We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

#67 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    143
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
106
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For my annual visit to HAM during April i would normally stay next door at East but this year left it too late so had to settle for budget hotel next door. Reasonable rooms as would be expected for a HI. Breakfast standard, self service continental fayre, nothing special. Pricy for the level of hotel but it was HAM Aircraft... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel because we made a last minute decision to visit Hamburg and wanted something in a decent location, once we arrived we paid for the room and also the parking up front. Upon entering the room we weren't overly impressed given the price we had paid! The bed felt like a camping bed to sit on and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Much better than last time. They now have fast internet. The location is fantastic – right in the heart of the city, rooms are clean and OK, and breakfast is reasonable. I find it a very good place for the business traveler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited recently meeting friends there and I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Lovely spacious clean room with a nice bed and also very friendly and good staff. The location is also perfect just being off the Reeperbahn. The only downfall is the breakfast, which sing up to standard. But as a previous review said, it's free so can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Steven M, We are delighted to read that despite the breakfast selection which did not live up to your expectations, you were still able to enjoy your overall experience with us. We apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, it was real pleasure that you were satisfied with the room received and the very friendly service of our staff. Your positive... More 

Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is nothing phenomenal about this place, but if you just want a nice, clean place to sleep and a good breakfast, then this is a nice place. We didn't do any sightseeing, but it is obviously also well located for visiting Reeperbahn. We had a car and did not feel like paying the approx. 15 EUR it cost to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Europe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Nice hotel with a good location. Easy to get to and easy to use as the basis for sight seeing. Good value for the money. You are not far from the Harbor, Alster, City Center and St. Pauli. You are also very close to the famous Reeperbahn. I could not get the WiFI to work so not sure about it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear DKYHZ_Traveller, Thank you very much for completing a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location and were able to reach every place you wanted to visit easily and conveniently. Please accept my apologies for the WiFi. It is free for every guest at the hotel, so... More 

Westcliff on Sea, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Good Bed, Quiet Room, Nice Breakfast, although sometimes hectic during our Christmas to New Years stay. Best thing for me at this hotel are the staff who were all very helpful, hard working young folks all through our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Derek_Rides, Thank you for staying with us recently and your lovely comments about our staff. I will make sure to pass them on. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff is very polite, helpful and friendly, location is decent with the reeperbahn approx 5minutes walk. The lobby bar offers a selection of beers and the great room offers a good breakfast buffet. will stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Vaces, We are happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed the location of our hotel. I will pass your lovely comments on to the team and hopefully we can be of service to you again on your next trip to Hamburg. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

Rochdale,UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

After having problems with the Ibis Budget hotel across the road before travelling I decided to move our group to the adjacent holiday inn express. We weren't disappointed as the hotel was excellent for our needs. Standard holiday inn express comforts with excellent staff. Would use again without a thought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear tonyrochdale, Thank you for completing a review. I am sorry to read that you had troubles with the Ibis Budget hotel, but I am pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your group and that you had a pleasant stay in Hamburg. I will pass your comments onto the team and look forward to you staying with... More 

Langbank, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The hotel room was quiet, compact but well laid out, good size bed, choice of pillows, bathroom had good size walk in shower. The breakfast was complimentary and plenty of it (however I was in about 0730 each morning) but standard choices each day. The room was cleaned properly and there were staff members checking the work of the cleaners.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEx_Guest_Service, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review

Dear Simon H, Thank you for staying with us recently. I am happy that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and found everything you needed both in the hotel and in the surrounding area. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Fabienne Mueller Guest Service Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question