We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Hotel website
Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice modern rooms and bathrooms, however the atmosphere was non existent. The staff were also terrible, I literally waited 10 minutes to buy a beer at the bar while the young woman with glasses sat at her computer 3 meters away completely ignoring me. A couple also walked in and waited as well, before we all agreed to go elsewhere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank wayne k
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Wayne, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. An explanation for that might be that the whole bar is hard to see from the reception desk. Our receptionist and bartender are the same and it is much easier to contact our staff directly, because sometimes they really just do not notice you! We regret... More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first time I staid here was because of the great location, close to Alexanderplatz as well as clubs and other venues around the Eberswalder Str. metro station, plus a very good price. Downstairs the place is pleasant---a colorful reception area plus a room with seating where breakfast is served in the morning, and which for the rest of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michał P
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Michal, Thank you so much for your friendly and detailed feedback. I was a pleasure reading it. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team More 

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Along with my friend we have very nice stay, from first moment until the end. Whole staff was very friendly, helpful. Due to my early arrival I was offered to leave luggage and personal belongings in safe place. Staff welcomed us by small bottles of wines and sweets due to the fact that they weren't able to provide standard double... More 

Helpful?
Thank 27Moni
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Monika, Thank you so much for that very kind and lovely feedback. We are more than happy reading your friendly words and we are deeply moved. You are more than welcome to explore more of Berlin anytime and it will be our pleasure to see you again! Many thanks and all the best for you! Lovely greetings from Berlin,... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all i hadmy things stolen from the common kitchen downstairs and the receptionist with rasta hair took my complaint down and promised toget back to me after reviewing the cameras. She never did and when questioned , she ironically siad you are rigt and i am wrong. When i aked her why is she arrogant , she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theoharis H
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Theoharis H, Thank you for taking your time leaving a comment. Your feedback surprised us, because your description does not fit to our staff and we forwarded your complaint to the other MEININGER hotel. We are sorry for your bad experience, but your message belongs to an other house. MEININGER has four different houses in Berlin, so this mistake... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there with my girlfriend and the room was really, really small but cozy. The view was really great with huge floor-to-ceiling windows. However, the bed was really bad and uncomfortable, and the mattresses moved too easily around just when sleeping which caused us to wake up several times.

Helpful?
Thank Morten K
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Morten, Thank you for your open words. We are pleased and sorry for your good and disapointing experience with us. We rather see our guests happy with everything. We started our renovation to renew our rooms step by step for more cleaness and cosyness. We hope your next stay will be more satisfactory! Kind regards and all the best!... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

I stayed there with 2 other friends in a hotel room (they have dormitory rooms too). Not so good because; -We had a room with bunk beds filling up most of the room.Dont expect 3 star hotel quality or you will be disappointed, I would say this is hostel/backpacker style, if you are travelling in several cities and with friends... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheabutter-c
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Sheabutter-c, Thank you for your feedback and voting. Right now we are renovating our house and will fix the shower problem as well. We offer different kind of rooms as you can see on all example pictures. Some have only bunk beds others have a double bed too. We appreciate that you liked staying here and that you liked... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

This hostel/hotel has standard and dormitory accommodation which is a great idea but unfortunately you run a substantial risk of being double booked (which judging from a pre-printed letter left in the substitute accommodation is a regular practice) and shunted into a dormitory room at the same price. The staff are helpful but embarrassed by the deficiences of the management's... More 

Helpful?
Thank wibutee
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for your open words. We regret not meeting your expectations about the room and that you did not receive any respond to your e-mail. MEININGER combines hotel and hostel, that we offer different kind of rooms. Especially our 4 bed rooms have either two bunks or one bunk and a double bed. Even if we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Stayed a weekend with my family of 5 persons. Room was good, breakfast sufficient. Value for money, clean, nothing broken. Close to subway, good neighborhoud. Would pick this place next time when visiting Berlin.

Helpful?
Thank peevi
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Peevi, thank you very much for your postive review. We are really looking foward to welcome you again. Best wishes Your MEININGER team More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

The location was excellent! The room was a bit small but ok for a weekend trip. I wouldn´t stay there for a week. Mattresses were quite terrible and kept sliding but as this was also ok for a couple of nights. The shower was the worst part, it only came from above and you had to push the button all... More 

Helpful?
Thank SannaEmilia
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hey Sanna! Thank you for your feedback. Great that you appreciated our central location and that you felt comfortable in our house. We will take care of the shower system and the matresses during our modernization the coming year. It would be cool to welcome you again. We wish you merry Christmas and a happy new year! Your MEININGER team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

This hostel was great, travelled with friends in august 2015. The staff were very helpful, especially with directions and suggestions of where to go. The rooms were very clean. It was close to many restaurants, cafes and bars to relax and a short walk to Alexanderplatz for tourist sites. Would definitely come back.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Ashley! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to know you as a happy guest and that you enjoyed staying here. We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you all the best! Your MIENINGER team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#134 of 667 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#9 of 348 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#6 of 348 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#8 of 348 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighborhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighborhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay