope you will visit agin in 2015 when we will have finished the refurbishment (all the carpets are changed to new darker pattern and the Chino Latino also receives a lot of new furniture, and floor refurbishment. Kind regards Philip More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was crisp and modern inside- it was well furnished and all seemed well. Having read the other threads the stained carpets seems a common issue, as well as out ceiling wallpaper was peeling off. The TV in our room did not work, and neither did the sauna which was unwelcome. The bar staff seemed very nice and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review, and particulalry the comparison to a Travel lodge. I ceratinly don't mind being compared to the best of those, as they certainly do offer a good standard, and value for money in many cases. Being a Posh Travel Londge is certainly no mean endevour, however maybe when we have changed all the carpets... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk into the city center, which is fine as as the city is flat with no steep hills. The hotel is right on the Rhine, we paid an extra €10 a night on arrival to have a river view which is defanitely worth it. The river view rooms have a large glass door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your lovely review! Yes we try to empahsis quality in our food, and I am glad all was great for you. Cologne is a lovely flat city as you say, and the views form the Rhine facing windowas is unrivaled. I do hope you will come again soon. Regards, Philip More 

England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I was very disappointed in the hotel as a whole. Ultimately, as the title says the hotel has a lot of the fancy features sorted well - but they may have over looked some of the most basic elements to a good hotel! Problems: Sound proofing - they were doing various building work over the week I was staying at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry if the recent rennovation caused you inconvenience. It has finished now apart from the new carpets which start in January 2015. That hopefully will be a silent affair, but crown the year long project. We have just replaced all the desks in the room, and soon a new desk chair will arrive probably making it... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Steps at the front door with no ramp for pulling luggage inside almost did me in, but the lugging was worth it. Extremely pleasant and efficient staff.... Interesting bar space. Comfortable room with incredible view....

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your review, and I am glad that you understood our concept. We do actually have another entrance with a lift ramp and is mainly designed for wheel chairs, but would be fine for suitcases as well! I am glad all that sweating was worth it, but next time just ask reception and one of us will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cologne

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (181)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay