We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena

Kieler Strasse 333, 22525 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hamburg Arena)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    80
    96
    29
    14
See reviews for
45
91
24
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First some nice things: The wifi internet was acceptable for me during the stay and the staff was VERY friendly! I stayed for a week and due to high season I payed almost 100 Euros a day, but this hotel would not deserve more than 50! I knew it was a little far from downtown but the bus will take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
H7550, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Guest, at first, I would like to thank you for your time finding open words regarding your stay at the TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena. Your praise for the team regarding their friendliness, I have of course passed on to all departments. Having returned today from a 10 day vacation, I apologize for my late reaction. It goes without... More 

Greekbirder
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Not able to work in my room because the internet only worked sporadically and with much complication. The front desk told me that their system has a problem connecting with Apple computers. Also, please note that this hotel is not in the center of Hamburg, it is approximately a 15 euro cab ride to the Messe Convention Center. My garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and your comment. We are very sorry that you could not work in our room. Yes it can be that there was a problem with apple but normally its just a little comipcated to login on the wifi and then its ok. So I guess there were just too many users... More 

Brabrand, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Visited with Family, possible to get fresh breakfast at the cafe just outside the nearby train station. Nice but pricy car part. The employees were helpfull and very serviceminded. Travelling business this would be a very good choice due to the placement in the outskirts of the centre of the city,

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice review and the wunderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel so much and we have to say thank you again for your nice feedback for the staff. They were very happy about this positiv comment. We hope you will visit us again. We are looking forward... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

Worst hotel! We booked two superior rooms, the staff tried to pass us standard rooms saying the rooms were different. After we finally got switched to superior rooms one of the rooms is a smoking room and it STINKS!!!! I argued that we booked none smoking rooms and they said that's just my wish and they can't guarantee it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Assistant Front Office & Reservations Manager and Guest Relation at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Elisa, thank you for your time and your review. We are glad also about critical feedback because so we know what we have to change. We are very sorry that you don't get the right room category at first. Also we are sorry that you get a smoking room. But here I have to say that we have to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Haukilahti, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Good about this hotel is the convenient connection to Autobahn A7. It's a 70s building in desperate need of renovation, or demolishing. No restaurant in the hotel, and the neighborhood doesn't tempt for evening stroll.If you are looking for a nice place to spend your night, avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Risto, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy the stay in our hotel at all. But I think there was a missunderstanding because we have a restaurant for the dinner. We hope you had a nice stay in hamburg and maybe you will give us another chance so we can prove that you... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I was initially worried as I booked this hotel when it was still Mercure. But they honoured my earlier booking and even replied my emails and answered my queries. We arrived around 4pm and there was only 1 person at reception. As he was busy with a phone call, Leslie, the reservation manager attended to me. She was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Jamal, thank`s for your comment in name off all kollegs from our hotel. We look for forward and see you next time in our Hotel. Best regards Ralf Köster Front Office For Heiko Lucht; General Direktor More 

Bremen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Location: not so convenient when you have to take the public transport to the city, it's a 15 mins walk to the next station. When you have a car there are free parking spaces along the street just in front of the hotel, be aware that if you use the hotel parking they charge you 12 € per day. Rooms:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Swissair2, thanks for your positive comment. We have different kind of roomtyps in the our Hotel. The superiorrooms and Appartements will be much bigger than the normal standartrooms. See you next time in our hotel. Best regards Ralf Köster Front Office For Heiko Lucht; General Director More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend; it was in a good location for getting to the city centre easily. Overall it was a lovely stay. Rooms clean and nicely decorated but the carpet could do with a deep clean. Reception friendly and polite. They were helpful and not annoyed when we wanted to change our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
H7550, Shiftleader Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, thanks for your review at tipadvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the Tryp by Wyndham Hotel so much. Also we would like to thank you for the praise about the staff. Nevertheless, we would like to say sorry that you didn't get a corkscrew first and also that the first room was to... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Initially walked past the hotel as I had booked into a Mercure hotel, but no one could be ars*d to tell me it had changed hands between making the booking and arriving. Poor show all round. Problems with charging things to my room, problems with changing hotel, problems all round. Wish I hadn't bothered booking here really.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
H7550, Shiftleader Front Office at TRYP by Wyndham Hamburg Arena, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your Review. We are very sorry, that you didn't get a message that the hotelname changed. We told it all our co-operation Partner, that we were rebranded at the 11 of July 2014 into Tryp by Wyndham Hamburg Arena. Also we are afraid that you didn't like the stay here. Therefore we wanted to know, what... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay