We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Bremen accommodations

GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, Germany (Bahnhofsvorstadt)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
JazzzSay Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
2
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place! close to the train station so its perfect for leaving your bags in luggage on your last day of sight seeing. Staff was great, the buzzer on the door didnt work a few times for me and had to keep knocking and yelling out till i was heard but other than that it was all good! they sell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I love Bremen, this was my third visit - but I hadn't yet found a hostel i would use again - until now. The Gasthaus is less than 5 minutes walk from the HauptBahnhof [main station], and 5-10 minutes from the old city centre. Our room was spacious and clean very near one of the well-appointed bath/shower rooms. The shared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and your kind words - highly appreciated! More

New Hampshire/Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First the good things: a) room is clean, b) bed is comfortable, c) WiFi access in the room and a desk and plug handy, d) friendly front desk, g) good map locating train station and central plaza. Negatives: a) No showers on every floor. My room was on the 1st; I had to go to the second for a shower,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your impressions. More

New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hostel is specially for the backpackers as pay a lot or the room still you pay extra for bed linens etc. Thus recommended is that you carry your own linens rather than paying 3 eur extra. The place was clean and centrally located. The hostel is quite and calm. 500 metres away from the Haubanhopf (Central Bus and Railway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here. More

Munich, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel looks good on paper. But it is really bad in reality! I arrived and paid in full for a private room. I went out and came back later around 3:00 a.m. I found the room very cold. The heater wasn’t even turned on. I had to turn it and wait patiently. Nothing worked and no one was downstairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Because you've slept in a dormitory room, your roommates had turned down the heating. More

Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel served its purpose but not more: - if you need bedclothes you have to pay € 9,- extra - the hostel and its furniture is outworn - there are no showers in the first floor (so my friends and I had to go upstairs showering) - the breakfast buffet is overprized (around € 7,-) Unfortunately Bremen does not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectation. Linen is available for Euro 3.00 per person, own sleeping bag is welcome. We offer a wonderful breakfast buffet for Euro 6.50 per person in our Hotel next door. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Secluded yet easy-to-find location, 5mins walk to city centre & central station, very friendly & helpful staff, great facilities, overall excellent! Rooms are a little spartan & lack curtains, but this can be overlooked when it's this cheap! Bremen is a beautiful city, and this is the perfect base to explore it from!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stornoway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed before Christmas and at New Year. Double room with Queensize bed, €18 per person. You can bring your own sleeping bag or bedding, bedding available for € p.P. Room is quite nice but waferthin walls. Just 1 toilet on the floor, 2 showers which were annoying - cold and short intervals. Luggage can be stored, kitchen and lounge very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed between July 18-25, 2010 during the COSPAR 2010 conference at Bremen. Very convenient location close the main railway station and the conference centre. The staff were very friendly and could speak in English. The greatest attraction was the availability of a free Kitchen where we could cook our own indian dishes without any problem. Fridge to store our personal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Booked 8 person dorm with friends. Good location near the Hauptbahnhof and a little shop just a couple of corners away. Friendly and helpful staff with good facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Address: Emil-Waldmann-Str.5-6, 28195 Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > Bremen > Bahnhofsvorstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty lodging in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GastHaus is a backpacker hostel and our main customers are people who like to share dormitory rooms for reasonable prices and contact with other travellers. We have a clean and well equipped kitchen which all guests can use. The showers are on most floors, private and communal (male and female separate). We have a large comfortable lounge with TV and internet access.Ideally situated in the center of Bremen, this young and old city. A friendly, clean, safe and quiet house in a small side street. Your sightseeing, shopping and the lively evening entertainment are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.