We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A&O Koeln Neumarkt

Mauritiuswall 64-66, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
A&O Koeln Neumarkt
View Map

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    49
    53
    19
    26
See reviews for
23
20
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited here on a school trip. We only stayed here for 1 night but it was the worst experience ever!!! The bed were dirty,the food was disgusting and nobody even knew what they were eating! The hostel was dirty all in all and we didn't enjoy our trip there at all. Nobody will ever go back or on another... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Katie H., thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and the food provided. As you did not know what you were eating, I will attach you the dinner plan, which is quite self explaining: http://www.aohostels.com/fileadmin/media/Dinnerplan.pdf I... More 

Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Quite noisy hotel. If you are travel with kids, this is not a ideal hotel. It's more like backpacker alike stayover style. During our stayed, there are couple of teenage sitting in front of our room chit chating very loud. Unpleasent stay experienced.

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We were put in this hotel/hostel with a group of Y9 students for a single night stay. The students were scared by the "clientele" who ignored curfews and banged on walls and made noise after 10pm. Teaching staff were subject to verbal sexual harassment by some of those staying. The nearest parking for a coach is nearly 4 miles away... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nick B., thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are sorry to hear that you and your school group did not enjoy your stay with us and were disturbed by other travelers, who apparently did not behave according to the house rules. For these cases we have a Security service,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I went to this hotel last December with a friend to visit the Christmas market. As almost every hotel was full around that time, we chose the A&O hotel. I didn't regret staying there. Even though the hotel was fully booked, you didn't here any noise from the other visitors who stayed there. The staff was very nice and answered... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and rewarded us with this great ranking. We hope that you had a lovely time at the Christmas market and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one... More 

Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

More acurately located between Rudolfplatz and Zuelpicher Platz, the hotel offers convenient access to the old part of the city, to museums, shops, restaurants and the university. For the most part, the price is right - it depends on "supply and demand." I stayed there several times a year and usually have a room on the fiifth foor where it... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the A&O Köln Neumarkt and liked the view from your room. We are also happy to read, that you consider our price as appropriate. We are looking forward to welcoming you again... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Good hostel, the beds were good and also the bathroom. The hostel bar have happy hour offers and a pool table to relax a bit after sightseeing the city. Also have nice bars and restaurants in walking distance from the hostel and really close to the neumarkt, could go by tram for just 2 stops or a 5 min walking... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel, thank you very much for taking your time to review the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you were satisfied with our facilities and the happy hour offers of our bar. We hope that the location of our A&O Köln Neumarkt was a convenient... More 

Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Hotel is located close to the old town & shopping. And comparing prizes in other hotels in vicinity - this was the best choice. The property offers both hotel and hostel stay. We stayed in the hotel part. The room was quite large, and it was clean. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear Gunta, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we, at A&O Hostels and Hotels, put great emphasis on the utter satisfaction of our customers, your comments are really rewarding and motivating. I will make sure to forward them... More 

Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I've now stayed in hostels all over Europe and can honestly say this hostel has some brilliant features which I'm sad to say other hostels lack and other hostel patrons wouldn't appreciate unless they went without. 1. Let's start with the obvious- it was clean. As in the bathroom was white and had fresh bathmats delivered daily. 2. It had... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We, at A&O Hostel and Hotel, put great emphasis on the utter satisfaction of our customers, so your positive feedback is very rewarding for our team. However, in order to adapt... More 

Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Got a bed in the 6-bedded mix dorm and the beds were absolutely comfortable. There is also an attached bathroom that is clean and well-equipped. WiFi is provided which is always an added bonus. One good thing about the hostel is that it is located near the Rudolfplatz interchange, which means you can take the trams/U-bahn to most of the... More 

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, thank you very much for reviewing the A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We, at A&O Hostel and Hotel, are constantly trying to optimize our service in order to enhance the experience for our customers. It is a great reward to read that our effort pays off. We... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

I got a bed in a 6-bed mixed dorm room and it was really good. Very clean very new and has a well-equipped bathroom with even handsoap and body cleanser. I also met my roommates who are really fun and nice too! The lobby is pretty big and convenient.

AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Neumarkt, responded to this review

Dear Thu Linh, thank you very much for reviewing your stay at A&O Köln Neumarkt. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We, at A&O Hostel and Hotel, are constantly trying to optimize our service in order to enhance the experience for our customers. It is very rewarding that our guests are satisfied with... More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
A&O Koeln Dom
A&O Koeln Dom
#173 of 281 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Ibis Cologne Centrum Hotel
#73 of 281 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Süd
Black Sheep Hostel
Black Sheep Hostel
#9 of 61 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay