We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Nether Poppleton B&Bs / inns

Poppleton House

Save Saved
You added Poppleton House to your Saves list
3, Main Street, Nether Poppleton, York YO266HS, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Peace and Quiet!
  • Reviews (26)
  • Photos (5)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Poppleton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Poppleton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Warm, welcoming and comfortable stay with the following reservations: BT hub connected but our tablet would not accept the password, therefore not able to use Wifi. Not used to dogs however friendly being in the breakfast room - unhygienic and must contravene health and safety. My husband unable to use the toilet without having to hold the seat up as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After seeing the website we were very much looking forward to our stay at Poppleton House. Unfortunately this did not live up to our expectations and thought previous reviews posted were not as it seemed. Although it was clean and beds were comfortable the whole place was not very cosy/homely, which is what we expect from a high rated B... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here last weekend. In view of your large number of complaints , I do wish that you had raised them with me directly and I would have done my best to rectify them for you. I can assure you that all reviews are the genuine opinions of people who... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this beautiful house last week with four family members so between us used all three rooms which are all lovely . All the little extras in the room bottled water crisps and the delicious home made cake was very much appreciated.Kath is such a warm friendly person who made us feel very comfortable and very welcome in her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. I am glad that you appreciated my efforts to give you a pleasant stay- it is really important to me that my guests feel at home here and have a good experience. I will pass on your comments to Lucy and Tan ,and hope to see you all again soon! More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was not so much like staying in a B&B but spending the night at your favourites Aunts house. Kath was very welcoming, we stayed two nights in the Mulberry room, which was very large with a very big, comfortable bed to match. Decor is lovely, lots of nice touches, with a few objet d'art to amuse the soul. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

It is heartening to receive another lovely review from a guest. The Mulberry room is extra special I think and I am so glad you enjoyed it so much. It is very important to me to give guests a good experience during their stay with me. I am so glad that you enjoyed all those little touches that help to... More

bakewell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent location, very handy to visit York with good public transport links. Beautiful house and gardens with very large spacious room. Very friendly and welcoming owner, highly recommended if visiting York.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Poppleton House. As you say we are very convenient for York and all its attractions, yet could be miles away given the peace and quiet of our surroundings. I am glad that you found everything to your liking. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Booked a last minute trip to York for a friends party and was lucky enough to stay in this beautiful accommodation. Kath was extremely welcoming from the moment we arrived, we stayed in the mulberry room which was stunning great views of the gorgeous grounds and the biggest bed I may have ever slept in! Such fantastic value for money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Poppleton House .It is rewarding when guests take the time to post a review . I am glad that you appreciated all the little touches that I feel make a place a little bit special! Must admit the lemon drizzle cake is more-ish.! I believe that Poppleton House offers... More

Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went to Poppleton House hoping for a quiet, relaxing weekend and certainly weren't disappointed! The house and gardens are absolutely beautiful, indeed our room was so gorgeous and comfortable I'd have been happy to stay in there all weekend. Kath is a wonderful hostess and made us feel very welcome, as did her lovely dogs Tan and Lucy. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

I would be delighted to welcome you back to Poppleton House any time! Thank you for such a positive review.I am glad that you found everything during your stay to be so satisfactory. Lucy and Tan are getting to be quite an attraction - it is lovely that guests are so taken with them! More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Searched for a luxury B and B and found Poppleton House. Previously had stayed at Hotel Du Vin and the Grange but would not stay at these again over Poppleton House. This is a B and B like no other I have stayed in. The house and grounds are beautiful, breakfast fresh and plentiful. Kath, the hostess, was welcoming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

Apologies for the delay in responding to your marvellous review.I am delighted to be so favourably compared to much larger well known luxury establisnments in York. I always aim to give as good a service as possible for guests . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with me and hope to see you again soon!. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Kath made us feel really welcome she is a lovely lady and has 2 adorable dogs. The house is lovely and the rooms have a lovely cosy feel to them. Our bathroom was really spacious. Breakfast was lovely too with homemade cake and crisps/biscuits in the room. would definitely stay again thanks Kath!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay here in the Garden room- I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction. I do try to give my guests a pleasant experience during their stay with me ,so thankyou for taking the trouble to review. More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

grossly overcharged. £100 for B &B booked on recommendation.Lvely gardens.difficult to find.access and parking bad. Onsuite had nowhere to put shaving bag and toiletries, Shower head broken from fitting. Toilet for ladies only ..Had to hold up seat whiles urinating. Quiet and clean but would,nt reccomend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen D, Owner at Poppleton House, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to receive such a review, which I am afraid contains several innacuracies. Unfortunately this review wasnt written by the person who stayed in the room ,and indeed it had been inspected prior to booking by the reviewer. I am sorry that the people who stayed with me did not voice their concerns directly with me. There... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Poppleton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Poppleton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppleton House

Address: 3, Main Street, Nether Poppleton, York YO266HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Nether Poppleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Poppleton House is a beautifully restored Georgian house where every attention has been paid to detail to ensure that all our guests enjoy the most luxurious of surroundings. It is idyllically situated in a peaceful spot in a pretty village nesr York, yet so accessible to this wonderful city.Comfortable beds,ensuite or private facilities, the most peaceful surroundings in beautiful gardens , delicious Yorkshire breakfasts and the warmest of welcomes ensure that you have a stay to remember.We would be delighted to welcome you ! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Poppleton House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer