We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Madison Hamburg

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Schaarsteinweg 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Offers & Announcements
€10 off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Madison Hamburg
Add Photo Write a Review

611 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    458
    132
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
223
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (611)
  • Mar-May only
    (174)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (130)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Madison is already an excellent hotel by its situation, generously sized rooms, reception, restaurant and bar areas. Our particular experience (of an urgent health problem provoking 2 extra nights and a medical repatriation) revealed in addition an exemplary customer care by the hotel staff who could not have done more to help us in this difficult situation. We have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "Ihmsb", Thank you very much for your review. I am really touched by your kind and praising words and will share your comment with all of my colleagues. Sureley, they will be happy to read from you. I hope that you are feeling better again and that you had a safe journey home. It would be our pleasure to... More 

Malmo, Sweden
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel because it said that there was a indoorpool. Unfortunatley my seven year old some was not allowed to visit because you should be over 12 year . We have not been informed of this either on the website or on hotels.com. On top of this our extra bed was not in place when we arrived. First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Kabissa, Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, I have to see that you have not been satisfied with the MeridianSpa. Please let me give you some information on that. The MeridianSpa is an external company and we do not have any influence on this company. We are only in the lucky position,... More 

Peterborough
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we found this hotel to be excellent, clean well furnished with comfy beds, the concierge arranged restaurant bookings and tickets for the hose racing excellent service. we ate in the hotel restaurant and it was very good. the only quibble is, you have to go to the third floor to the ironing room to iron something, this was a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "TommyCPeterborough", thanks for taking your time and providing us with your great feedback. I am really happy to see that we could contribute to a nice stay in Hamburg. I hope that you enjoyed the horse race as much as you enjoyed your time at our MADISON hotel. I can totally unterstand your concerns regarding our laundry room. In... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really nice hotel, located within walking distance of the city center. Perfect if you arrive by car, as there is a large garage under the hotel (€20 per day) Our room was spacious with a large bathroom and a kitchenette. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was really delicious. We will definitely use this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "Stephans01", it was a pleasure reading your review. I am so happy that we have made your stay with us an occasion to remember and are already looking forward to see you again at our MADISON Hotel. Glad, that you liked the design of our rooms and made also use of the conveniently located underground parking. Take care and... More 

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really like this hotel; good rooms, not bad location, very good breakfast, very good Wi-Fi and access to a very good gym. However, the only annoying thing is that to iron a short you have to go to a separate laundry room (like a student) and if you are on certain floors, this involves going to another floor. Basically,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "MrnMrsBales", Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your time in Hamburg! From floor 2 to 5, we have the described laundry rooms for our guests. There you can use the washing maschine, dryer and iron free of charge. On the... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 4 nights here and found it to be a fantastic central location from which we could walk to all of the Hamburg attractions we wanted to visit. The room was very nice and the staff spoke good English and were helpful. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of German and English food. Would definitely stay hear again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "Melobasis", Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I am really happy to see that you liked the location of our hotel and felt comfortable at any time during your stay with us. I will share your praising words with our whole team. It would be really nice to see you again in our MADISON Hotel.... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Stayed here for a business trip. The rooms are very large and comfortable and very well maintained. With a Nespresso machine and a small kitchen a large bed and a great bathroom there was nothing to complain about.. The hotel has its own car park for 19€ a day and is worth it if you arrive by car. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMadisonHotel, Director of Sales at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "Kmk22864", I would like to thank you very much for your great review. I was very pleased to read that you had such a good time at our hotel and enjoyed your time in Hamburg! Glad, that you liked our Nespresso machines. We equipped each room in January with these new machines and are really happy about the feedback... More 

Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

I reserved a room on a pay no refund basis as the receptionist told me at around 20.00hrs in the evening that no corporate rates were available due to heavy bookings, fine no problem. The company i visited has a corporate rate at around €60.-- cheaper than standard rates and were told at 08.00hrs the next day, corporate rates were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "Daviduzbek", thank you for your review also here on tripadvisor. As i already mentioned in my personal Email to you - there have been some internal and technical mistakes that caused the non - availability of the corporate rate that special evening. Once again - please apologize for that mistake that unfortunately happened. Nevertheless - due to cancellations it... More 

Singapore, Singapore
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

This is a very comfortable hotel and the room is very spacious. Warm welcome by the relaxing music as you entered the room. Location is great as it is a 5min walk from the Baumwall station and less than 10min train ride to the Central station. It is nested in a quiet neighbourhood so an excellent balance of easy access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "ml_sy", thank you so much for your kind review and the perfect description of our location. Great that you found the ideal base for your sightseeing and enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to The Madison soon again. Sincerely Thomas Kleinertz More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I've stayed at The Madison on two occasions on business trips. I was greeted warmly at reception and promptly checked in. I stayed in the standard room which includes a Nespresso machine and a little kitchenette area. The room itself is spacious and comfortable. The restaurant is good. There's a good variety at breakfast. I'll be staying again in August... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear "citychic81", thank you very much for your great review and the fantastic recommendation. We are very happy that you had such a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed all the amenities like the nespresso machine. looking forward to welcome you back in august. Sincerely - Thomas Kleinertz More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

807 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Business Studio (63)
Viewed
Junior Suite (90)
Viewed
Loft (87)
Viewed
Penthouse (121)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (32)
Viewed
Suite (136)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#5 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay