We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    6
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
3
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Visiting bremen for 2 days so wanted Central location. This was perfect just 5 mins walk from the main train station HauptBahnhof. Walking distance to old to old town. tram only 2 mins away from front door. shared private room with friend. Basic but clean. Linen extra. Good kitchen and well stocked. I would stay again and world recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

My stay at this hostel was average, to start with; We walked into the reception: hello, get out' We found out as well that we had to pay for the linen and then had to bring it upstairs by ourselves. Okay the staff was helpful and helped us by showing us where to go, the beds are pretty conformable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. You can use the shower all day - we just need to clean them from time to time in order to provide clean facilities. Next time: Ask us if you have a problem! More 

Travelers are raving about these Bremen hotels

Texel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I stayed one night in this hostel, and I can not recommend it . The staff is rude and has no desire to work apparently , the rooms and sanitary facilities are old , shabby and not clean. The front desk is not staffed at all times , which is a problem when you have to get up early .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Hopefully you will find something that suits you more. More 

Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The rooms and the bathrooms are clean. Is near the downtown, where you can find the most of the Bremen's sightseeing. I stayed there during 15 days and it was tiring go until the top floor every day by stairs. The kitchen is well equipped and it is a positive point. In general, I recommend the hostel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you! We're glad you'd a good time with us here in Bremen. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great place! close to the train station so its perfect for leaving your bags in luggage on your last day of sight seeing. Staff was great, the buzzer on the door didnt work a few times for me and had to keep knocking and yelling out till i was heard but other than that it was all good! they sell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for rating us. Security is a very big issue in our Backpacker Hostel: We do provide a free Locker for each guest and you could also leave your valuables in our safe. More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I love Bremen, this was my third visit - but I hadn't yet found a hostel i would use again - until now. The Gasthaus is less than 5 minutes walk from the HauptBahnhof [main station], and 5-10 minutes from the old city centre. Our room was spacious and clean very near one of the well-appointed bath/shower rooms. The shared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and your kind words - highly appreciated! More 

New Hampshire/Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First the good things: a) room is clean, b) bed is comfortable, c) WiFi access in the room and a desk and plug handy, d) friendly front desk, g) good map locating train station and central plaza. Negatives: a) No showers on every floor. My room was on the 1st; I had to go to the second for a shower,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your impressions. More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hostel is specially for the backpackers as pay a lot or the room still you pay extra for bed linens etc. Thus recommended is that you carry your own linens rather than paying 3 eur extra. The place was clean and centrally located. The hostel is quite and calm. 500 metres away from the Haubanhopf (Central Bus and Railway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here. More 

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel looks good on paper. But it is really bad in reality! I arrived and paid in full for a private room. I went out and came back later around 3:00 a.m. I found the room very cold. The heater wasn’t even turned on. I had to turn it and wait patiently. Nothing worked and no one was downstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Because you've slept in a dormitory room, your roommates had turned down the heating. More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel served its purpose but not more: - if you need bedclothes you have to pay € 9,- extra - the hostel and its furniture is outworn - there are no showers in the first floor (so my friends and I had to go upstairs showering) - the breakfast buffet is overprized (around € 7,-) Unfortunately Bremen does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectation. Linen is available for Euro 3.00 per person, own sleeping bag is welcome. We offer a wonderful breakfast buffet for Euro 6.50 per person in our Hotel next door. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Swissotel Bremen
#4 of 92 in Bremen
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Bahnhofsvorstadt
Novum Hotel Bremer Haus
Ibis Bremen City
#28 of 92 in Bremen
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel
#7 of 92 in Bremen
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Prizeotel Bremen-City
#5 of 92 in Bremen
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Bahnhofsvorstadt
BEST WESTERN Hotel Schaper-Siedenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay