We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

art'otel cologne

4.0 of 5 Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
art'otel cologne
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
art'otel cologne
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    219
    93
    38
    20
See reviews for
34
207
32
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (528)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (166)
All months
bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Didn't know anything about Cologne or its hotel, found this on-line and booked it. Warmly greeted by staff , very easy booking in. Concrete walls with bright coloured curtains and chairs work well. Room was big and airy , good shower and great bed. That's all I need when I'm away. Hotel food was okay , great steak & chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is easily accessible and close to the old center. Unfortunately no car parking on the premises, but close by in a parking garage (€24 per day). The bar in the lounge is ok, but a bit too open. Personally I like to be hid away from the rest of the guests when I'm drinking, reading or chilling. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in cologne for an exhibition and had booked this hotel online... The main access to the hotel lobby was through a flight of stairs (about 7) from the road and had to lug our heavy suitcases up. There is no ramp to wheel the suitcases. The hotel was full and quite expensive, which is expected during the exhibition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the first feeling was very bad. After traveling all day we arrive in the hotel about 22:30 and we couldn't have a room in high floor (as we had requested 2 months ago) or with a river view not even with double bed because all reservations throu "booking" have this kind of room as told at check in, the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fab hotel, very friendly staff. Had a corner room which was gorgeous ... nice view and very spacious. Would definitely go back. Lovely restaurant, great food. Nice bar, bit pricy but it is a hotel afterall

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks so much for the great review. I am so glad you enjoyed the food, and found the hotel FAB. I hope you return very soon. Philip More 

Buckhurst hill
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very eye catching from when you arrive, lovely sized rooms with nice facilities and had a nice view over the river. Only had breakfast at the hotel but there was a good variety of food to meet all tastes. Very comfortable beds, clean hotel. No complaints at all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your lovely review, and your praise for the breakfast. I hope you will return again soon. Philip More 

Karup, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

First impression was ok, but then reality sets in. 1 week of work booked and we needed a new base this year. Turned out the room somehow was booked on a daily basis, so every day a new key was required and no one told you about this till you stood all the way at the end next to your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry but I don't really understand your comment. The electronic system for the doors is activated for the duration of your stay. Unfortunately two things can happen to defeat electronic locks. Firstly you kept your key next to a magnetic source like a phone, or key ring and erased the codes, or you extended your stay... More 

london
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

The hotel is on the banks of the river, by the lindt chocolate museum and just a 15-20 min walk to the main shopping area. very modern and quite sparse rooms but large and very clean. will definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Our location is supurb for a major city as it is right in the heart of town, but overlooking the Rhine. Hope to see you soon. Philip More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Unfortunate to say but not a pleasant experience. The front office girl staff were the worst and specialised more in arguing than solving guest issues. The carpets on floors were stained. The room sizes were decent but that's about it. The start itself was so negative that even if there was anything positive we could never see it but i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry that your visit was clouded by the appearance of the carpets. I understand that no matter how good the staff are, we cannot improve the situation as quickly as we would have liked, however we have changed all all carpets now on the fith floor, and by the end of April all carpets in the... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

nice modern room. was clean and spacious. bit quirky with the sink not being in the bathroom but the living area. coffee facility in the room. hotel is approx. 15 mins walk from the what you can call centre (longer walk to the DOM). didn't eat in the hotel as we thought breakfast was overpriced. would stay there again. room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilipSkitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your very good review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, and found the coffee machine so useful. The location is definitely great as it is only a short walk to the centre of the city, and yet you are in the heart of the Rheinauhafen where all the restaurants and bars are located.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to art'otel cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel cologne

Address: Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your art'otel cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cologne

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (198)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay