We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Hamburg accommodations

Generator Hostel Hamburg

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book a bed from €22
Save Saved
You added Generator Hostel Hamburg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
mick2929
  • Overview
  • Reviews (360)
  • Photos (119)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    144
    45
    25
    9
See reviews for
10
52
90
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To be honest I had a mixed experience at the Generator. Rooms - The rooms on the 7th Floor were insanely warm, to the point it became inpossible to sleep. I had to complain, and it total fairness the staff were really nice and moved me to another room. The rooms themselves are pretty nice, beds are comfortable and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your detailed review. You have mentioned some very good points. The area we are in is impossible to change for us, but we do our upmost to make sure that the guests can feel safe and secure in our hostel. Nice that you have mentioned that. Unfortunately we often hear about our little bathrooms and I... More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was really impressed by the decor and facilities in the room, there were plugs, USB ports and lights on every bed, with two very large mirrors and a high dressing table with chairs - perfect for doing hair and make up. The hostel itself had a friendly atmosphere, with lots of places to sit and relax, with an outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. With regret I had to learn about the points you were mentioning. The cleaning is a very important matter to us and I have to apologize, that there was such a leak of performance. I have taken the liberty to pass your comments on to our Executive Housekeeper to prevent this... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The building itself is great. The common areas are nice and the rooms are comfortable. However, during our stay the staff was rude and not very helpful. The location is quite ok next to the Hauptbahnhof, although the area around it is a bit shabby and full of tourist traps.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I really regret that your exprience with our Team was not to your satisfaction. I would be delighted if you would send me an E-Mail (sven.heberling@generatorhostels.com)with some more details, so that I can take the necessary actions to prevent other guests having the same issue. I have to apologize for the impressions... More

Everywhere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I can totally recommend this Hostel. It's clean, affordable, has good sized Rooms with comfortable Beds and is located in the Heart of Hamburg. The staff is really nice, very Helpful and always in a good mood. I will definitely come again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, wow, 5 points in all categories. We are overwhelmed! Especially that the Team left such a good impression makes us happy. A great THANK YOU for the fantastic feedback. You have written that will definitely come again. We are looking forward! All the best. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a great Hostel for any type of person, it doesn't just have to be partying groups! We got upgraded to a room with 8 beds for just the two of us for some reason, so we cannot review a private room, but we cannot complain, we had so much room. The Hostel is very clean and has a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you that you have spend some time of your holiday in our house. I am glad that you liked it and it seems that you really had a good time here. On your next trip to Hamburg or to another capital in Europe it would be great if you consider of staying in a Generator again. All the... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The price was a bit high (we booked a bit late for a long week end with an holiday for almost all German so that is our fault ;) ) but this hostel totally worth it ! It is one of the best I had ! The room was clean every day, there is small bathroom and toilet in each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, I am happy that you had a good time in Hamburg and I would like to thank you for letting us know about it. It would be great to welcome you again, when you are in the mood of partying. Have a great time. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location if the hostel is perfect because is in front of the train station and also the bus station with a lot of possibilities of public transport, the social areas are nice and also the personal in the front desk. The rooms are clean and big and you have your own Locker under your bed where you can save... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, How great is that? "Excellent" can hardly be made better! Thank you for the great review. Still we will try improve and I would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Hamburg, so that you can check on my statement. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 3 days in this hostel, the location couldn't be better, situated just across Hamburg Hbf, you have easy access to both S and U bahns, at the same time a 15 minute walk will put you in the Rathaus (the town hall). The rooms are very well designed, I stayed in a 6 bed room, every bed had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, I am very pleased that that you took time to give us an overview of your impressions. It seems that you have been overall satisfied. Still the social aspect was important to you and you have not found the opportunity to meet people. That is really a shame, because that's of the things we focus on. Our Bar and... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is better than I expected. It is very close to the station and well located. The staff were excellent. I would recommend it. We were a group of 14 (6 in one room and 8 in another) and that was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments that you have shared on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you liked the Generator Hamburg. Especially I am proud that our Team left such a good impression. I would be delighted to welcome you back at any time in the future. All the best, Sven Heberling, Assistant General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for six nights, and would definatley come here again. The staff are really helpful and friendly, and sorted out any problems promptly. Hostel is in a great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the majority of people you meet are real nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your execellent comments. I am really happy, that your stay was to your satisfaction. It would be great to see you soon again in Hamburg. All the best, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Generator Hostel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
161

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer