We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Domspitzen

#28 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Domstr 23 - 25, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Hotel Domspitzen
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015
ylpc Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
80
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

the breakfast is quite an experience itself! extremely small room (2nd floor); noises from other rooms; kind staff (watch out: the receptionist has a kind of dysfunction and switches numbers, which resulted in giving us a room that was already taken). location in a walking distance from all attractions. parking for 10 eur per day - make sure you book... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "ylpc", to insult our team ("... the receptionist has a kind of dysfunction ...") isn't very charming. Too bad you don't know how to write a decent review. Mistakes happen and we apologize for this as well. But writing such, is completely inappropriate. Regards, the DOMSPITZEN-team More 

Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. Friendly and helpful staff at front desk that speak English very well. Very comfortable rooms that were very clean. Stayed in double room on the top floor (converted attic space) of the hotel. There is a small elevator but I did have to manage some steep/narrow stairs at the end (not a problem for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "dvbtucson", thank you for your visit and your feedback. Hope you come home safely...?! Greetings from Cologne, your "Domspitzen"-team. More 

Katowice, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Small, nice hotel in a center of town. Personel in hotel speaks perfect in english. Room on the 5 floor was really nice and the breakfast was very good with a wide choice of dishes. The WiFi connection was sufficient on that fifth floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "JacK_ce84", we thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, your "Domspitzen"-team. More 

Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

I really wasn't expecting to have such a great stay. We booked the hotel due to its proximity to the main station. The rooms were adequate for our needs, very clean and quiet. The breakfast was as good as you will find in this category. The staff however put this place over the top. three days we left before breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "VinoBambinos", thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again...! Best regards, your hotel DOMSPITZEN-team! More 

Ohio
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
95 hotel reviews
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

So, I did not actually make a reservation here. I made a reservation at the sister property of hotel domstern, down the road, a well reviewed hotel. Upon arrival, being jetlagged and tired, hotel domstern "upgraded" us to this hotel. The room was nice enough with no complaints. The breakfast was good - with made to order eggs. Honestly, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "brandasa", it is difficult for us to thank you for your review. We are shady? We reject vehemently. Our hotels are both absolutely identical - both in terms of rooms, as well as breakfast, service and location. Your room we gave you in the HOTEL DOMSPITZEN, was definitely an upgrade. If you did not like your room, sorry for... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Positives: (1)located an easy 5 minutes walk from the back exit of Haufbahnhof (turn left upon exiting station and walk to the end of the station, then cross the small road at the zebra crossing and walk down Domstrasse), perfectly positioned for sight-seeing in Cologne: close to Dom and shopping streets, (2) quaint and clean attic room, (3) welcome chocolates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "FraiseFraise", thank you very much for your detailed review. It's very important for us to get feedback - both positive and negative. If you had the feeling of not welcomed on arrival, then we very sorry. Be sure that was not our intention. What the way to your room is concerned: Yes, our elevator is not the greatest, but... More 

Leuven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The location of the hotel is great next to the trainstation. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms and bathrooms are not that big, but everything is there and they are very clean. The breakfast is the best I've ever gotten in this pricecategory!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "Teppe", thanks for your feedback. We're happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Regards, your hotel DOMSPITZEN-team! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Hotel Domspitzen offers the perfect location for seeing the city at a very reasonable rate. Especially during the Christmas season. The rooms were very clean and spacious by European standards. The breakfast is the best my husband and I have enjoyed in our travels through Europe. Very high quality and excellent selection! The staff was extremely friendly as well. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "Kylin_Pieper", thank you very much for your good feedback. Nice to read you had a great time in Cologne. And... we hope to see you again, not only for christmas... ;) Best regards, your hotel DOMSPITZEN-team! More 

The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

When my daughter and I arrived at this small hotel located right behind the train station, we were "frazzled" by the traffic we had encountered getting to the hotel. Many streets in the city of Cologne had been closed off that day due to a major demonstration. Christiaan and JP "Miami" from the hotel welcomed us with open arms. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Domspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "novick", thank you very much for this review. We're happy about it. Nice to read, that we'll see you again THIS year! ;) Best regards, your hotel DOMSPITZEN-team! More 

paddock wood
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

First trip to German and had confirmed weeks ago when Domstern staff rang to ask us to stay at their sister hotel. at the time Domstern was rated no. 1 and Domspitzen was 41. We said no thanks and confirmed our booking would be in Domstern. Arrived at the hotel to be told we had been moved to sister hotel!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Domspitzen, Inhaber at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this review

Dear "Jane g", we are very sorry that you did not like your stay with us! Unfortunately, you did not give us a chance to make your stay more enjoyable. Please let us answer now, some of the issues you had. We are not sure who called you, as we had no contact details of you until you arrived. It... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities