We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Hamburg accommodations

Generator Hostel Hamburg

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book a bed from €22
Save Saved
You added Generator Hostel Hamburg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
76%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
SharonSamantha London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (384)
  • Photos (119)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    150
    51
    28
    13
See reviews for
13
57
98
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed as a family of four for an overnight stop on our way through to Sweden. For an overnight, it was fine, and quite cheap. It's a big place and felt like there was a lot of hustle and bustle. We arrived quite late but there was still a bit of a queue for check-in. There seemed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for letting us know about your Generator-experience. I regret that our location was not convinient for you as it is normally our strength. You are right, that the area can be irritating, but it has gone through a good development and is improving every day. It even has become a little "hidden secret" in Hamburg. But I... More

Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the best hostel I stayed at during my trip in Germany. Yeah, it's a hostel where one shares a room and bunk beds, but a hostel is a hostel and should be reviewed like one. There's free wifi, and there are computers downstairs for those who aren't travelling with computers. If arriving by train, the hostel is literally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Wow! This is really a fantastic review. Many thanks for that. I would be delighted if you chose to stay with us on your next trip to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hostel with a really convenient location (about 2 blocks from the main train station) so it’s really easy to get there and have access to pretty much everything you need. The hostel was nice and clean with plenty of public spaces to hang out , have drink or something. I must mention that this place receives lots of people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am really glad that everything was to your satisfaction and that you had a good stay. Hope to see you on your next trip to Hamburg again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

probably the worst hostel Ive ever been in. not personal AT ALL, feels more like a hotel, charges like a hotel, and puts you in generic awfull tiny bunk beds. Do not recomend this place! there is cheaper and better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I really regret that we did not meet your expectations. You have mentioned a few points, but also you rated our service very low. I would be delighted if you could send me the points, that were leading to this bad score, to sven.heberling@generatorhostels.com. I would love to take than the necessary actions to... More

Uppsala
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is perfect fot exploring Hamburg! I arrived by train from the airport and the hostel is located across the street from the hautbahnhof, with a large sign on top of the builiding so it's very easy to find. It is a short walk to the Kunsthalle as well as shopping and restaurants. I had a mixed 6 bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the overview you have given us on Tripadvisor. I am really glad that you liked the Hostel. I hope to be able to welcome you again on your next trip to Hamburg. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hostel, great service, would like to make a compliment, I had some problems unrelated to the hostel, and got help from the attendant Nihlas, very helpful, helped me a lot. I recommend the hostel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, It is great to read that our Team, especcially Niclas, left such a good impression. Thank you for sharing that with us. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived expecting a clean, modern hostel and was left disappointed. Stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was so hot you woke up constantly throughout the night, no air con and you couldn't open the window far enough to catch a breeze! Bathrooms were similar to festival style portaloos, you literally had to come out into the room to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the comments you have left here on Tripadvisor. I have to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The heat wave left the same impression to other guests and we really regret that. I hope you will not turn away completely from Generator because we have far more to show to your guests. All the... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the better hostels I have stayed in. Rooms very clean and modern all with own shower and toilet. Each bed has its own light and power socket. Bar area nice with lovely areas to chill out all around the hostel. There is security on the door 24/7 so feels safe. Excellent location right opposite the train station. Fast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for this overall positiv feedback. I am very glad that you liked Generator and I hope that we will get the chance to welcome you again in one of the Generators all over europe. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is in a good location right next to the train station, so perfect if your on an Interrail/EUrail trip like I was. The rooms are comfy too so you have all the basic stuff you need. The only downside was that the bar staff seemed pretty resentful that anyone had actually turned up to stay there! Generator advertise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your very honest comments here on Tripadvisor. Sharing your impressions helps us to improve constantly our services. I really regret that your bar experience was not up to your standards, we are so proud about. I would like to apologise for that. Please be assured that I have passed on your comments to prevent this of... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 4 nights, and was not disappointed, cant think what all the complaining people in previous reviews are on about. Ok, the one criticism would be the small bathroom and toilet in the room (6 bed dorm) but it is a hostel not a hotel and actually the windows DO open, I had no problems with hot temperatures as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the great review. It is nice that our Hostel has meet your expectation and in some area was even better. When you next travel I hope that you will stay again in a Generator hostel. We have some amazing other properties all over Europe. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Generator Hostel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Hamburg with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
161

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer