We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

art'otel cologne

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
What travelers say:
Very good
(7)
Chocolate Museum
(6)
Old town
(3)
art'otel cologne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
art'otel cologne
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    225
    101
    39
    20
See reviews for
36
218
33
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (553)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (166)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel, close to town center and businesses around. Good breakfast, spacious rooms with good mattresses and showers. Staff is really nice! Tips: book a room on a higher floor with Rhine view. The bar is uncomfortable and ‘cold’, so opt for drinks somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Before going to the hotel I read some comments about it that made the hotel sound like I might have made a mistake, but I was positively surprised when I found out that basically everything that was criticized here at TripAdvisor was changed or improved. For that I would like to praise the Hotel. Some criticisms were a lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your review, and I am so pleased that all our rennovation efforts have paid off! This last 12 months we have rennovated the rooms and corridors, and last month the Restaurant. At the moment we are doing the bar, and then the main items are finished. I have passed your observations on breakfast to... More 

Altorf, France
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A wonderful experience in the city Center 400meters from the Dom Katedral close to the Lindt Chocolade Museum. A wonderful welcome from Jennifer and her colleagues.Room are clean and modern with an artistic bathroom with colloured Vitrail... Excellent Breakfast on the Terrasse with the Sun... Happy Sharing-Happy Inside

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your great review, and in particular the appreciation of Jenny at Reception. The team works hard to offer a genuine and unfussy style of service that is as unique as the art'otel. I hope you will come back and see us all again very soon. Philip More 

Kiel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Over the past 3 years I stayed several times at the art ' otel Cologne and it always was ok This time I stayed at the Hotel again and I must say wow what a transformation not only look the Rooms much better since the new carpet has been put down but the best improvment the Hotel did is hiring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thanks so much for your wonderful review about the rooms since the refurbishment. It is great that we have put the artistic but impractical white carpet where it belongs! Manfred has just moved to Chino since he was helping run the housekeeping department. He has been working with us for two years now, and although German he spent... More 

San Francisco
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I write this after a night of very poor sleep because of the bed in room 502 that squeaked very loudly every time we moved a muscle so I am grumpy. But in an attempt to be fair, I will start with a few plusses: The location is reasonably good The roof terrace has nice views and some seating. Now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry you were grumpy when writing the review. I am also sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and I will try to respond to your views as well as I can. We DO have corner rooms looking over the Rhine. The ones facing North in fact have lovely views, and my office luckily was built... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location on the rhine is great. Decor is nice. Service is average. Trying to sleep in and being awoken by Mini Bar check and Housekeeping twice in a day was not a highlight. Breakfast buffet was very nice, food selection was very varied and should cover most likes (no, no pancakes and waffles. those are desert items in Europe) The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Primarily, I am disappointed that no one assisted you with the Passion you expected at the hotel. We strive to provide the most generous hospitality in Cologne which is why I sincerely apologize that the beginning of your stay was not as relaxed as it should have been. It is also incredibly frustrating to read that although you... More 

UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel location was brilliant, room was spacious and nice view over the river. However I would sacrifice all of the above, for basic service. The first room had a safe that didnt work, and no one on site to fix it. We asked to move rooms, as needed to store passports and money safely and told no rooms available but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks so much for your review. I am sorry that the housekeeping in your rooms was not perfect. I have shared the review with my team, and we will investigate the personnel who cleaned and inspected your room. Once more my apologies. Philip More 

Sunderland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here in August of last year and decided to return in March 2015 for 2 nights. Often, I don't like to return to the same place in case of disappointment but we loved it here so much last year that we couldn't wait to return! We weren't at all disappointed. It's a stunning hotel -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the great review, and I must admit I really enjoyed reading it! I am so pleased you were as pleased as the first time, and that you noticed the NEW CARPETS! Huurrraaaayyyyy! They have made an amazing difference to the hotel, and just one side of the first floor to go. It was often quite disheartening... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We, two adults and two children (11 and 12) checked in late at night. At 10 PM we went to the hotel restaurant with no hope of more than a mediocre dinner. We were blown away by the amazing kitchen and great staff. When we drive to the Alps next time we will definitely stay here again! (oh, and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I was absolutely thrilled to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at The art’otel Cologne. I was so glad we met your expectations and really do appreciate your comments about the great team I have and the service they provided you with. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again soon. My kindest... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the very first minute in this hotel until our last we had nothing but fantastic service. I think the lady who greeted us at reception was Christine (a young lady with long blond hair). This lady went above and beyond as a member of staff to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Unfortunately neither my husband nor I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thanks so much for your lovely comment about the fantastic service.Christine (a young lady with long blond hair) is from Switzerland, and we are so lucky to have her. She lights up the reception area with her smile.. I have to admit that my German is in the early stages as I come from London, so it really... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question