We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg

4.5 of 5 Hein Sass Weg 40, 21129 Hamburg, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    86
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
56
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Toulouse, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and nice rooms, correct breakfast buffet. Very well located to visit companies in Finkenwerder or take a plane in Finkenwerder airport. But the location is terrible in an industrial area with NOTHING around, and it is grossly overpriced for Germany. The restaurant and bar are also ridiculously expensive, using the captive market of the closeby companies visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Pierre M, We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us. It´s important to us that our guests feel comfortable staying in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you sensed your stay in our hotel as too expensive. We try to provide transparent and usual market prices, but we will use... More

Camby, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I ended up upgrading to an Elbe view, and I'm glad I did. Great views for my entire stay. It's a bit by itself (except for being so close to Airbus), but it's nice to have the ferry boat access so close. I chose not to pay 19 Euros for breakfast, but I did enjoy having dinner in the lobby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Melissa T., We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your impressions with us and we thank you for your positive and honest feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you also for your recommendation of our restaurant. We’re so glad you enjoyed the location near to the river. We always try to meet the expectations of our guests and... More

Broken Arrow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business for 10 days. It's a very nice hotel but kind of by it self. The fairy stops at the hotel so you can travel to the city center very easily. The people were very nice and all spoke very good English. The morning breakfast was kind of expensive (19 euros) but very good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Tim 9301, Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your impressions with us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you had problems with the air condition in your room. The ventilation is usually controlled automatically. Thank you for your indication concerning this issue. We have already discussed the problem with our technical team. We appreciate very much... More

Toulouse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very good location if you have to work in Airbus : bus line 3 on 5 minutes or by foot in 12 minutes It is even easy to go to Hamburg using the ferry and then the subway. The rooms are big and well furnished, the bathroom contains a large shower. The restaurant is cosy and service is efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear By2Byr, Thank you for your great feedback. We are very happy that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the close proximity to Airbus. Thank you for mentioning the connections between the hotel and the city center. We like to thank you also for mentioning the possibility to access the city with the ferry. We appreciate very much your... More

Ringsted, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is placed down to The Elbe, and have a perfect view to the waterfront and The South of Hamburg. If you pay that little extra for a room on The Elbe site. The Staff is english speaking and very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Jan B., Thank you for your great review and that you have taken the time to share your positive impression. We are very pleased that we were able to fascinate you from our unique location on the south bank of the Elbe and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for choosing Rilano Hotels & Resorts. We hope to... More

Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is great if you need to get to Airbus or close by. The service is very good, the ammenities perfect, the foodin the restaurant good (but expensive). However it's far to get to the city (you have to take the boat, which stops running in the evening). On the other hand, the boat stop is just across the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Nofretete11, Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your impressions. Sorry that the use of the ferry proved to be a little bit difficult. Alternatively, our guests can reach us after 9 o´clock in the evening from monday to thursday with the bus line 150 or every friday and saturday until 0:30 with our hotel shuttle from... More

Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Super place - as usual. Unique location, at walking distance to Airbus, by the river Elbe. You can walk along the river on a very nice path. Rooms are clean, simple but perfectly fitted with equipment. Friendly and efficient staff, good meeting rooms with all business requirements met (we had workshops with 50 people). Good bar. Only drawback: the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Thomas f, Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We also want to thank you for your feedback about our restaurant and the serving speed. We will discuss this internally and take appropriate action. We are happy that you were... More

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Rilano is away from the city centre but enjoys a super position overlooking the Elbe The staff are very friendly and will give you excellent advice on how to get around the city. Rooms are comfortable and spacious - the only snag is that they do not offer hot drinks facilities in the bedrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear David P, Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We also want to thank you for your feedback about hot drink facilities in the bedrooms. We offer coffee facilities in our Superior Plus category on the fifth floor. Don’t hesitate... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I chose to stay here for our 5nights holiday in Hamburg because we want a combination on enjoying sightseeing but also relaxation. So we were happy as we got exactly this. Don't be put off by commuting by ferry (if your not planning late nights out in Hamburg)as they are frequent and for me the gerrymandered to the charm of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Magsandstu, Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay that much and we are glad that you liked the location. We also want to thank you for your honest feedback about our restaurant and meal prices. We will discuss this internally... More

Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a clean, modern hotel that is clearly designed to be used by people traveling on business, particularly as it is next to Hamburg's aerospace district. The rooms are large, modern and comfortable, the staff helpful and everything is very well presented. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. If you are staying here on business expenses then fair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jan C, Front Office Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Spottswoode, Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience with The Rilano Hotel Hamburg on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you couldn’t enjoy the location but we thank you for your recommendation of our rooms, staff and service. We are happy that we could meet your expectations and we hope to have you as our guest... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg

Address: Hein Sass Weg 40, 21129 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldhotel The Rilano Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Golden Tulip Hamburg
Hamburg Golden Tulip

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay