We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ARCOTEL Velvet

#120 of 666 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ARCOTEL Velvet
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    201
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
41
236
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (503)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had five nights in this Hotel located in Mitte district, near to Alexanderplatz, even by walking 15 min, normal space. Tram stop is next to hotel, U-bahn around the corner (300 m). Clean, 24hour reception service, own breakfast bar (continental, but I would say it is better than that, for 12 e), and next to the hotel is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Jorma, the entire ARCOTEL Velvet Team would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your Berlin visit and for sharing your throughout positive experiences. We are absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and we will be happy to be your host again for your next trip to our wonderful city. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in a weekend with my boyfriend. The hotel is cool, modern and clean. We had a room in 2 floor, with a big window against the main street. We slept well and wasn't any problem with noise. The bathroom is only separated from the room with a curtain, but the toilet is in another room so it didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Public Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Sara. Thank you that you have taken the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy that you felt comfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you liked the rooms and the central location. We hope for a return visit to our house and wish you all the best until then. Best regards... More 

Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights over a weekend. Friendly staff and good location. The room was pretty basic and sparse, and a little cold. Out-dated stereo and small screen TV. The most annoying thing was the height of the mirror in the room - very low and narrow so not possible to use for hair/makeup, and the mirror in the bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you for your detailed review. We would like to thank you very much for your comments as it is really important for us to get feedbacks from our guests such as yours. It helps us to identify our improvement potential and to take the corrective measures to assure our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in our... More 

washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

stayed here in mid february for 4 nights. great location, very close to the U and walking distance to the major tourist attractions in/around central berlin! a word a caution about the basic room, it was fine for me since i was solo, but i wouldn't book it if i shared the room since the shower/sink only has two "real"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid-February. The room was very pleasant and comfortable. This is a good, central hotel to stay at with the U underground station 50 meters away as well as the trams. We did not have breakfast at the hotel since we found a wonderful breakfast buffet for only €10 at the beginning of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your great review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to fully enjoy your stay; especially our rooms and the central location of the hotel. We hope that you had a good journey home and that we may welcome you again soon! Kind regards from Berlin, Your ARCOTEL Velvet... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This hotel is very interesting. . It's a mix between hip and old, trendy but art nuveau. Great location neat every classic place to visit in Berlin. Would stay there for sure again but certainly not with family

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your taken time to give us a feedback at tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again with friends. Best regards Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team More 

Morges, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Boutique hotel well situated, but noisy and VERY POOR service. - Impossible to darken the room and was forced to wake up at 05:30 due to daylight - COLD room at ~18 degrees - no staff could explain me at 23:00 how to increase the temperature - TV was so small and far away from bed that I couldn't see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet and for taking the time to share your impressions. First of all we would like to profoundly apologize for your experienced inconvenience regarding the cold in your room. Please be assured that this is not our standard and that we have taken the necessary steps to fix this... More 

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Friendly, fun, and affordable hotel in a good location in downtown Berlin. Staff we very helpful and the rooms were quiet and in great shape. Lots of restaurants around and easy access to the subway - only about 35 minutes by public transportation from Berlin Tegel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Chris, thank you so much for staying at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin during your recent visit to Berlin. We are delighted that we were able to make an imression on you with our rooms, our loation and the friendly staff. We hope that you had a safe trip home and that we may welcome you as a guest again... More 

Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Nice location, walking distance from Friedrich Strasse and some of the major sites to see including Brandeburg Tor on the side and the Museum Island on the other. Well served by underground and close to August Strasse (full of art galleries) and the nice places to eat in Mitte. Room was clean, well kept, with nice window. Not big but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Simone, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet for your trip into our beautiful city and of course, for taking the time to write this extensive and positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities and services our hotel has to offer. Please note that we can... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

- quiet rooms - nice view in rooms of 7th and 8th floor - bike rental available - wifi is crap - modern furniture - ideal location - do not take inhouse breakfast -> hipster bar next door serves breakfast buffet (almost whole day) for 9,90 euro and is delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Michiel, Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Please accept our apologies about the Wi-Fi that didn’t seem to be working right during your stay. We will forward this issue to our maintenance department. We will also pass your comments about the breakfast to the team... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Mitte

Neighborhood Profile
Mitte
The center of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighborhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question