We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena

Kieler Strasse 333, 22525 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hamburg Arena)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    80
    96
    28
    14
See reviews for
45
91
24
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Greekbirder
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not able to work in my room because the internet only worked sporadically and with much complication. The front desk told me that their system has a problem connecting with Apple computers. Also, please note that this hotel is not in the center of Hamburg, it is approximately a 15 euro cab ride to the Messe Convention Center. My garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brabrand, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with Family, possible to get fresh breakfast at the cafe just outside the nearby train station. Nice but pricy car part. The employees were helpfull and very serviceminded. Travelling business this would be a very good choice due to the placement in the outskirts of the centre of the city,

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel! We booked two superior rooms, the staff tried to pass us standard rooms saying the rooms were different. After we finally got switched to superior rooms one of the rooms is a smoking room and it STINKS!!!! I argued that we booked none smoking rooms and they said that's just my wish and they can't guarantee it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Assistant Front Office & Reservations Manager and Guest Relation at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Elisa, thank you for your time and your review. We are glad also about critical feedback because so we know what we have to change. We are very sorry that you don't get the right room category at first. Also we are sorry that you get a smoking room. But here I have to say that we have to... More 

Haukilahti, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good about this hotel is the convenient connection to Autobahn A7. It's a 70s building in desperate need of renovation, or demolishing. No restaurant in the hotel, and the neighborhood doesn't tempt for evening stroll.If you are looking for a nice place to spend your night, avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I was initially worried as I booked this hotel when it was still Mercure. But they honoured my earlier booking and even replied my emails and answered my queries. We arrived around 4pm and there was only 1 person at reception. As he was busy with a phone call, Leslie, the reservation manager attended to me. She was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jamal, thank`s for your comment in name off all kollegs from our hotel. We look for forward and see you next time in our Hotel. Best regards Ralf Köster Front Office For Heiko Lucht; General Direktor More 

Bremen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Location: not so convenient when you have to take the public transport to the city, it's a 15 mins walk to the next station. When you have a car there are free parking spaces along the street just in front of the hotel, be aware that if you use the hotel parking they charge you 12 € per day. Rooms:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Swissair2, thanks for your positive comment. We have different kind of roomtyps in the our Hotel. The superiorrooms and Appartements will be much bigger than the normal standartrooms. See you next time in our hotel. Best regards Ralf Köster Front Office For Heiko Lucht; General Director More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend; it was in a good location for getting to the city centre easily. Overall it was a lovely stay. Rooms clean and nicely decorated but the carpet could do with a deep clean. Reception friendly and polite. They were helpful and not annoyed when we wanted to change our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
H7550, Shiftleader Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, thanks for your review at tipadvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the Tryp by Wyndham Hotel so much. Also we would like to thank you for the praise about the staff. Nevertheless, we would like to say sorry that you didn't get a corkscrew first and also that the first room was to... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Initially walked past the hotel as I had booked into a Mercure hotel, but no one could be ars*d to tell me it had changed hands between making the booking and arriving. Poor show all round. Problems with charging things to my room, problems with changing hotel, problems all round. Wish I hadn't bothered booking here really.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Shiftleader Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your Review. We are very sorry, that you didn't get a message that the hotelname changed. We told it all our co-operation Partner, that we were rebranded at the 11 of July 2014 into Tryp by Wyndham Hamburg Arena. Also we are afraid that you didn't like the stay here. Therefore we wanted to know, what... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel was a bit old, but well maintained and clean. the room preference is good. we stayed at 1 room with 2 double beds, rare option but really helps family with children traveller. supermarket is just walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Shiftleader Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Ignatius, thanks for your Review. We are very happy, that you enjoyed the stay at your Hotel so much. We are looking forward to welcome you here again. Kind regards Carolin Lohse Shiftleader Front Office and Guest Relation More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question