We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

art'otel cologne

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
art'otel cologne
Add Photo

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    183
    237
    103
    42
    20
See reviews for
42
230
35
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (585)
  • Mar-May only
    (128)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (166)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights and was really impressed with the helpful, friendly staff. Room on 5th floor reached by glass lifts. Room was spacious and a little futuristic with glass mural wall in the bathroom. Our room faced the Rhine and had a nice view with a yellow hue cast through the window. Seemed the 5th floor was always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really pleased you had a fun stay with us and took great pleasure in testing the energy saving features!!! I am sorry that the AC didn't seem to function properly. I will attend to that. I certainly look forward to meeting you upon your next visit. Kind regards. Philip More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner stayed here in the first week of June. We were very impressed with the hotel for a number of reasons. Firstly, the hotel is very modern and is kept very clean and tidy. Every aspect of the hotel looks good - the rooms in particular. The rooms were very big. Unfortunately we had a room facing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the great and fair review. I am pleased you enjoyed nearly every aspect of your stay, however I am sorry you had some wifi problems. Unfortunately at very busy times as you experienced, as wifi is free it can become a small bandwidth problem, particularly as more and more folk bring 3 or more devices that... More 

Vienna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a three-night stay in one of their (standard?) Queen rooms; decided on the "breakfast" option (nice buffet-style) and also paid one night in advance to take advantage of their better rate. I would have also paid more for the "harbor-side" but it was not offered as a second additional option (either breakfast or water-side, but not both...hmm). It must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your detailed and complimentary review of the art'otel, its facilities, and the experience of staying here. I am very please you had such a good time, and that the hotel was found to be modern, arty, with great views and location. Thanks again Philip More 

Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for the third time..and still highly satisfied. HIgh quality facility located downtown Cologne is ideal for business meetings, trainings, etc. Large and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpfull staff, high quality catering services. Walking distance to many local attractions makes this hotel a good address.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the great review of the hotel and the location. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much hope you will book with us again soon. Kind regards, Philip More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here over the weekend and were very happy with the Hotel. The pictures on the website match the room completely. Location wise its a short walk to some of the key tourist places but it is a nice walk along the river to get there. Would happily stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the great review, and that you had such a good time here. I suppose walking along the Rhine for 10 minutes is not a bad thing, however there are busses 30 seconds away outside the hotel serving us and the Chocolate Museum, and the Severinstrasse tram stop is about 4 minutes walk away. Hope to... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great location, brilliant hotel. Arrived early to drop off our bags and were greated to an upgrade and a room ready early! After a 5am start to our day this was an awesome surprise. The bed, shower and facilities are brilliant. Definitely a place to stay in Cologne!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review. I am so glad that you were thrilled by the service and facilities. Philip More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked the family in as a stopover en route to visit friends. The hotel is bright and far more stylish than its pricing would ever suggest. The reception has been warm, genuine and the request for adjoining rooms had been read and arranged. Superb. The location is good with the city centre a short walk away along the riverside and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, Many thanks for the glowing review, and I am also pleased you like the chocolate museum. We have tried very hard to be different from other hotels, and our unique concept and service style has certainly gained us many fans. I am pleased we managed to honour all your reservation requests !! I hope you will come back... More 

Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Art'otel is located near the "old" town of Cologne. And near the river. The rooms and surroundings are designed in a quite fancy way but without much atmosphere. But with fancyness you do not get usability, When using the sink you got water all over the bathroom. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is disappointing with poor quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the compliments on the Reception staff, but I am sorry the hotels style wasn't to your liking. We do also have rooms with a traditional style of bathroom if you want the next time you come. The breakfast buffet normally attracts raves for its completeness and size, so I am sorry we seem to have... More 

Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Modern style city hotel in nice location, a few steps from the Rhine river. Modern art decoration in the rooms nice, spacious and clean rooms. Five-ten minute walk from public transportation. Do not miss to visit the excellent in-house restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the great 5 star review. I am really pleased you had such a great time here, and particularly that you enjoyed our world famous Chino Latino Pan-Asian restaurant. I do hope you rell all your friends, and come back very soon! Regards, Philip More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay