We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ARCOTEL Velvet

#138 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
ARCOTEL Velvet
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3 Nights for a Sightseeing Trip - Perfect Choice We stayed here 24-27 January ! Perfect location > 5 mins walk to Friedrichstrasse Station (Schonefeld Airport link) > 10 mins walk to Berlin Wall Memorial Park - a "must do" > 10 mins walk to Palace of Tears - a "must do" > 20 mins walk to Check Point Charlie... More 

Helpful?
Thank davymac786
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback about your stay at ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the location of our hotel, the condition of the room and the kindness of our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest at ARCOTEl Velvet Berlin. Kind regards Your... More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as a family trip for New Years Eve, the hotel is really modern and the rooms are very spacious and clean, could not fault it. Also in a really good location with a road of restaurants opposite and shops near and about 15 walk from Brandenburg Gate with a subway round the corner if you don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phoebe P
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Phoebe, Thank you very much for your great feedback about you recent stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet. We reallly appreciate! We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and the central location. We hope that you had a safe trip home and that you may come back for a return... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location right next to loads of restaurants and bars. It's is also walking distance to all of the major attractions which is great. The room sizes are good however we found the rooms to be very hot with the outside temperature around 2 degrees, we was still hot with the air con on.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Thank you very much for your recent stay and that you have taken the time to write a feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked the location and the rooms sizes. Unfortunately you had a negative experience during your stay as well. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble with the temperature in the... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is well located, around a 20 minute walk to most of the attractions. The Underground is just round the corner. There are lots of nice cafes, bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Bedrooms were basic but clean and comfortable. It is a weird set up with the bathroom being separated from the bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you very much for your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to leave a very detailed feedback. Great to hear that you felt confortable at our hotel and that you liked the central location. Unfortunately you had some negative experiences during your stay. We are sorry that the room temperature... More 

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

the only good thing with this Hotel is location. WiFi as mainly in German Hotels -slow. breakfast 12 Euro, while you can get much better food in the next to the Hotel cafe and it will cost you less. staff working in the restaurant at the breakfast, is also involved in the room service...may be that is why you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zaza64
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback about your recent stay. We are happy that you liked the location of the hotel. With regret we realized that your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin was not to your fullest sastisfaction. Please be assured that we will take your mentioned issues about the breakfast... More 

Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Enjoyed our stay here very much. A completely uncomplicated set-up, had a very nice room after getting an upgrade, had a bathtub which I enjoyed after all our walking around this wonderful city!! The perfect location, love this cosy area with all the great bars and restaurants and we also enjoyed the breakfast in the cute little hotel bar. Everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josy213
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your kinds words about it. Great to hear that you liked the hotel, the staff and the location. We would like to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Easy access from Tegel airport (bus 128 and then U6), quick check in, friendly staff, nice room with comfortable bed, very strange arrangement with shower and zink without walls (fun? no, romantic? no, irritating? yes). WC has walls, thanks for that! Wall-to-wall carpet is not a favourite but I guess it works as a silencer since we heard nothing at... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMM66
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Berlin. Unfortunately you did not like the design of our bathroom. Please be assured that we take this issue seriously and we will forward it to our management. We... More 

U.K.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We had a suite, the cheaper rooms on the lower floors apparently only ad a curtain to seperate the bathroom faciliyiy from the room. The room was comfortable enough, the mattress was not the worlds best. The room had a sitting area, a large TV and kitchenette. It is posible to have breakfast at the hotel, but there are better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Strictly-5-Star
VelvetBerlin, Public Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your taken time to give us a short review over our hotel. It was a pleasure to had you as our guests. If you need anything, our receptionist could help you in any cases. We hope to see you again and we wish you the best for the near future. Best regards ARCOTEL... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and it was very easy for us to walk to anything we wanted. I don't think we had to walk more than a mile to anywhere. They also let us check in early for no extra fee. The hotel is very nice but not overly fancy. Our room had a great view and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for all your nice words. Your phrases are a great motivation for all our employees to do their best for our guests satisfaction. Great that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the friendly staff, the location and the panorama windows. Hope to see you soon again. Best wishes ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Hotel was a 2 minute walk from Orienburger Tor station. The underground trains are very easy to get around on, we used public transport from the airport,and was surprised how cheap and easy it was. Just make sure you have plenty of change to purchase tickets at the station as the machines only take coins. The hotel was quite quirky,... More 

Helpful?
Thank colleen h
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear colleen h, It was a pleasure to had you as our guests. Thank you for your stay. It is great to hear that you were happy with us and for the next time we will welcome you warlmy. Best regards Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (171)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#137 of 667 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#21 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,397 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#32 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighborhood Profile
Mitte
The center of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighborhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay