We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg

#53 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hein Sass Weg 40, 21129 Hamburg, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    96
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
61
8
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (173)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was a bit of a drive to get to the hotel but I was hoping it was going to be worth it - and was it! Although it is situated outside the city,a nice ferry ride with a few stops takes you directly to the city centre and can be seen as an excursion, especially if time allows for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Villeurbanne, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While arriving at the reception I said "Good Evening" like every well-edicated person then no answer from the receptionist.... it started well !! The restaurant was quite good but I have been sick the all night long. I took the tuna fish. Maybe fished from the Elbe... Then this morning at the check out, they asked me to pay for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear GhislainMo , Thank you for your honest feedback and that you took the time to rate us on Tripadvisor. We are very consternated that you were so unpleased with your stay. Please be assured that our staff takes every step of a guests stay very serious and that we want to host you both warmhearted and professional. Concerning your... More 

Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Location is superb if you are visiting Airbus. Otherwise little outskirt, although ferry leaves right next to the hotel. Not too many shops or restaurants around the hotel. Would not go with the family. Reception was not very friendly, but room was very nice. The breakfast was superb. Would recommend for business trip within Airbus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Pekka T, thank you for your honest feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We always want to meet the expectations of our guests and are happy that we succeeded. Unfortunately we could not convince you of the friendliness of our reception staff and are very sorry for this. Please be assured that this is not... More 

Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

A Hotel with the right Level of luxury and individualism; the rooms are modern, clean, and the view to the Elbe river is amrvellous! Staff is extremely friednly and helpful. And, of course, unique, to arrive and leave with the Ferry boat (Time table on the wall, and known by the staff by heart).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear SchauMerMal2013, Thank you for your wonderful review on tripadvisor and the feedback concerning our unique location on the south bank of the Elbe. The ferrystation Rüschpark right outside our hotel offers our guests the opportunity to discover Hamburg from the waterside. We appreciate very much your compliments regarding our rooms and our staff. We always try to meet the... More 

Toulouse, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Clean and nice rooms, correct breakfast buffet. Very well located to visit companies in Finkenwerder or take a plane in Finkenwerder airport. But the location is terrible in an industrial area with NOTHING around, and it is grossly overpriced for Germany. The restaurant and bar are also ridiculously expensive, using the captive market of the closeby companies visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Pierre M, We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us. It´s important to us that our guests feel comfortable staying in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you sensed your stay in our hotel as too expensive. We try to provide transparent and usual market prices, but we will use... More 

Camby, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I ended up upgrading to an Elbe view, and I'm glad I did. Great views for my entire stay. It's a bit by itself (except for being so close to Airbus), but it's nice to have the ferry boat access so close. I chose not to pay 19 Euros for breakfast, but I did enjoy having dinner in the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Melissa T., We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we thank you for your positive and honest feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you also for your recommendation of our restaurant. We’re so glad you enjoyed the location near to the river. We always try to meet the expectations of our guests and... More 

Broken Arrow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business for 10 days. It's a very nice hotel but kind of by it self. The fairy stops at the hotel so you can travel to the city center very easily. The people were very nice and all spoke very good English. The morning breakfast was kind of expensive (19 euros) but very good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Tim 9301, Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your impressions with us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you had problems with the air condition in your room. The ventilation is usually controlled automatically. Thank you for your indication concerning this issue. We have already discussed the problem with our technical team. We appreciate very much... More 

Toulouse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good location if you have to work in Airbus : bus line 3 on 5 minutes or by foot in 12 minutes It is even easy to go to Hamburg using the ferry and then the subway. The rooms are big and well furnished, the bathroom contains a large shower. The restaurant is cosy and service is efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear By2Byr, Thank you for your great feedback. We are very happy that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the close proximity to Airbus. Thank you for mentioning the connections between the hotel and the city center. We like to thank you also for mentioning the possibility to access the city with the ferry. We appreciate very much your... More 

Ringsted, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is placed down to The Elbe, and have a perfect view to the waterfront and The South of Hamburg. If you pay that little extra for a room on The Elbe site. The Staff is english speaking and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Jan B., Thank you for your great review and that you have taken the time to share your positive impression. We are very pleased that we were able to fascinate you from our unique location on the south bank of the Elbe and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts. We hope to... More 

Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is great if you need to get to Airbus or close by. The service is very good, the ammenities perfect, the foodin the restaurant good (but expensive). However it's far to get to the city (you have to take the boat, which stops running in the evening). On the other hand, the boat stop is just across the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Nofretete11, Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your impressions. Sorry that the use of the ferry proved to be a little bit difficult. Alternatively, our guests can reach us after 9 o´clock in the evening from monday to thursday with the bus line 150 or every friday and saturday until 0:30 with our hotel shuttle from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question