We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Tiergarten

Hotel website
Alt-Moabit 89, 10559 Berlin, Germany
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tiergarten
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Tiergarten
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    79
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
59
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel tiergarten for a short city break, firstly the location is great, very close to local U Barn station and about 10 minutes from local S Barn station which basically can take you anywhere in the city, when we arrived at the Hotel we were met by Benjamin an incredibly helpful and lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
West Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights of a short break before moving on. Allocated a room on the first floor accessed through the breakfast room. The room was of a reasonable size with high ceiling overlooking a courtyard, the room had all the standard things you'd expect other than aircon and tea/ coffee facilities. Bathroom had both shower and bath so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located near parks and river in charlottenburg/tiergarten makes a good place to stay. Wifi works well, staff is quite friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and tall (it's an old building). The greatest thing about it are breakfasts - as for 3+ stars hotel I wouldn't think that so much effort would be put in preparing this meal for guests.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dymock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the room was comfortable and staff were helpful (especially in sorting out the non-appearance of our taxi to transfer us to the airport) we were not expecting the arrival of two school parties throughout our six nights stay.The knock on effect was that the wonderful breakfast buffet choice we had on our first morning was not quite the same,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Manager at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to air your view. I am sorry to hear not all was to your expectation. Shame you did not talk to us at my hotel. I am shure we would have been able to sort thinks out Those kids from this scholl do come close you my home town and they come once a year... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is extremely quiet when you have a room to the back. Other rooms we do not know. The breakfast is plentiful and served in a fantastic room with decoration in the ceiling. It is not a luxury hotel but things work and we felt comfortable. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Inhaber at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time and for letting us know, you did enjoy your stay. We all try had to please our guests. So I am very happy you did have a good time in Berlin. Hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel. Regards Stefan Ruckgaber More 

Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Picked this one for a long weekend in Berlin. Room number 4. The room itself was a bit on the small side. There was room to move around and store your things but the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. Having a shower was hard work in that space! Breakfast was good but not enough tables for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Inhaber at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review my hotel. We do have 64 rooms all different in size as the building is well over 120 years old. Indeed room number 4 for 2 guests is really small. Please do ask next time for a different rooms with biggest private bath. The time you stayed at our hotel we... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We stayed in this hotel when having a few days in Berlin. The hotel is well positioned for bus/tram stops as well as the nearby underground. The staff are both friendly and very knowledgeable, and the buffet breakfast one of the best we have had even at far more expensive hotels. The hotel is old, but very clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Inhaber at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to give your option. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin and our hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again in our lovely city Steefan Ruckgaber More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We spent four nights in this hotel. So easy to get to from Tegel Airport. €2.70 and 15 min on the TXL bus to the hotel door. Large comfy room and fantastic breakfast spread. The building is old and a little frayed around the edges, but everything works and the staff are great and on duty 24/7. On a bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Inhaber at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving such a positive review. We do appreciate your comments very much. We are very happy to have our hotel in a building from last century in fact from 1892, which suvived 2 world wars. This building has style and we believe atmosphere. We do have coffee and tea facilities ( hot water keetle )... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Over the past 9 years we have stayed at the Hotel Tiergarten about 12 times. Always an excellent experience. Very comfortable in all respects and I like to say "the best breakfast in Berlin." Also important to us is its closeness to TXL bus, U-Bahn, and S-Bahn transportation, as well as Tegel airport and Berlin Hauptbahnhof.

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Inhaber at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review

It does really good to get such a good review. Thank you so much for your support. This help to motivate my staff as well. We hope to welcome you once again back in Berlin Stefan Ruckgaber More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Five day business trip you need a comfortable and well managed hotel, we found this at Hotel Tiergarten. Breakfast was amazing with all the usual continental foods and fruit however when the hotel was at capacity there was no room to sit and you had to wait. For some reason I had the disabled room but this was fine, my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
htltiergarten, Inhaber at Hotel Tiergarten, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie unseren Einsatz so positiv sehen. Dieses Lob gebe... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Moabit

Neighborhood Profile
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most central neighborhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof (central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life has traditionally been relaxed and a bit slower here. But the tone may soon be changing. Reasonable housing costs and proximity to city center are attracting more young Berliners and international visitors. This interest is encouraging new bars, cafés and nightclubs, making Moabit a candidate for most up-and-coming neighborhood in the city.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay