We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Special Price
20% off Paris or London
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    239
    258
    85
    40
    18
See reviews for
21
91
172
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (640)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (203)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (143)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hostel, nice clean rooms but the bathrooms are tiny. Still, each floor had a bigger bathroom with shower so that worked out well. The staff was friendly and it was 24h service. The bar was very cool, with a really nice atmosphere. Met a lot of nice people there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you that you are sharing your impressions with us. I really like that you experienced what a hostel is about. Having a good time and meeting people. If you are around just see us again. We would be happy to be your host again. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is honestly the cleanest and most accommodating hostel I've ever stayed at. It always has something fun planned to do in the hostel and offers so much information on what to do in Hamburg! The staff really tries to make everyone happy. Really loved it here. Beds and rooms were really cute and comfortable! Love it, love it, love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, WOW! Thanks you for the fantastic review. It was great to have you here and we are looking forward to another visit. All the best for your travels, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

19 of us were booked in to the Generator for a stag party. All previous communication prior to arrival with the Hostel was helpful and precise. We arrived and all paperwork filled out. Rooms are value for money, 4 to a room and in bunkbeds. The bar and food were great and all staff polite friendly and helpful. The location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the fantastic review. I am very happy that you had such a good time in Hamburg. Whenever you are around, just come and visit us again. All the best for you. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I choose this hostel for the location and price. My expectations was hostel quality, so a dormroom and a bunkbed and not much else. The Generator hostel still managed to disappoint me. When I arrived around 11 am to drop off my bag, I went to ask the receptionist by stating that I had a reservation, and I was here... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for the very detailed review. Praise as well as critics are very valuable for us. I really need to apologize for the experience you have made. Some of the issues cannot be changed, due to building regulations, but others will intensively been taken care of. Especially the friendliness is something what normally is suppose to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great staff, reasonably priced and well designed, clean rooms. The 8 bed mixed dormitory felt like a great mix of people on both occasions I stayed there and the bar downstairs is a great way to meet new people on your travels.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the nice feedback. Good to see your stay was fully to your satisfaction. Whenever travelling next, Generator will be happy to be your host again. All the best, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Cologne, Germany
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Generator together with a friend and we had a great time there due to the super friendly staff. We arrived in the city at 6:00 a.m. and entered the hostel to get rid of our luggage but Michael at the reception offered us a free early check-in as well as an upgrade from an eight to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the great review and exspecially about Michael. I will def. pass on your comments. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is located right beside to the Main station and Bus station. It is looking exactly like in the photos, it is clean, the beds are fine and have individual plugs and lights beside it. The bathrooms in the room is also clean, but are really really small and not really functional. It is really messy to brush the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for sharing your impressions with us with the valuable feedback. It would be great if you chose Generator also for your future trips. You and your friends are always welcome. Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights on the way between Amsterdam and Berlin as I'd heard Hamburg was a good place to see for the nightlife. Arrived at the hostel which is ideally located opposite the train station and is nice inside, but the problems started. Our first beds we were assigned had people in- cue us lugging our things back down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, I would like to thank you for your feedback and I also need to apologize for the inconveniences. It was never our intention to sell a bed twice. An error in the system caused the very unpleasant situation. We have already taken the necessary actions to prevent these kind of incidents of happening again in the future. Still it... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A few bars, shops and places to eat nearby. The location is alright but could of been better. You need to get transport to the Reeperbahn really. Would usually be about 10 euros in a taxi. The room is very basically. We stayed in a 6 person room, 3 bunk beds. Not much space, and the bathroom is split into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for the feedback. I was surprised about the comment about the transportation. We normally get good comments for being right next to the train station. After 9o'clock you can buy a group ticket for up to 5 persons for only 11,00 (TOTAL). That is valid on all public transportation in Hamburg until early morning for as many... More 

düsseldorf
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a really great hostal in the citycenter of hamburg, with a nice and relaxed and comfording atmosphere, good wifi connection and very nice and helpfull staff. i guess i will be staying here more often.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for the fantastic review. I am really happy that we were able to convince you of Generator. We are looking forward to see you soon. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#13 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridge Inn Hotel
#190 of 317 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#5 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay