We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Bremen accommodations

GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany (Bahnhofsvorstadt)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
42%
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty lodging in Bremen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Diego_Cesar Salvador, BA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (28)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
2
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms and the bathrooms are clean. Is near the downtown, where you can find the most of the Bremen's sightseeing. I stayed there during 15 days and it was tiring go until the top floor every day by stairs. The kitchen is well equipped and it is a positive point. In general, I recommend the hostel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great place! close to the train station so its perfect for leaving your bags in luggage on your last day of sight seeing. Staff was great, the buzzer on the door didnt work a few times for me and had to keep knocking and yelling out till i was heard but other than that it was all good! they sell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for rating us. Security is a very big issue in our Backpacker Hostel: We do provide a free Locker for each guest and you could also leave your valuables in our safe. More

Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I love Bremen, this was my third visit - but I hadn't yet found a hostel i would use again - until now. The Gasthaus is less than 5 minutes walk from the HauptBahnhof [main station], and 5-10 minutes from the old city centre. Our room was spacious and clean very near one of the well-appointed bath/shower rooms. The shared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and your kind words - highly appreciated! More

New Hampshire/Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First the good things: a) room is clean, b) bed is comfortable, c) WiFi access in the room and a desk and plug handy, d) friendly front desk, g) good map locating train station and central plaza. Negatives: a) No showers on every floor. My room was on the 1st; I had to go to the second for a shower,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your impressions. More

New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hostel is specially for the backpackers as pay a lot or the room still you pay extra for bed linens etc. Thus recommended is that you carry your own linens rather than paying 3 eur extra. The place was clean and centrally located. The hostel is quite and calm. 500 metres away from the Haubanhopf (Central Bus and Railway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here. More

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel looks good on paper. But it is really bad in reality! I arrived and paid in full for a private room. I went out and came back later around 3:00 a.m. I found the room very cold. The heater wasn’t even turned on. I had to turn it and wait patiently. Nothing worked and no one was downstairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Because you've slept in a dormitory room, your roommates had turned down the heating. More

Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel served its purpose but not more: - if you need bedclothes you have to pay € 9,- extra - the hostel and its furniture is outworn - there are no showers in the first floor (so my friends and I had to go upstairs showering) - the breakfast buffet is overprized (around € 7,-) Unfortunately Bremen does not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectation. Linen is available for Euro 3.00 per person, own sleeping bag is welcome. We offer a wonderful breakfast buffet for Euro 6.50 per person in our Hotel next door. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Secluded yet easy-to-find location, 5mins walk to city centre & central station, very friendly & helpful staff, great facilities, overall excellent! Rooms are a little spartan & lack curtains, but this can be overlooked when it's this cheap! Bremen is a beautiful city, and this is the perfect base to explore it from!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stornoway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed before Christmas and at New Year. Double room with Queensize bed, €18 per person. You can bring your own sleeping bag or bedding, bedding available for € p.P. Room is quite nice but waferthin walls. Just 1 toilet on the floor, 2 showers which were annoying - cold and short intervals. Luggage can be stored, kitchen and lounge very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed between July 18-25, 2010 during the COSPAR 2010 conference at Bremen. Very convenient location close the main railway station and the conference centre. The staff were very friendly and could speak in English. The greatest attraction was the availability of a free Kitchen where we could cook our own indian dishes without any problem. Fridge to store our personal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Address: Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen > Bahnhofsvorstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Bremen with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer