We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 325 Berlin accommodations

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
Hotel amenities
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
Ranked #64 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
glee21 Katowice, Poland
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    115
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
43
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Katowice, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It was definitely the best hostel I ever stayed. Although I've spent here only one night, I'd recommend it to anyone. The room was clean and nicely equipped, the price was reasonable and the staff was really friendly. I'll stay here if I ever visit Berlin again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Glee, That is so great! Thanks for staying with us and for your friendly words you have send! We are so happy about every satisfied guest. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again! Your MEININGER team More 

County Clare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love this hostel - returned a second time - I travel a lot as I'm a hostel owner - for me this is the best hostel in Berlin - super location 2 stops from Alex (note it is not on Alexander platz as the address signifies) cheaper than most - lovely breakfast - really friendly staff - lockers for free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Aoibhinncork, Thank you so much for your great review and that you choosed staying at MEININGER Alexanderplatz. We are pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable. Our Late check out is for free only in dorms! All in all it was fun having you here and we are looking forward to your next stay! Yours, MEININGER reception More 

Hong Kong Region, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When it comes to accommodation, Meininger Hotels are always my first choice in Germany. Though this branch is not as good as the one in Brussels / the HBF one, I think this also live up to my expectation. It's just 2 stops from Alexanderplatz which means it is close to the malls. The staff here are very helpful in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Chantal, Thank you so much for your polite and really great review! We are so happy to read your friendly words. So we all are looking forward to your next stay at one of our houses! Great guests are always more thn welcome! Have a nice day and see you next time at MEININGER! Your MEININGER reception More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the 6th school trip to Germany I've run, though the first to Berlin, and this is the best hostel we've stayed in. Location is ideal. Entrance to subway is right outside and it is only 2 stops to Alexanderplatz. We paid for half board as always and previously there has always been complaints about the food. Of course... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you so much for your great review! We are more than pleased reading your friendly words and recommondation. Happy and satisfied guests are our aim and we are glad about every single guest that enjoys their stay as much as you did! We are looking forward to your next visit, wish you all the best, happy holidays... More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

After staying one night in MEININGER hotel in Salzburg, the stay in Berlin was a bit disappointed. The room was small, you didnt really have much space left and the only choice is to go to the common area, which is not that big again. They charged you for everything but this time they provide free wifi in common area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Joyanleung, Thank you for choosing MEININGER Alexanderplatz and for your open words. We appreciate your honesty. Only with honest critic we are able to enhance our service and offers. We are very sorry, that your stay with us was not as satisfactory as your stay in Vienna. MEININGER trys to highlight every houses specials. None is like the others... More 

Lecce, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We stayed in Meininger for holidays two weeks ago just for three night. The position in very central one, and the metro is in front of the hotel ( two stops from alexanderplatz), so the place is very nice. the hotel and the rooms are very clean, the hall is well provided with foosball and billiard, and the guys at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for choosing MEININGER Alexanderplatz and your kind review. We are very happy to know, that your stay was good and that you felt comportable. Hopefully we will welcome you again and we wish you merry christmas and a happy new year! Yours sincerely, MEININGER reception More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Arrogant young and rude girls run the show here and have no sense of customer service, and that is in the city I like most and never met on all my journeys here anything like this. I went upstairs and as soon you get out of the elevator there was a urinal smell, awfull. On top of this they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear joekvanvoorbergen, thank you for your review, we are thankfull for all kinds of feedback. We are sorry that you had the impression that our service was rude or unhelpfull but we can assure that all our staff members are trained. We always try to give our guests the most possible comfort. We will discuss your review with our team.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This Hotel/Hostel has a great location, rooms are basic & clean. There is a good view with balcony from the superior rooms on the 7th floor. Cheap breakfast, but you are also close to other breakfast options such as Cafe Chagall. There is a guest kitchen, but it is poorly equipped i.e no cups & plates. The hotel is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Anne, Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback, you have send us. Satisfied guests are our aim and we are pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay. Regarding to our guest kitchen - you can always ask at the reception for missing details, information or equipment! Hope to welcome you again! Kind regards,... More 

Πάτρα
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The hotel has a modern style. It is a mixed hotel and hostel. I had no problem with this, the room was quiet. The room was a little bit small, but it had a small balcony so the view was wonderful. Additionally, it was clean and kept very clean through out our stay. The staff was friendly and polite. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello, Tank you very much for staying at MEININGERV hotel and for sending us your review. We are pleased to know, that you have had a good stay. It is our aim having satisfied guests and we are happy reaching that aim! So, we hope to welcome you in our house again sometimes soon and wish you a nice day!... More 

Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a very good place to stay if you don't want to spend too much and don't mind being surrounded by kids/youngsters at breakfast. Friendly staff, wifi, ok rooms and good location close to the tube and a number of good places. Easy connection with the airport too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hey Christoph, Thank you for staying at MEININGER and your friendly review. Satisfied guests are our aim and we are happy to know, that you are one of them! For your next trip we hope you´ll choose MEININGER again and we are looking forward to your visit! Yours, MEININGER reception More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighborhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighborhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.