We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 320 Berlin accommodations

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
Hotel amenities
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
75%
Ranked #67 of 320 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Anne Kirstine S
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    101
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
30
40
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel/Hostel has a great location, rooms are basic & clean. There is a good view with balcony from the superior rooms on the 7th floor. Cheap breakfast, but you are also close to other breakfast options such as Cafe Chagall. There is a guest kitchen, but it is poorly equipped i.e no cups & plates. The hotel is located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Anne, Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback, you have send us. Satisfied guests are our aim and we are pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay. Regarding to our guest kitchen - you can always ask at the reception for missing details, information or equipment! Hope to welcome you again! Kind regards,... More

Πάτρα
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a modern style. It is a mixed hotel and hostel. I had no problem with this, the room was quiet. The room was a little bit small, but it had a small balcony so the view was wonderful. Additionally, it was clean and kept very clean through out our stay. The staff was friendly and polite. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello, Tank you very much for staying at MEININGERV hotel and for sending us your review. We are pleased to know, that you have had a good stay. It is our aim having satisfied guests and we are happy reaching that aim! So, we hope to welcome you in our house again sometimes soon and wish you a nice day!... More

Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a very good place to stay if you don't want to spend too much and don't mind being surrounded by kids/youngsters at breakfast. Friendly staff, wifi, ok rooms and good location close to the tube and a number of good places. Easy connection with the airport too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hey Christoph, Thank you for staying at MEININGER and your friendly review. Satisfied guests are our aim and we are happy to know, that you are one of them! For your next trip we hope you´ll choose MEININGER again and we are looking forward to your visit! Yours, MEININGER reception More

Seoul
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Hamburg is around the core: Alsterpark, City Hall, Reeperbahn, and the inland harbor. That's what Hamburg is. However, Mitte is no more Berlin than Prentzlauer Berg or Friedrichschain. Berlin is the sum total of individual districts - disinterested Mitte, Charlottenburg full of tourists on a shopping spree, Friedrichschain filled with alternative bars, aloof Kreuzberg, alienated Schoneberg, the Third - Worldlike... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Janghoon, thank you so much for your sweet review. We really enjoyed reading it. So glad to hear that you liked staying at our hotel. We are happy to be located in Prenzlauer Berg as you already noticed the unique scenery. You are totally right about the mix of guests. All our MEININGER Hotels in Europe try to combine... More

Armagh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

stayed here for 4 nights, appart from a slightly unreliable wifi connection I cannot fault the facilities of this hostel, however the staff completely let this place down. Travelled europe for one month staying in hostels and received the worst service here. All reception staff were either incompotent, rude or both. I had reserved 3 night stay initially, on arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello, thank you so much for your review. As a matter of fact we do take all reviews very serious. We are really sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. Our staff already got notified and we will make sure to talk it trough with the whole team. We would be glad if you could send... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here with two friends for 3 nights. The room was a little disappointing as it was definitely more of a dorm than a hotel room which we were expecting. There were two bunks, but only two had been made up so one bed had to be made my us - not a major issue. Despite the small room it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks a lot for your nice review. We appreciate it! The MEININGER Hotels try to combine the best of hostels and hotels so we came welcome a big range of guests. No matter if you are a backpacker of a business guest we try to be a fit for everybody. Our multi bedded rooms are most likely with... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I travelled with friends and we stayed here . Was decent and had every essential. In front of metro station which can take you anywhere ! Nice restaurants around the area. Great area In General ! From my experience , quite safe area. Rooms were hot but then again we were 6 in one room. But we cracked a window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Akila, really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate all kind of feedbacks but espacially the good ones of course. :) You are right that the rooms in this MEININGER Hotel do not have any air conditioning. Gladly we do not have that many weeks a year where air conditioning actually is necessary. Although we... More

Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Three of us stayed in a 6 bed dorm here. It was extremely clean and perfect for what we needed it for, there was free wifi access in the room as well as plugs and a light with each bed. The hotel itself was a little more out of the way than we would have liked but easily accessible by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Louise, Thank you for staying at MEININGER Alexanderplatz and for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you have had a good time staying with us. So we hope to welcome you again sometime soon. Looking forward to your next visit. Yours, MEININGER reception More

Belen, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We got a room because everywhere in town was sold out (for a football match),So we only stayed one night there. The Pros: Very close to a Bahn Station, next door to a Biomart, close to many great restaurants. It was clean, it had an Elevator, it was close to a trendy neighborhood. The Ehs: The Bathrooms were nice, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Elizabeth, Thank you very much for your stay at MEININGER and that you took your time sending us your review. All in all we are glad to know that you have had a pretty good stay with us even if you had some complaiments. We are a low-budget hotel with daily rates. At the time you booked your stay... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Budget Places, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay