We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel

Am Kavalleriesand 6, 64295 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    28
    27
    7
See reviews for
1
4
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel accommodated me at the last minute, for which I was grateful, and I had a nice meal in their restaurant. The room was a bit tired looking, but adequate. The problem came when my requested 5 a.m. wake-up call never came. I woke up on my own at 5:50, with 10 minutes to shower, shave, dress and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is fine. Bar and restaurant welcoming. Staff friendly. If you stay here make sure you ask for a room that is not backing onto the railway line. There are highspeed trains and commercial trains running and shunting up till 12 pm at night and starting at 5am. I would not describe myself as a light sleeper but was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and comment on your stay with us. Good to hear you enjoyed our employees’ services. We are aware that due to our easily accessed location close to the motorway and train station there may be disturbances. To accommodate our guests’ needs all hotel rooms feature double-glazed windows and... More 

Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

hotel looks great from the outside but inside it is an different story.. Odd numbered rooms are railway facing which is horrible when you like sleeping in the night... Trains are passing by every 2 minutes... the even numbered rooms are facing the road, which are more expensive rooms, better but if you like to sleep with an open window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy it unrestrictedly. Working in an older hotel our employees do their utmost to compensate the lack of modern equipment with their service and customer orientation, which reflects in your comment. Our air-conditioning system works either in heating or... More 

Travelers are raving about these Darmstadt hotels

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Im just from maritime rhein,its really super clean.i enjoyed myself.the receptionist was very friendly and very helpful.i ate the best sandwich here.its abit loud coz it near train station.the breakfast buffet has fresh food &everything u could ask for again including breakfast chapagne.beds are very soft.u ll never be dissapointed in this hotel. One of the best hotels iv been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment. Fine, that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us and that we were able to make you feel at home and well cared for. A feedback like yours is a wonderful acknowledgement of the whole team’s work. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and to be your... More 

Lisboa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel Hotel is as easy going as Darmstadt. It seems to be a retro hotel, especially in common areas, encapsulated in iron, glass and a modern look façade. Room suites are generous, confortable, clean but do not expect modern design. Staff is very nice and helpful. Great breakfast and competent restaurant. The bar is a good night distraction.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Everybody on the team strives to make our guests feel comfortable and to compensate for any deficits in equipment and furnishings that naturally occur in a hotel more than 20 years old. It would be our pleasure to welcome... More 

Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good breakfast restaurant with a many things to try - typical german style staff, very upperclass, thinks the customers only are trouble - no free internet( come on we are writing 2014) and the worst, if you not are into trains; the hotel is situated 10 meters away from one of the main railways in Germany, which means you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy it unrestrictedly and were not made to feel welcome and cared for by our staff. Working in an older hotel our employees do their utmost to compensate the lack of modern equipment with their service and customer orientation.... More 

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were in Darmstadt for two days for a business conference. The Maritim Hotel is a short walk from the train station, so is in an excellent location. The outward appearance as you approach the hotel could use a little refreshing, but once you enter the lobby, the look is pristine. Our room was quite modern, with a very modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment. Everybody on our team does their best to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. Seeing that we succeeded in making your stay with us an enjoyable one is a motivation for all employees. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again during a future trip to Darmstadt. Yours... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Was surprised that the outside was modern, but the rooms were last century. Believe it or not, they still have an old analogue CRT television in the room. Bed was uncomfortable too. A/c worked okay. Breakfast though was very good with a wide choice of food, as was the buffet dinner. I do not understand why they have left the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us. It was great to hear you enjoyed the dinner and that we helped you start your day just right with our breakfast. Still I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. We are aware that after more than 20 years not all signs of... More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Hotel has an impressive glass outside, but when you enter a room it is no longer that pretty. The room interior and sytle is in my mind a little bit outdated. No LCD ro LED TV just an outdated one which fits the rest of the room, please see pictures.. The Bathroom with the showercurtain needs a serious update,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank your very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am sorry we did not do everything to insure a pleasant stay for you. Naturally a hotel more than twenty years old does not have the same amenities and furnishings as a new or newly renovated hotel. For this reason all employees... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for four nights to attend a meeting nearby. Check-in was fast and the front desk staff were pleasant and efficient. The room was facing the railroad tracks (I knew this would be the case, as I stayed here once previously several years okay). The room was clean and of reasonable size, but the furniture was dated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
maritim91, Manager at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us better knowledge of our guest’s needs and wishes and thus helps us to fulfil these needs and wishes wherever possible. As a result of the colder temperatures at this time of year our air-conditioning is still set to heating. I am very sorry... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay