We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Hamburg accommodations

Generator Hostel Hamburg

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book a bed from €22
Save Saved
You added Generator Hostel Hamburg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
LloydWarren94 London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (368)
  • Photos (119)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    146
    46
    27
    10
See reviews for
11
52
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all I am not a person who stays in hostels, and I don't have experience about them. But, I just needed one night stay in Hamburg in central location and that I get. We had own toilet and shower in the room which was ok, small but worked. There was not any kind of A/C and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The only plus is location. It just looks fancy but the staff is horrible. First, what you write for the time does not matter while you are booking becaıse they do not prepare anything for you. Asking you to leave your bag in a messy luggage room makes you feel already unsafe while the staff does tell you that in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel was perfect for my friend and I. We booked quite late and the rooms were only £12 which was by far the cheapest place we stayed at during our inter-railing trip. We booked two beds in a 6 person mixed dorm. The best part feature of this hostel, apart from the price, was that it was located right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, What a great review! Thank you. I am really glad that you liked Generator. Whenever you go on interrail again or just want to visit the great citiy of Hamburg, you will be most welcome in our house. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed here for a night two weekends ago. We stayed in private double room and for the price, I thought the room was pretty basic and small (it was clean, however). The bathroom especially was really really tiny - there was literally space for exactly one person standing straight with very little room to spare. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. I am glad that the service was to your satisfation. But I really regret that you did not like your room. Please inform our team at the reception always when there is anything that does not meet your expectations. They are 24h there to help you. As I am unable to... More

Bergen
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are staying at the Generator right now and it looks like a nice hostel. Its pretty new and has a nice decor. However we are staying at a 8 bed dorm and there is no ventilation what so ever, its so unbelivable warm that we are considering sleeping in the hallway or down at the reseption. Cause the worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your visit. With great regret I have read your comments here on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot deny that our very historic building is excessive heating in the current heat wave. In the extensive renovation two years ago, we were not allowed, due to site conditions, to install an air conditioning. I apologize for that. However, we... More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To be honest I had a mixed experience at the Generator. Rooms - The rooms on the 7th Floor were insanely warm, to the point it became inpossible to sleep. I had to complain, and it total fairness the staff were really nice and moved me to another room. The rooms themselves are pretty nice, beds are comfortable and have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your detailed review. You have mentioned some very good points. The area we are in is impossible to change for us, but we do our upmost to make sure that the guests can feel safe and secure in our hostel. Nice that you have mentioned that. Unfortunately we often hear about our little bathrooms and I... More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was really impressed by the decor and facilities in the room, there were plugs, USB ports and lights on every bed, with two very large mirrors and a high dressing table with chairs - perfect for doing hair and make up. The hostel itself had a friendly atmosphere, with lots of places to sit and relax, with an outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. With regret I had to learn about the points you were mentioning. The cleaning is a very important matter to us and I have to apologize, that there was such a leak of performance. I have taken the liberty to pass your comments on to our Executive Housekeeper to prevent this... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The building itself is great. The common areas are nice and the rooms are comfortable. However, during our stay the staff was rude and not very helpful. The location is quite ok next to the Hauptbahnhof, although the area around it is a bit shabby and full of tourist traps.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I really regret that your exprience with our Team was not to your satisfaction. I would be delighted if you would send me an E-Mail (sven.heberling@generatorhostels.com)with some more details, so that I can take the necessary actions to prevent other guests having the same issue. I have to apologize for the impressions... More

Everywhere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can totally recommend this Hostel. It's clean, affordable, has good sized Rooms with comfortable Beds and is located in the Heart of Hamburg. The staff is really nice, very Helpful and always in a good mood. I will definitely come again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, wow, 5 points in all categories. We are overwhelmed! Especially that the Team left such a good impression makes us happy. A great THANK YOU for the fantastic feedback. You have written that will definitely come again. We are looking forward! All the best. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great Hostel for any type of person, it doesn't just have to be partying groups! We got upgraded to a room with 8 beds for just the two of us for some reason, so we cannot review a private room, but we cannot complain, we had so much room. The Hostel is very clean and has a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SvenHeberling, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you that you have spend some time of your holiday in our house. I am glad that you liked it and it seems that you really had a good time here. On your next trip to Hamburg or to another capital in Europe it would be great if you consider of staying in a Generator again. All the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Generator Hostel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
161

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer