We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 281 Cologne hotels

art'otel cologne

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Save Saved
You added art'otel cologne to your Saves list
art'otel cologne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
74%
Ranked #54 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
IrisWestrik Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    183
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
30
170
32
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with a great service! I advise people to book room 502, you will the great view! It is near the river Rein and the Chocolate museum, and within 5 minutes walk your are in the old centre of Cologne. Inside the hotel there are a lot of beautiful paintings and there is a roof terrace where you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for the wonderful 5 star review. I am very glad you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon. Philip More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did not understand this Hotel. But after 3 days, I was starting to get a certain grip. First, this is not a top Art hotel, but it is a quite good Design Hotel - except there is a very few design brands represented. Seams like it is mainly furniture anf interior from China, byt with a decent quality and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am so glad you got it in the end. We are certainly different from many hotels, especially the staff who we encourage to be different, alternative and fun. I hope to see you on your next visit. Philip More

Sunderland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in August of 2014 for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. When we arrived, we realised we'd made an error when booking and had selected a twin room by accident. The receptionist was very helpful and although there were no double rooms available, we were offered an accessible room or told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your lovely review. I am very glad the carpets were fine in your room, and it is a lot of work to keep white carpets clean! We are changing them in October as after 3 years we want a darker shade so our housekeeping department has some peace. Hope to see you again soon. Philip More

Hampshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just returned from Cologne where my partner and I spent four days in this hotel. It is an ideally situated, pleasant hotel with nice staff - the only problem is, the decor seems tired and needs a bit of upgrading. A bold choice of pale carpets in a hotel must surely be a sign of madness in the owner?? The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks you for your review. Great News! The lovely when just shampooed white carpets are being removed and replaced with a similar pattern but in greys and blacks, and this will happen in the next three months as part of the final phase of the refurbishment. We have already started the re-paining of all the rooms as well,... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just arrived today. Although the design was cool at one time, it feels a bit outdated. I was quite surprised to hear that the hotel opened 4 years ago. The rugs in the lobby look a bit aged and dirty. I find it a let down to think a hotel who cannot maintain the white carpet they decide to display... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thanks for your review, which is mainly about the carpets! The good news is that we are nearly ar the end of our refurbishment started in January, and the final phase is the new bedroom and corridor carpets. We are removing the white carpets and replacing them in the same style but many shades darker! That will be... More

Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just stayed here last weekend and I enjoyed the location, the modern design and the friendly staff. However, the white and grey carpet in rooms and corridors are so filthy it degraded the hotel immediately. To be honest, I also do not know how to keep a white carpet clean in a large hotel, but if you put i there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your kind review. The hotel is nearing the final phase of a full bedroom refurbishment, the carpet being the final phase. The new Darker style should be in all the rooms by the end of 2014. I am sorry for the problems at the busy breakfast, and as the hotel is so popular at certain times... More

Winter Garden, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Unless you like the Pan Chinese food the meals are terrible. Rooms require a room key to use the lights. Not a very central location to the city center. The hotel is next door to the chocolate museum and sports museum. The staff is friendly and speaks English well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Of xourse you are entirtled to your opinion, however I take issue with what you have written. It is not right to say "don't eat the food" simply because you are not a fan of Pan Asian Cuisine. Chino Latino is one of the most popular Asian Restaurants in Cologne, and many love the food, so why should... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The room was very large with a fabulous walk in shower. Slightly strange is that the washbasin is in the room not the bathroom, but not a problem. There was a coffee machine in the room and the pods were topped up daily. The bed was comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, hotel staff friendly and the location was great, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for the fantastic 5 stra review, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the room, the service, and the stay. We all hope to see you agin soon. Philip More

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fully expecting the hotel to be overlooking the Rhine we were very disappointed that only the rear of the hotel faced towards the Rhine and buildings, and was not no directly overlooking the river. The staff at reception were clean and polite and spoke English, however the lady handling our reservation incorrectly referred our account to another customer. On arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am very sorry that the design of the hotel was a little to modern for your tastes, and that there was a maintenence issue with the door frame. The hotel is indeed on the Rhine, and 3 sides face it, with one facing the street. We never normally have issues of noise unless of course one chooses... More

Friedrichshafen, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have stayed for ten days at this hotel as part of a study trip to Germany. Couldn't think of a better place: the breakfast is great with quite a nice variety of fruits, bread and warm food. Although half the time the coffee machine was broken, the staff found solutions to get you the magic drink. Awesome view to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thanks for the wonderful review!!!! It made my day! I am so glad that you loved the staff, location, and the hotel - especially that you loved the restaurant Chino Latino. Please come back soon! Philip More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage art'otel cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (172)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Cologne with
any amenities