We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ARCOTEL Velvet

#131 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ARCOTEL Velvet
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    205
    54
    20
    7
See reviews for
41
239
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (511)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Brookline, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Oranienburger Str is one of my favorite Berlin streets, so The Arcotel Velvet was a charming find of a boutique hotel. It is almost just on the corner of Freidrichsberger Str, so another convenient route. The hotel was almost easy to miss, as it's sandwiched between a few nice cafes and graffiti wall. Service was friendly, and my room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great review and for taking the time to write it. We are very happy about your kind words and that you were able to fully enjoy your stay with us. Your suggestion about the body lotion in the Comfort rooms was forwarded to the management to take into consideration. Just a little... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this property for a night while on a business trip. The property is in a central location with the bus station located just opposite and U bahn station with in 100 metres from where you can take a train to Tegel airport. There are quite a few restaurants in the vicinity whether you want to just sip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Dorairaj, Thank you very much for your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet and for you very positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are recommending our hotel. We hope that you will come to visit us again for you next Berlin visit and we wish you all the best until then.... More 

Norrkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, bang on Oranienburger Straße, a great location to stay. My wife and I stayed for three nights in a comfort room on the second floor. The room was quiet - you can hear the trams passing by outside, but it's really nothing that will ruin your sleep (unless you're an extremely light sleeper), but small. The TV is,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lager, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the central location and the quiet room. We are sorry to hear that, beside the positive experiences, you also encountered negative things during your stay. We forwarded the facts, that the... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Centrally located near to all "East" attractions. Lots of restaurants and bars close by. Floor to ceiling windows are spectacular, if a bit impractical. Two complaints - we had upgraded to a suite so we would get free in-room wifi, which did not work the whole time we were there, when reported to reception their response was they would reboot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this very detailed feedback about your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location with all the restaurants and bars in walking distance; and also the big panorama windows in the room. Unfortunately, you also had some negative experiences. We want to sincerely apologize... More 

Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For me it is very special boutique hotel in the city center - Unter den Linden boulevard and Friedrichstrasse are reachable within walking distance. Well equiped room with huge windows spanning the entire length between the floor and ceiling. Special bathroom - no regular walls, just transparent veil between room and bath. Comfortable bed, but rather too soft mattress. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you took the precious time to share your impressions on this platform. We hope that you will come to visit us again for your next Berlin visit and we want to wish you all the best... More 

Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We had five nights in this Hotel located in Mitte district, near to Alexanderplatz, even by walking 15 min, normal space. Tram stop is next to hotel, U-bahn around the corner (300 m). Clean, 24hour reception service, own breakfast bar (continental, but I would say it is better than that, for 12 e), and next to the hotel is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Jorma, the entire ARCOTEL Velvet Team would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your Berlin visit and for sharing your throughout positive experiences. We are absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and we will be happy to be your host again for your next trip to our wonderful city. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed here in a weekend with my boyfriend. The hotel is cool, modern and clean. We had a room in 2 floor, with a big window against the main street. We slept well and wasn't any problem with noise. The bathroom is only separated from the room with a curtain, but the toilet is in another room so it didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Public Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Sara. Thank you that you have taken the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy that you felt comfortable during your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you liked the rooms and the central location. We hope for a return visit to our house and wish you all the best until then. Best regards... More 

Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed 3 nights over a weekend. Friendly staff and good location. The room was pretty basic and sparse, and a little cold. Out-dated stereo and small screen TV. The most annoying thing was the height of the mirror in the room - very low and narrow so not possible to use for hair/makeup, and the mirror in the bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you for your detailed review. We would like to thank you very much for your comments as it is really important for us to get feedbacks from our guests such as yours. It helps us to identify our improvement potential and to take the corrective measures to assure our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in our... More 

washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

stayed here in mid february for 4 nights. great location, very close to the U and walking distance to the major tourist attractions in/around central berlin! a word a caution about the basic room, it was fine for me since i was solo, but i wouldn't book it if i shared the room since the shower/sink only has two "real"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid-February. The room was very pleasant and comfortable. This is a good, central hotel to stay at with the U underground station 50 meters away as well as the trams. We did not have breakfast at the hotel since we found a wonderful breakfast buffet for only €10 at the beginning of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for your great review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to fully enjoy your stay; especially our rooms and the central location of the hotel. We hope that you had a good journey home and that we may welcome you again soon! Kind regards from Berlin, Your ARCOTEL Velvet... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Mitte

Neighborhood Profile
Mitte
The center of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighborhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities