We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

2.0 of 5 Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    166
    58
    31
    14
See reviews for
14
66
108
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (427)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Pensacola FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights arriving 10/01/14 departing 10/03/14. Room 222, a double paid 63E per night. What a great place, right across street from Hauptbahnhof, conveniently located to many sights. Our room was immaculately clean. The bathroom, while small, was efficiently designed with adequate towels and plenty of hot water. The room was very quiet which, given the location, was surprising.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights. Perfect location, right next to the main train station. Food/supermarkets/shopping all close by. Hostel it self was clean and modern and people were friendly. Staff were generally pretty helpful (though one did send me the wrong direction to do my washing..). Would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you have to stay just for a weekend or you need a place where just sleep after a long trip or an incredible night in Reeperbahn...Generator is the right place....cheap,comfortable (really close to u-bahn station and main trains station) and with great atmosphere... Maybe...the worst thing there is common bathroom: one or two per floors is not enough for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am glad that you liked the location of the hostel and most of its facilities. I wonder a little about the issue with the bathrooms what you have mentioned. We have in all rooms small bathrooms and on top the bathrooms on the floors. In total we have about 170... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I lived here for 7 weeks in total. it was an awesome time. the location right next to the central station was perfect to get around and even though the area looked a little sinister I always felt safe with Dennis (unfortunately not working there anymore) as the hostels doorman. checking in and out or changing rooms was also never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the fantastic review. I am very happy that the Team and especcially the named members of the Team, were able to leave such a good impression. You are always welcome on your travels to Hamburg and all other Generators. Sven Heberling Assistant General Hamburg More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

George (assistant front office manager) was absolutely fantastic, really helpful and extremely friendly. He was unbelievably knowledgable about the city and the train time table as we found out after bombarding him with questions. We slept in a 8 bed dorm which was impeccably clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable (more so than my own bed). The showers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Wow! Thank you for this fantastic review. I am very happy that your stay was to your satisfaction and I really appreciate that you name our valuable TeamMember George in particular. Please be assured that I will pass your comments on. Whenever travelling next I would be delighted to be your host again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great stay here. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. Florian at the font desk was a really nice guy! The food was quite good. The only negative was that it's a very big hostel so it's not as personal as some smaller places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for this fantastic review. I am very happy that we were able to convince you of Generator. The great comment about Florian will be passed on to him. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would recommend this hostel as it central to everything .the hostel was spotless and the staff were pleasant. We shared a twin room with own bathroom which was completely adequate for our stay. Ihave noticed people are complaining on here over the size of the bathroom in there rooms but to honest your only washing and using the lavvy your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. I am glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. Especcially I am very happy that our Team was able to leave a good impression, because that is something we really focus on. Whenever travelling next it would be great if you chose to stay with Generator again. You are always welcome. Sven Heberling... More

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Generator Hostel is ideally situated right next to the main railway station so getting around Hamburg is very easy. The hostel is ideal for those on a restricted budget and although the rooms are small and the bathroom/shower tiny it is clean and tidy. The staff speak good English and are very helpful. The hostel has a bar and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I am very glad that your stay was to your satisfaction. Whenever travelling next I would be delighted if you chose to stay with Generator again. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is located right next to the main railway station which then means every dead beat in Hamburg is on your door step. However it is a good location to explore the city from.The staff member at check in was pretty rude when we were asking him questions about parking and transport. The rooms were really clean and modern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. I really regret that your check in experience was so unpleasant and I hope you will accept my appologies for that. Please be assured that we follow up on all reviews we receive to gurantee the maximum comfort. Whenever travelling next I would be delighted if you give us another chance... More

Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location directly opposite the main railway station, Hauptbahnhof. Good choice of bars and restaurants close by. If you are on a low budget, there is a large selection of cheap food outlets in the station.There is a good cheap supermarket to the left opposite the hostel called Penny, about 1 hundred yards up the street with the kebab shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked our location. Unfortunately it seems that we were not able to convince you with our own outlets, as you are describing the area arround us. I would be most delighted if you chose Generator in the future, so that we will be able to convince you of our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Generator Hostel Hamburg?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay