We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

3.0 of 5 Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    133
    40
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
100
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Westcliff on Sea, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good Bed, Quiet Room, Nice Breakfast, although sometimes hectic during our Christmas to New Years stay. Best thing for me at this hotel are the staff who were all very helpful, hard working young folks all through our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Derek_Rides, Thank you for staying with us recently and your lovely comments about our staff. I will make sure to pass them on. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff is very polite, helpful and friendly, location is decent with the reeperbahn approx 5minutes walk. The lobby bar offers a selection of beers and the great room offers a good breakfast buffet. will stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Vaces, We are happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed the location of our hotel. I will pass your lovely comments on to the team and hopefully we can be of service to you again on your next trip to Hamburg. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

Rochdale,UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

After having problems with the Ibis Budget hotel across the road before travelling I decided to move our group to the adjacent holiday inn express. We weren't disappointed as the hotel was excellent for our needs. Standard holiday inn express comforts with excellent staff. Would use again without a thought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear tonyrochdale, Thank you for completing a review. I am sorry to read that you had troubles with the Ibis Budget hotel, but I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your group and that you had a pleasant stay in Hamburg. I will pass your comments onto the team and look forward to you staying with... More 

Langbank, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The hotel room was quiet, compact but well laid out, good size bed, choice of pillows, bathroom had good size walk in shower. The breakfast was complimentary and plenty of it (however I was in about 0730 each morning) but standard choices each day. The room was cleaned properly and there were staff members checking the work of the cleaners.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Simon H, Thank you for staying with us recently. I am happy that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and found everything you needed both in the hotel and in the surrounding area. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

Wallington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Came to Hamburg as a birthday present from my wife ostensibly to watch the band Canterbury perform at the local Rock Club so stayed for 2 nights here . The room and bathroom ( no bath only shower in ours 407 ) were very clean ( well done cleaners ) . My wife would have liked a mirror above the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter greaser_1 ..., Wir möchten uns in aller erster Linie für Ihr ausführliches Feedback bezüglich Ihres Aufenthalts in unserem... More 

Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This hotel is an average hotel in the HolidayInn-chain. You know what you get, a nice room, comfy beds and a good bathroom. The breakfast is free, so you can overlook the fact that it's kinda boring. Staff was nice, and good information about Hamburg was easily accessible in the lobby. But next time I visit Hamburg I would probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Niklas_T, thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St. Pauli and your review here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to here, that we could deliver what you expected. We are well located to the City Centre and of course our duration in St. Pauli is very special. You may prefer our Partner... More 

South East
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Good hotel with car park underneath. Nice large room and ok wifi. Staff not that friendly and directed us in the wrong way towards a location which was annoying! Close by to the action - bats etc and about 15-20 mins to Central areas and river side. Breakfast was included and had an ok selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear SioRio, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St. Pauli. It always delights us to read the opinions from our guests to the hotel. I am sorry to hear that our staffmember showed you the wrong way, we will continue to work on improving this issue. I am,... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed the weekend at this convienetly located hotel. Our room had a great view of the city. The room was a bit small but it worked out fine. The pillows were very flat so you might want to bring your own pillows if you like fluffy pillows. The WiFi was very slow but did work if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Polishedfingers, Thank you for staying with us recently and completing a review of your stay. I am please to read that you enjoyed our central location and were satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the faulty air-conditioning in your room. Due to the cold nights we have had recently the air-conditioning may be... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Close to reeperbahn and thus questionable location, but no feel of redlight distc disturbance. Not really at the Messe. Subway 2 min walk . Rooms modern deco, clean, functional deco, comfy feel. Nice bath. Good bed. Modern BF, basic quality. Eager staff cleaning up fast. Front office service rather 'dry' and functional only. Value fr money ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear tommi64, thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you found our front Office Team lacking passion. It is, of course, very important for us to make every guest feel welcome amd valued. I will review your comment with my colleagues to... More 

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

If you are at an exhibition at the Hamburg Messe then this Holiday Inn isn't the worst place you could be. It is about a 15 minute walk to the exhibition centre and a 2 minute walk to the Reeperbahn (if you like that sort of thing). The rooms are ok for a budget hotel. The staff are friendly, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Shambobala, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you liked our location close to the exhibition centre and many of Hamburg’s attractions. The team were pleased you found them friendly. We hope to see you again on your next trip. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay