We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Bremen accommodations

GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany (Bahnhofsvorstadt)
Hotel amenities
GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bremen
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Sarah W
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
2
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visiting bremen for 2 days so wanted Central location. This was perfect just 5 mins walk from the main train station HauptBahnhof. Walking distance to old to old town. tram only 2 mins away from front door. shared private room with friend. Basic but clean. Linen extra. Good kitchen and well stocked. I would stay again and world recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

My stay at this hostel was average, to start with; We walked into the reception: hello, get out' We found out as well that we had to pay for the linen and then had to bring it upstairs by ourselves. Okay the staff was helpful and helped us by showing us where to go, the beds are pretty conformable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I stayed one night in this hostel, and I can not recommend it . The staff is rude and has no desire to work apparently , the rooms and sanitary facilities are old , shabby and not clean. The front desk is not staffed at all times , which is a problem when you have to get up early .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salvador, BA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The rooms and the bathrooms are clean. Is near the downtown, where you can find the most of the Bremen's sightseeing. I stayed there during 15 days and it was tiring go until the top floor every day by stairs. The kitchen is well equipped and it is a positive point. In general, I recommend the hostel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great place! close to the train station so its perfect for leaving your bags in luggage on your last day of sight seeing. Staff was great, the buzzer on the door didnt work a few times for me and had to keep knocking and yelling out till i was heard but other than that it was all good! they sell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for rating us. Security is a very big issue in our Backpacker Hostel: We do provide a free Locker for each guest and you could also leave your valuables in our safe. More 

Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I love Bremen, this was my third visit - but I hadn't yet found a hostel i would use again - until now. The Gasthaus is less than 5 minutes walk from the HauptBahnhof [main station], and 5-10 minutes from the old city centre. Our room was spacious and clean very near one of the well-appointed bath/shower rooms. The shared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and your kind words - highly appreciated! More 

New Hampshire/Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First the good things: a) room is clean, b) bed is comfortable, c) WiFi access in the room and a desk and plug handy, d) friendly front desk, g) good map locating train station and central plaza. Negatives: a) No showers on every floor. My room was on the 1st; I had to go to the second for a shower,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your impressions. More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hostel is specially for the backpackers as pay a lot or the room still you pay extra for bed linens etc. Thus recommended is that you carry your own linens rather than paying 3 eur extra. The place was clean and centrally located. The hostel is quite and calm. 500 metres away from the Haubanhopf (Central Bus and Railway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here. More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel looks good on paper. But it is really bad in reality! I arrived and paid in full for a private room. I went out and came back later around 3:00 a.m. I found the room very cold. The heater wasn’t even turned on. I had to turn it and wait patiently. Nothing worked and no one was downstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Because you've slept in a dormitory room, your roommates had turned down the heating. More 

Vienna, Austria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel served its purpose but not more: - if you need bedclothes you have to pay € 9,- extra - the hostel and its furniture is outworn - there are no showers in the first floor (so my friends and I had to go upstairs showering) - the breakfast buffet is overprized (around € 7,-) Unfortunately Bremen does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectation. Linen is available for Euro 3.00 per person, own sleeping bag is welcome. We offer a wonderful breakfast buffet for Euro 6.50 per person in our Hotel next door. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Address: Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen > Bahnhofsvorstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay